ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Ab350 bios upgrade for ryzen 3600x help
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ab350 bios upgrade for ryzen 3600x help

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
071W View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2021
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 165
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 071W Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ab350 bios upgrade for ryzen 3600x help
    Posted: 28 Jun 2021 at 2:06am
Hello All,

I currently have the Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac with BIOS 3.0 and running ryzen 1600.

I am planning to to upgrade my CPU to ryzen 3600x in the next few months.

Here is ASRock bios table: https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%20AB350%20Gaming-ITXac/index.asp#BIOS

There are a few questions I have:

Looking at the bios upgrade section of the motherboard on ASRock website I see I will need first flash my bios to 3.6 Bridge, then to 5.3 and lastly to 5.7 (also install the AMD all in one drivers)

What I would like to know is during each flash of the bios do I need to reset the CMOS battery?

Once I flash to 5.7 do I then shutdown my system reset CMOS and then install the Ryzen 3600x?

Lastly should I expect any issues? Is there anything else I need to be aware of?

Should I proceed and install the very latest 6.6 BIOS or stick with 5.7?

Just want to be prepared as much as I can before I proceed.

Many thanks in advance,

Milo
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2021 at 6:57pm
easy peasey
first tell wife and kids to go out the house (as this will be the only time 'they' trip the electric ,while your flashing a bios)
then reset bios to defaults
reboot and double check its at defaults
then flash to the bridge bios circa v3xxx
reboot to bios check version flashed
reset defaults again
flash to the v5xxx bridge bios
reboot to bios check version
reset to defaults
you dont need allinone if you have seperate gpu (its for the apu chips)
insert your 3600 (not sure why you want an X version) but hey its your money
then boot to bios check everything is detected
flashing further up than the 3xxx series bios is up to you and remember sometimes newer versions actually are worse than earlier ones
boot windows check everything is happy
then return to bios to set the XMP ram settings etc
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
071W View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2021
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 165
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 071W Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2021 at 7:23pm
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

easy peasey
first tell wife and kids to go out the house (as this will be the only time 'they' trip the electric ,while your flashing a bios)
then reset bios to defaults
reboot and double check its at defaults
then flash to the bridge bios circa v3xxx
reboot to bios check version flashed
reset defaults again
flash to the v5xxx bridge bios
reboot to bios check version
reset to defaults
you dont need allinone if you have seperate gpu (its for the apu chips)
insert your 3600 (not sure why you want an X version) but hey its your money
then boot to bios check everything is detected
flashing further up than the 3xxx series bios is up to you and remember sometimes newer versions actually are worse than earlier ones
boot windows check everything is happy
then return to bios to set the XMP ram settings etc


Thank you for the reply!

I am using silverstone ML08 case so I havent got too much room for a tall CPU cooler. I used to have Cryorig C7 and then installed AMD Wraith Stealth (C7 broke recently and Stealth is a lot quieter).

Little bit concerned now that Ryzen 5 3600x or Ryzen 7 3700x might be running a little hot inside the case with low profile coolers.

You mention:

Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:


flashing further up than the 3xxx series bios is up to you and remember sometimes newer versions actually are worse than earlier ones


Did you mean 5xxx instead of 3xxx?

When you say Reset defaults you mean removing the motherboard battery and resetting CMOS?

Lastly... in your opinion. Is it worth to upgrade to either 3600x or 3700x on this motherboard to save a few ££ or sell it and get a more recent one?

Thanks!
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 16233
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2021 at 10:00pm
Reset to UEFI defaults is an option in the BIOS, it's a firmware soft reset.
Doing this before a BIOS update helps prevent corruption and headaches.

As for upgrading your board, the only benefit would be PCIe 4.0 support and
precision boost 2. The first would be useful for faster NVME drive support and
the second will yield a small performance advantage but IMO, neither are really
worth it in a small form factor setup. I would take the proven stability of your
existing board over a negligible performance bump that may not even apply with
the thermals in your setup.

Just my 2c
Back to Top
071W View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2021
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 165
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 071W Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2021 at 1:10am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Reset to UEFI defaults is an option in the BIOS, it's a firmware soft reset.
Doing this before a BIOS update helps prevent corruption and headaches.

As for upgrading your board, the only benefit would be PCIe 4.0 support and
precision boost 2. The first would be useful for faster NVME drive support and
the second will yield a small performance advantage but IMO, neither are really
worth it in a small form factor setup. I would take the proven stability of your
existing board over a negligible performance bump that may not even apply with
the thermals in your setup.

Just my 2c


Would there be any concerns if I stick Ryzen 7 3800x on the motherboard after upgrading the bios or there isn't any difference whether I go with 3600x or 3800x?

Thank you!
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 16233
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2021 at 1:51pm
Thermals would be the first concern. Honestly, in an SFF setup I would go with
a 3600 (non-x) so you can stick with the stealth cooler. Unless you are either
doing number crunching or using a high end GPU with hopes of high FPS in gaming
the 3600 should be more than adequate. A 3600 handles even high end GPUs more than
well enough for a 60fps+ experience. If you really need more CPU grunt then maybe
look at the 5600. The 5600 will perform close to the 3800x but use far less power
and generate a lot less heat. IMO, the 3600 is the sweet spot for an ITX build
though. It runs relatively cool for the performance it provides. If you really
want a power house I wouldn't be looking at an ITX setup, a slightly larger case
paired with an mATX board will open up your cooling options and allow more
powerful, typically hot running components.

Your setup can certainly accommodate the 3800x but you would need to run better
cooling than the stealth cooler, you will throttle so badly that you end up with
worse performance than the 3600.

Edited by Xaltar - 29 Jun 2021 at 1:51pm
Back to Top
071W View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2021
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 165
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 071W Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2021 at 5:52pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Thermals would be the first concern. Honestly, in an SFF setup I would go with
a 3600 (non-x) so you can stick with the stealth cooler. Unless you are either
doing number crunching or using a high end GPU with hopes of high FPS in gaming
the 3600 should be more than adequate. A 3600 handles even high end GPUs more than
well enough for a 60fps+ experience. If you really need more CPU grunt then maybe
look at the 5600. The 5600 will perform close to the 3800x but use far less power
and generate a lot less heat. IMO, the 3600 is the sweet spot for an ITX build
though. It runs relatively cool for the performance it provides. If you really
want a power house I wouldn't be looking at an ITX setup, a slightly larger case
paired with an mATX board will open up your cooling options and allow more
powerful, typically hot running components.

Your setup can certainly accommodate the 3800x but you would need to run better
cooling than the stealth cooler, you will throttle so badly that you end up with
worse performance than the 3600.


Hi,

I think I got convinced to maybe expand a little bit more. I do work with 3d, video and image processing from home on my computer and I think going with Ryzen 7 might be a little productive. This upgrade will be covered by my company - we might not have a lot of budget to spend on the best but I think I should be able to go with Ryzen 7 3800x. Looking at benchmarks there doesn't seem to be too much benefit going with 3800x so perhaps 3700x will be a better option.

You mention "paired with an mATX board" If I went with a bigger case I can still stay with my micro-itx right? It should fit in the Deepcool Macube 110 case and still be able to accommodate a large more powerful cooler.

Going back to the earlier replies regarding resetting to defaults, I went into bios just to have a look where it is and found this page. Is that where I reset the bios to defaults after each flash ?



Thank you,
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 16233
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2021 at 9:45pm
Originally posted by 071W 071W wrote:

You mention "paired with an mATX board" If I went with a bigger case I can still stay with my micro-itx right? It should fit in the Deepcool Macube 110 case and still be able to accommodate a large more powerful cooler.


It will certainly improve your thermals but an mATX board will have a better
VRM section and cooling, thus allowing more efficient heat dissipation. That
said, it should be perfectly adequate with a decent cooler and your ITX board
provided you don't overclock (pointless with Ryzen 3000 and beyond anyway).

Originally posted by 071W 071W wrote:

Going back to the earlier replies regarding resetting to defaults, I went into bios just to have a look where it is and found this page. Is that where I reset the bios to defaults after each flash ?



Thank you,

That's the one
Back to Top
071W View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Jun 2021
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 165
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 071W Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2021 at 3:44am
Hi Everyone!

I just wanted to pop in and say that I have successfully upgraded my PC to ryzen 7 3700x with the bios update 5.7. I followed the steps you all suggested and it worked all fine!

thank you so much for your help!

I will probably pop in with another thread in the near future in regards to Secureboot and tpm on my motherboard when Win 11 comes out since my pc check software seems to require it!

Thank you, stay safe!

Milo
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.127 seconds.