ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - SM951 not detected after shutdown more than 1 hour
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

SM951 not detected after shutdown more than 1 hour

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Entropist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: SM951 not detected after shutdown more than 1 hour
    Posted: 08 Jan 2016 at 10:23pm
First, I'm new here, so Hi! Second, problem as it says in the title.

I've been building PCs for almost 30 years and I've read a lot about booting Windows from SM951, here and in many other forums. Tried many things, no dice.

Below is the message I sent to Asrock tech support. After a series of emails, problem is not solved. The only new thing I learned in the process is that the problem only happens when the SSD is in M2_1 (the x4 slot), and not in M2_2. They gave up and directed me to the dealer. Before I try to get a new board (or new SM951?), I thought I'd check here if anybody has an idea. Problem also occurs with latest UEFI BIOS (v2.50). Win10 installed with Rufus GPT/UEFI USB stick.

Motherboard: Z97 Extreme6
UEFI BIOS: v2.30, 2.40, 2.50

CPU:

Intel Core i5-4690S

Memory:

2x8GB Corsair Vengeance Dual Channel DDR3-1600

Video Card:

Asus Strix R9 285,PCIE

HDD:

SSD Samsung SM951 AHCI 256GB MZHPV256HDGL

CD-ROM:

Windows 10 64-bit

Other Devices:

Western Digital Black SATA 6Gbps 2TB

- Windows 10 Pro is on the Samsung SM951 AHCI SSD in slot M2_1.
- After normal OS shutdown, if I wait more than ~50 minutes, the system does not boot when I turn it on. The SSD is NOT FOUND, so the Windows Boot Manager is also not found, and the computer goes directly to UEFI main page.
- Problem happens from day 1.
- UEFI -> Advanced -> Storage Configuration: NOTHING in M2_1.
- UEFI -> Boot -> Boot Option Priorites: NOTHING. Button-menu has disappeared.