ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Bios Upgrade for amd 5600g
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Bios Upgrade for amd 5600g

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
teb2500 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 115
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teb2500 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Bios Upgrade for amd 5600g
    Posted: 29 Nov 2022 at 8:12am
hi there - looking for any assistance with process for upgrading my motherboard.

Fatal1ty B450 Gaming-ITX/ac
Current cpu: AMD 2200g
Bios: 3.30

I'm looking to install an AMD 5600g and was told that mb would accommodate but bios would need to be upgraded to 4.40 and neither the 2200g or 5600g would be able to accommodate that upgrade - I need to use an AMD 3700x to get it to 4.40 and then install the 5600g.

I can send the mb to Asrock and they will update (I pay shipping both ways) or I find someplace local to do as I do not have a 3700x to use. (I'd rather not be without computer for time it will take to ship.) I'm assuming that since this is what Asrock specified, then this is the only way to do this.

Just wanted to confirm that there is no way to upgrade this mb with a 5600g cpu. Thx for any assistance - much appreciated.
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 1335
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2022 at 9:31am
Where are you getting that requirement from? I see no such requirement listed in their BIOS page: https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%20B450%20Gaming-ITXac/index.us.asp#BIOS

On my Fatal1ty B450 Gaming-ITX/ac, I was able to go from 3.20 straight to 4.80 (the latest at that time) using R7-2700 I had in it at the time. It still worked with R7-2700 after the update, but I replaced it with R5-4650G after that. Since then, I updated again to the latest 5.10

You should be able to just update straight to 5.10 with 2200G in it, and then you can reboot to mess with it some more, or just swap to 5600G.

First boot always takes a bit longer to after a CPU swap, but I never had an issue.
Back to Top
teb2500 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 115
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teb2500 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2022 at 8:01pm
thx so much for the quick reply! when i emailed asrock tech to see if the mb supported the 5600g, they replied:

MB support 5600G CPU, please make sure you have bios 4.40 ready before you drop in the new CPU.
Your current bios 3.30 version is not ready for 5600G CPU.
Please flash the bios with AMD 3700X CPU, AMD 2200G CPU will not be able to compete the whole bios flash.

so if i attempt to do this with the current 2200g, is there any possibility of unforeseen issues that would create bigger problems?
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 1335
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2022 at 10:24pm
They said, "AMD 2200G CPU will not be able to compete the whole bios flash."

Now, that's interesting, because, I see that on some board BIOS pages, they do say, "To support Ryzen 5000 G-series processors, it requires to update the BIOS with Matisse, Renoir or Vermeer CPU." I see that in A520M-ITX/ac page.

How come they don't say the same thing on other board pages???

Perhaps 5600G series support code is in the address range that cannot be accessed by pre-Matisse CPUs, like Summit/Pinnacle/Raven/Picasso). If that's actually the case, yeah, you wouldn't be able to go straight from 2200G->5600G.

In my case, I went from 2700->4650G, which is pre-5000G. So if what they're saying is true, my initial BIOS update from 2700 only updated part of the flash ROM, but that was enough to support 4650G.

Since I updated the BIOS again with 4650G, now my board can support 5000G series?

Wow, if this is true, the fact that they mention this requirement in only SOME of the boards' BIOS pages would be a major problem!

Maybe someone here has an actual experience going from Zen/Zen+ to 5000G-series on these boards.
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 1335
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2022 at 10:29pm
I found this discussion:

https://www.reddit.com/r/ASRock/comments/w4uie3/to_support_ryzen_5000_gseries_processors_it/

As expected, some conflicting information, like how this only affects certain boards, etc.

One solution they provide is to use EFI shell based flash program, instead of the BIOS built-in Instant Flash.

It's up to you if you want to risk that.
Back to Top
teb2500 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 115
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teb2500 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2022 at 11:20pm
thx eccential for all of your input. i'm not the daring type and this might be above my paygrade! i'll check with my local microcenter to see if they can do the upgrade and if not, i'll send to asrock.
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 1335
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2022 at 11:44pm
Last reply.

If a local shop won't help you (or wants to charge you way too much), see if AMD will loan you a boot-kit.

One of the threads I found said AMD let them borrow an R3-3100 (Matisse).
Back to Top
teb2500 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 29 Nov 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 115
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote teb2500 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Nov 2022 at 12:04am
Excellent suggestion! Was focused on the mb and didn't think of AMD. Just filled out their form - fingers crossed!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.139 seconds.