ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Maximum Ram for ASUS ROCK 760GM-GS3 ?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Maximum Ram for ASUS ROCK 760GM-GS3 ?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
BlueBoy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Dec 2015
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BlueBoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Maximum Ram for ASUS ROCK 760GM-GS3 ?
    Posted: 09 Dec 2015 at 9:05am
In the manual for the ASUS ROCK 760GM-GS3 it states that the maximum ram for this board is 8GB, though it also adds the following caveat:
 
Due to the operating system limitation, the actual memory size may be
less than 4GB for the reservation for system usage under Windows® 7 /
VistaTM / XP. For Windows® OS with 64-bit CPU, there is no such limitation.
 
Does this mean that if you are using a 64-bit CPU (PHENOM II X4 960TI) with a 64-bit OS (Windows 7 Ultimate - which can support 192GB) that you can increase the system Ram above 8GB? Or does it mean that with this set up you can utilise the maximum 8GB Ram?
 
I would be grateful for any Member's comments that could help clear up the issue above.
 
Thanks
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2015 at 9:30am
32bit x86 versions of Windows can "only' address 4GB of memory.

64bit x64 versions do not have this limitation.

I'll add that dependent on just which version of 64bit x64 Windows you have there are limits.

https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/aa366778%28v=vs.85%29.aspx


Edited by wardog - 09 Dec 2015 at 9:32am
Back to Top
BlueBoy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Dec 2015
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BlueBoy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2015 at 9:49am
Thanks Wardog for your quick reply, which I take to mean that:
 
I could install 2 X 8GB modules into the dimm slots on this board?
 
Best
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2015 at 9:55am
Originally posted by BlueBoy BlueBoy wrote:


Does this mean that if you are using a 64-bit CPU (PHENOM II X4 960TI) with a 64-bit OS (Windows 7 Ultimate - which can support 192GB) that you can increase the system Ram above 8GB? Or does it mean that with this set up you can utilise the maximum 8GB Ram?

Sorry, overlooked this part.

The 760G chipset has AFAIK no limits on system memory. Though, I might caution you on exceeding 16GB(2x8GB) on the chipset due to memory density.

You should be good to 16GB(2x8GB) sticks. Above that, well .... YMMV


Edited by wardog - 09 Dec 2015 at 9:56am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.281 seconds.