ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Upgrading Motherboard Same OS and HDD

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote A_X44^&= Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Upgrading Motherboard Same OS and HDD
    Posted: 06 Jun 2015 at 12:25am
Hey guys, newbie here on the forum with a motherboard question:
I know it's a bad idea to move your boot drive from one motherboard to another, but what about
when you have two related boards in the same series from the same manufacturer?
For example, moving from a
ASRock Extreme6 X79 motherboard
to a
ASRock Extreme4 X79 motherboard
Here's a link comparing the two:
http://motherboards.specout.com/compare/410-433/Asrock-X79-Extreme6-vs-Asrock-X79-
EXTREME4-M
Is this a bad idea? How likely will I be able to boot without problems? I'd like to avoid reinstalling
my OS.
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2015 at 12:59am
Given they both use the same chipset you should boot fine but I would recommend you do a fresh install with a major component change. I know it can be annoying but it is the best way to rule out OS related problems if your system is unstable. 

Will it work? yes
Should you do it, well I guess you could always do a fresh install at a later point if you have problems. 
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jun 2015 at 1:33pm
Originally posted by A_X44^&= A_X44^&= wrote:

Hey guys, newbie here on the forum with a motherboard question:
I know it's a bad idea to move your boot drive from one motherboard to another, but what about