ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X670E Taichi randomly resets
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X670E Taichi randomly resets

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Skybuck View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 18 Apr 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 795
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Skybuck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X670E Taichi randomly resets
    Posted: 30 Apr 2023 at 9:02am
Your hunch that PBO2 is causing the crashes might be the correct one.

Currently PBO2 could maybe lead to over voltage being supplied to the CPU.

It depends on frequency and temperature of CPU.

Leaving of PBO2 should be better for stability, also check latest bios/firmware updates, there are found problems with older bioses that could even blow up these processors.
Back to Top
Kodan1751 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2022
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 140
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kodan1751 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Dec 2022 at 12:51pm
I've replaced the PSU with a new one and have not seen any of the described issues since. Seems like an extremely weird behaviour but it's fixed.
Back to Top
Kodan1751 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2022
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 140
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kodan1751 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Dec 2022 at 5:19am
Errors occured at stock memory speeds (4800) and PBO on auto, since I just loaded defaults.
I re-flashed back to 1.11AS06, cleared CMOS and explicitly DISABLED PBO. Memory is still at stock speeds right now. Yesterday it completed 6 hours of OCCT and no errors were reported. Gaming was also stable with no reboots.
I left the system running overnight and today in the morning there were no errors. Since then I started yet another run and no errors. Maybe leaving PBO on auto enables a boosting behaviour that causes a single core not to be stable and when that core does something crucial and encounters and error, the whole thing just reboots?

Would be great to hear some insight on this theory. Right now everything seems fine. PSU swap will commence either way, though. This one is out of warranty.
Back to Top
Solidblock22 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2022
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 150
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Solidblock22 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Dec 2022 at 6:46am
I don't know anymore was having constant restarts now nothing at. Its been a week now restarts or nothing
Back to Top
Kodan1751 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2022
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 140
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kodan1751 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Dec 2022 at 6:27am
I think I have finally found the REASON for the reboots. But probably not the culprit.
Following advice in another forum thread where someone saw the same behaviour on a different board I started testing with OCCT:

CPU Test
AVX2
Small data set
Extreme mode
Start at cycle 1
Threads: advanced
Testing physical and virtual cores and starting with core 0 and 1
cycling cores every 10 seconds

After a couple minutes I see physical core #4 reporting problems. Sometimes that core has issues on the first pass, sometimes it takes a couple passes for errors to show up. I think that's what is making it so inconsistent. But now I can at least start tracking down what is causing those problems. Maybe the core is just physically defective on my CPU.

I have a new PSU on the way since redoing my cables seemingly helped a little bit.
Back to Top
Kodan1751 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2022
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 140
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kodan1751 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2022 at 2:11am
Originally posted by Dieter_Wilke Dieter_Wilke wrote:

Failed contacts?!


Possible. I hope that, if there is a damaged cable, it's at least inside the sleeved extensions since the 24 pin on the dark power pro can not be removed. They only added that in the latest version of that series.

As for the motherboard i have set everything back to EXPO + PBO + CO.
Back to Top
Dieter_Wilke View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2022
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 105
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dieter_Wilke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2022 at 3:57pm
Failed contacts?!
Back to Top
Kodan1751 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2022
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 140
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kodan1751 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2022 at 7:28am
Update:

I found that it doesn't seem to like Trepang2 in particular. Starting the game reboots the system reliably. Have tried over 20 times in a row now. It's a steam title, and steam runs off my secondary drive.

Reseated CPU. No change. Block seemed to have made very good contact.
Removed 1 RAM stick. No change. Put removed RAM stick into A1 to test if it's memory related. No change.
Cleared CMOS. No change.
Tried limiting the CPU power. No change.
Flashed the latest Beta Bios. No change.
Installed the latest AMD chipset drivers. No change.
Disabled C-states. No change.
Fixed the infinity clock speed. No change.
Reduced the GPU clock speed by 100MHz, believing it to be a GPU crash. No change.

Same thing every time. I start the game from the steam library, it loads for a second, screen goes black since it's a fullscreen application and I see the mouse cursor put into the upper left corner for a fraction of a second before it reboots or gets stuck at 00.

I went back to a previous BIOS version and chipset drivers. No change.
I DDU'd the Nvidia drivers and reinstalled. No change either.

Mind you that this game has worked in the past and even when I started seeing instabilities it was nowhere this bad.

I went to pull the PSU and checked all connections. I moved one PCIe power cable to one that is on a different rail. Since I have the OC-Key in the PSU it should run in single rail mode either way so I did not expect any difference. I also untangled my 24 pin extension to check for any issues with the connection. The connection was fine.

Now the system works. Game starts and I can no longer reliably reproduce the rebooting when starting it. Granted, I have no idea if it's 100% stable but it has clearly improved. I have no idea what did it. I merely moved some cables around without unplugging them, powered the system back up and it seems fine. Very strange. Not sure if I should RMA this PSU.
Back to Top
modru2004 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 150
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote modru2004 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Nov 2022 at 10:48am
Originally posted by Solidblock22 Solidblock22 wrote:

Update: my suspicion about idling cpu has been correct. The past couple days I been running cinebench as soon as windows start I run it for 2 minutes get the cpu temp to 95 and and stop the Benchmark. It has not froze or restart in 2 days. Some of us are having the same problem so try this method. Normally when I turn on the pc on a cold start it would just freeze in a few minutes and restart no matter what settings I changed now after I warmed it up I left it idle for 2 and a half hours and nothing happens. It works well. Still it should ne this way for what I paid. Damn thing cost as much as a high end tablet.


maybe try disabling c states in the bios?
Back to Top
Solidblock22 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Nov 2022
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 150
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Solidblock22 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Nov 2022 at 11:21pm
Update: my suspicion about idling cpu has been correct. The past couple days I been running cinebench as soon as windows start I run it for 2 minutes get the cpu temp to 95 and and stop the Benchmark. It has not froze or restart in 2 days. Some of us are having the same problem so try this method. Normally when I turn on the pc on a cold start it would just freeze in a few minutes and restart no matter what settings I changed now after I warmed it up I left it idle for 2 and a half hours and nothing happens. It works well. Still it should ne this way for what I paid. Damn thing cost as much as a high end tablet.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.155 seconds.