ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - DVI problem with FM2A78M-HD+
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

DVI problem with FM2A78M-HD+

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
hgonzale View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 2015
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hgonzale Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: DVI problem with FM2A78M-HD+
    Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 2:14am
Hello friends. Nice to see you.

I have some troubles with an equipment and I need your help.

First, the description:

APU AMD A6 6600k without OC
2 * 4 GB G.Skill RipjawsX F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL Kit un dual channel
Motherboard Asrock FM2A78M-HD+
Monitor: ASUS VS229NA-W
Firmware 2.5, 256 MB or 512 MB share memory

The monitor is DVI-D and I am using a cable with this pin out (it was working before)



I build a computer for a friend with those parts.
He was using and Asus monitor with DVI and a Tv with HDMI like a mirrow (same image).

About one week ago he lost the signal on DVI monitor and in the HDMI because is a mirrow and never the HDMI signal works for the BIOS.

I changed the cable, the monitor and nothing, the DVI (alone or together)  device is not working. Not signal, neither the Bios works.

If I switch to the VGA output, everything works great, alone or together with the HDMI..

Then, I thought, is the Motherboard with as problem in the DVI output.
I got today a new motherboard (the same model), I switched and.. surprise... not signal on DVI...

Now, I dont know what to do...

Anybody have any ideas?

The CPU?


Edited by hgonzale - 25 Nov 2015 at 2:38am
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 6:36am
That what you pictured there is a Single Link DVI-D cable.

It should work. Although, it's known as an inexpensive alternative to a true Dual Link cable, and thus may not.

A Dual Link DVI-D cable has pins filling in the gap(s) between the two sets of nine pins in the picture above
< id="kpm_plugin" ="application/x-KPMPlugin">
Back to Top
hgonzale View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 2015
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hgonzale Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 6:45am
Yes my friend, but It was working with that cable.

If I put other computer (same motheboard/cpu/memory) with that monitor and that cable its works.

The problem is not on monitor/cable.

If I change the computer to other monitor, it doesn't work.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2015 at 7:00am
Hmmm, how many video cables do you have connected to the computers rear I/O ports?
< id="kpm_plugin" ="application/x-KPMPlugin">
Back to Top
hgonzale View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 2015
Location: Spain
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hgonzale Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Dec 2015 at 2:56am
Just one. the DVI.
I found the solution, it was on the CPU APU.

First, I exchanged the motherboard for other, same model, still the problem.

After, I replaced the CPU /APU in the new motherboard for the same model, new one, and fixed..... The APU wasn't sending signal to DVI.....

Thank you.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.062 seconds.