ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Bios not showing up on Acer B247W monitor, but old
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Bios not showing up on Acer B247W monitor, but old

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Sanderguy777 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Jul 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sanderguy777 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bios not showing up on Acer B247W monitor, but old
    Posted: 18 Jul 2021 at 2:18am
Hi,
I just finished upgrading the PC I built in 2019. It is an ASRock X470 Master SLI/AC with AMD 3400G APU, no GPU, 32GB Ballistix 3600MHz C16 RAM (using XMP to get 3600MHz) (upgraded from 16GB Corsair 3200MHz C16, which was running at 2133MHz), and several various SSDs for boot, programs, and photos + a new Samsung 980 1TB NVMe for vidoe storage and editing (the other upgrade).

I didn't check before the upgrade, and I'm not going to undo everything to check now, but currently, I cant get my bios to show up on my Acer B247W monitor I use for editing. It has no issue with the old Insignia TV that is 720p or 1080p at most, but will not work on my Acer monitor for anything. it DID work once, after I set the bios to "full HD UEFI: disabled", but then reverted to "auto" for some reason and hasn't popped up on my Acer since. (It worked when the bios was set to something x 768p (full hd UEFI disabled), but when that is set to "Auto", the bios says it is displaying in something x 1200p (native res of the ACER, but only works on the TV which is NOT that high res at all, and definitely not 16:10 aspect ratio!) No amount of cable swapping or plugging and unplugging during boot up has any effect and the ACER doesn't show the "ASRock" boot to windows or boot to UEFI screen at all, it is just black, then the windows loading dots start up.

I haven't updated the bios since I built the PC, but I HATE doing anything that can damage perfectly good parts because the internet or power goes off. Is there any setting in windows or the bios that I can mess with to get the bios to work?

Any help would be appreciated! I CAN reliably get into the BIOS, but I'm tired of having to unplug my Xbox and swap monitors to use it.
Back to Top
Sanderguy777 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Jul 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sanderguy777 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Jul 2021 at 2:32pm
I am taking my PC to a tech I know tomorrow and will update thus thread if anything changes.

Meantime, whether it is related or not, I have had 2 restarts (one for unexpected_kernel_mode_trap and the other for system service exception), several odd things where I couldn't open programs like file explorer, and one time where Word froze then put my cursor behind the page and then erased half my file.

Any help would be very welcome.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.