ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X399 Fatality No Boot/Red Light of Death
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X399 Fatality No Boot/Red Light of Death

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14208
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X399 Fatality No Boot/Red Light of Death
    Posted: 28 Jul 2022 at 6:04pm
Awesome, glad to hear you got it up and running

Enjoy
Back to Top
The Other Guy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jul 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Other Guy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jul 2022 at 5:52pm
In the most professional way possible, you are a beautiful individual! Plugged in the new card yesterday and was able to get video! Really appreciate all the help getting me this far! You are AWESOME!!!!

Summary:
Breathing red light on MB and no signs of life to include Dr Debug codes.
Answer: Check that the correct power connections are going to the correct plugs on the board. Just because the plug fits, doesn't mean the pin configuration is correct. PCIE plugs will not power your MB. Reseating the CPU was not an issue, but it was a learning experience. Be gentle, watch youtube video on it, don't hulk out on the screws when tightening down.

No Video: Cheap recycled business workstation video cards are GARBAGE. Just because its PCIx1234 and matches the MB, doesn't mean it will play nice.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14208
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2022 at 1:33pm
For what you are looking at using the system for that will do the trick nicely.
Back to Top
The Other Guy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jul 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Other Guy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2022 at 5:05am
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14208
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2022 at 9:48pm
Originally posted by The Other Guy The Other Guy wrote:

I found someone on FB selling an MSI R7850 Twin Frozr III 2GD5/OC for $30. Thoughts?

Heres the specs:
https://www.msi.com/Graphics-Card/R7850-Twin-Frozr-2GD5OC/Specification


When buying used, always go with the too good to be true mentality. The 7850 is
a power hungry beast, particularly considering newer cards do far more with much
less power. See my post above for what to look for if all you need is a display
output.

Now, if you want to be able to game on the system or do 3d/2d work on it then you
will want to look at something newer and more powerful. Something like a Radeon
RX 570 4gb would be ideal and can be picked up for not much, even new. Otherwise
just pick up a new Geforce 210/610/710 or Radeon R5 240/RX 550 etc. Being new will
rule out display issues and the price isn't much higher than used.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14208
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2022 at 9:41pm
I would avoid workstation GPUs like the plague, especially the older ones. They
very often don't adhere to the same standards, particularly the Quadro NVS cards.
It's why they sell for so little on used marketplaces.

Any desktop PCIe based GPU should be fine, it's only the workstation cards I have
seen issues with. Naturally try and go for the newest GPU you can in your budget.
Radeon R5 240, Geforce x10 (x being 2, 6, 7 etc) are fine for just getting a display
output. Even a much older Geforce 8500gt will work fine, I have used one in my
x399 board for troubleshooting. Most of these can be picked up for under $50 USD
new, less used.
Back to Top
The Other Guy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jul 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Other Guy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2022 at 9:38pm
I found someone on FB selling an MSI R7850 Twin Frozr III 2GD5/OC for $30. Thoughts?

Heres the specs:
https://www.msi.com/Graphics-Card/R7850-Twin-Frozr-2GD5OC/Specification
Back to Top
The Other Guy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jul 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Other Guy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2022 at 9:28pm
Much appreciated. Any recommendations on what type of card or specs I should be looking for that meets the cheap requirement? In my mind they should all work the same assuming they are all built on the same standard such as PCIEx16. Obviously not all electronics are built the same or like to play nice with each other.

Thanks again for all the help. At least I am making progress.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14208
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2022 at 2:20pm
Quote So here is what we got now. The board fires us, Dr. Debug runs through displaying every code it knows in about 15 seconds and the read out turns off. I figure it is either running through every and coming back all good...or it's failing every test and just giving up on life lol. The system fans continue to run and my keyboard has one standard light that remains on.


This means the system is POSTing successfully. The issue is your display not getting
a signal from the GPU, either a problem with your display cable/output or the
GPU itself.

I would get a better GPU (not a workstation GPU like the Quadro).
Back to Top
The Other Guy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Jul 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 145
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote The Other Guy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2022 at 5:17am
Oh yeah, and the red breathing light is still breathing on the board. Not sure if thats good or bad?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.