ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z690M Phantom Gaming issues
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z690M Phantom Gaming issues

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
tucansam View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 68
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tucansam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z690M Phantom Gaming issues
    Posted: 17 Jun 2022 at 10:06am
Z690M Phantom Gaming 4 v3.01, i3-12100F.

4000Mhz GSkill F4-4000C18D-32GVK boot-loops and the board sees it as 2133Mhz.

3200Mghz GSkill F4-3200C16-16GVK boot-loops and the board sees it as 2133Mhz.

DRAM fault LEDs light and it takes the board 15-20 seconds to get to the BIOS screen after it boot loops a few times.

I have been trying to update the BIOS.

An 8GB FAT32-formatted USB thumb drive is detected by the USB inventory screen, but "image not found" is shown when I try to flash from the Instant Flash utility.

Internet flashing does not work because the network fails, although the board is very definitely plugged into the network.....

Any advice?

Thanks.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 12668
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Jun 2022 at 9:06pm
Make sure you have extracted the instant flash zip file you downloaded. If you
already have, and are sure you are downloading the BIOS update for the correct
board, check to see if there is another update that may be needed before updating
to the latest.

Generally, I download all the updates for my board that are newer than my
current version and then extract them to a flash drive. This
should provide you a list of "compatible" updates in the instant flash menu. At
this point I select the newest one listed then if that is not the latest one I
complete the update, reboot and check again. This way, if there is a requisite
BIOS version, you will see it. The instant flash applet will typically not allow
you to update to the latest version if there is a required "bridge" or other
version first.

I hope that makes sense and is helpful.
Good luck

Edited by Xaltar - 17 Jun 2022 at 9:06pm
Back to Top
tucansam View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 68
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tucansam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2022 at 8:41am
Got it updated to the latest BIOS version.

Continues to boot-loop. Detects RAM at 2133MHz.

Forcing it to 3200MHz in XMP has no effect.

BIOS says "your board failed to boot several times...." blah blah blah
Back to Top
tucansam View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 68
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tucansam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2022 at 8:46am
I've been building PCs and even high-end UNIX workstations since the mid 1980s and this is literally I have ever had DRAM not just drop in and work right out of the box with a motherboard.
Back to Top
tucansam View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 68
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tucansam Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2022 at 9:49am
Got 3200Mhz to at least boto with 1.45v on the DRAM. Did not expect to have to do this. My current system is an i7-2600K, so I'm a little out of the loop on this new fancy hardware. Does DRAM not just drop in and work anymore?

Running memtest now to see if it will be stable at this speed/voltage.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 12668
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jun 2022 at 4:25pm
Unfortunately no, DDR4 has been an absolute nightmare compatibility wise. The issue
is that there have been several new standards/platforms introduced during it's
production cycle. First it was Intel HEDT exclusive (X99) then we got Skylake followed
shortly after by Kaby Lake and Ryzen. Ryzen was the real wrench in the works as it
used a completely different, ground up DDR4 controller. Ever since then RAM manufacturers
have struggled to maintain cross platform compatibility with so many very different
platforms.

Hopefully with AMD's IMC now properly mature we won't see as many issues with
DDR5. RAM manufacturers had the full spec available to them before going into
production. The main issues will likely be to do with yields and frequencies I
suspect. As RAM gets faster and faster and nodes shrink stability and yields
always suffer.

Good luck with your stability testing
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.