ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AsRock B540M Pro4 and ECC Ram?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

AsRock B540M Pro4 and ECC Ram?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
sjau View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sjau Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AsRock B540M Pro4 and ECC Ram?
    Posted: 11 Apr 2020 at 8:35pm
Hi there

I changed my homeserver a while to zfs for file storage (10 disks, 60TB) and one weak spot is the lack of ECC ram. So right now I'm looking for a new mainboard, ram and cpu. As it's mainly a server for backups, media storage (plex) I don't really need a lot of powerful hardware.

As of now I just need to be able to attach a Dell H200 in IT mode and have at least 4 onboard sata connectors. Also zfs likes ram and occassionally I run 1-2 vms on it. So I go with 32GB of ram currently while still maintaing the option to upgrade to 64GB later.

Anyway, on my search I came across the B540M Pro4. According to the manual it should support ECC Ram (in ECC mode - I've seen some mainboards that run ECC ram also but not in ecc mode...).

https://download.asrock.com/Manual/B450M%20Pro4.pdf


?? Dual Channel DDR4 Memory Technology
?? 4 x DDR4 DIMM Slots
?? AMD Ryzen series CPUs (Pinnacle Ridge) support DDR4
3200+(OC)/2933/2667/2400/2133 ECC & non-ECC, unbuffered memory*
?? AMD Ryzen series CPUs (Summit Ridge) support DDR4
3200+(OC)/2933(OC)/2667/2400/2133 ECC & non-ECC, unbuffered memory*
?? AMD Ryzen series CPUs (Raven Ridge) support DDR4
3200+(OC)/2933(OC)/2667/2400/2133 non-ECC, un-buffered
memory*
* For Ryzen Series CPUs (Raven Ridge), ECC is only supported
with PRO CPUs.
* Please refer to Memory Support List on ASRock?s website for
more information. (http://www.asrock.com/)
* Please refer to page 22 for DDR4 UDIMM maximum
frequency support.
?? Max. capacity of system memory: 64GB
?? 15μ Gold Contact in DIMM Slots


I'm a bit confused what Ryzen series can run what kind of ram.

As for the CPU I will need Pinnacle or Summit Ridge to run ECC Ram. However will those ECC ram run in ECC mode or can you just also use ECC ram instead of non-ECC ram?
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Apr 2020 at 11:48pm
i think
you have to have the pro cpu for ecc to work mate
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
sjau View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sjau Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 7:49pm
Thanks for the reply.

I did now test the B450M with a Ryzen 5 2600X and 2x Kingston ValueRAM Server Premier (1x, 16GB, DDR4-2666, DIMM 288). Also I needed a gpu - the cheapest I could find was a Gainward GeForce GT 710 (1GB).

Memcheck86+ just spit out gazillions of errors:



But someone suggested that memcheck86+ might not be up to the task since the hardware is so new.

So I tried out the free version of memcheck86, which spit following out:






So, it didn't find any error.

If you check the memcheck86+ screenshot you'll notice it doesn't even recognize the hardware correctly (chipset: unkown ; memory type: unknown) while memcheck86 did properly identify ram etc.

So, this combination works with ECC and it spit out no error.

Back to Top
sjau View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sjau Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Apr 2020 at 7:50pm
And by memcheck I mean memtest :)
Back to Top
happytmr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Jun 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote happytmr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2023 at 12:33pm
Did you get the ECC memory working?
Good day!
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 3305
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2023 at 12:27am
I've built 9 AsRock AM4 based machines with ECC UDIMMs.
Most of them don't get hammered much, and I never overclock anything, so error events are likely exceptionally rare. Over some 5 years, I saw exactly ONE corrected ECC error, from the build using Ryzen 3 PRO 2200GE, running FreeBSD.

So on that machine (Fatal1ty B450-ITX/ac), I'm certain it works.

I have other machines with 2700, 2700X, 3300X, 3600, 5600, 5800X3D, and all indicators say the ECC functionality is working. I also have one with PRO 4650G.

My understanding is that any non-PRO APU-based parts (4600G, 4500, 5500, etc.) do NOT support ECC. If the die is APU-based, then it must be PRO. For non-APU parts, ECC works on all parts (2700, 3700X, 5700X, etc.).

On a side note, it's amazing how cheap DDR4 ECC UDIMMs are these days, and they're easy to buy also, directly from Crucial.com
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.