ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Dual Channel Memory issues with Z790 Steel Legend
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Dual Channel Memory issues with Z790 Steel Legend

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23663
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2023 at 4:59pm
Yeah, it's still not very common but it does happen more than it used to. Given
that this is a manufacturer's forum it's not odd that we see it more often here.
Most people immediately suspect the motherboard, which makes sense, some part of
it isn't working right. Not many people are aware that the memory controller is
on the CPU.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 23663
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jul 2023 at 12:03am
If you have both RAM modules in the A slots then you are not running in dual channel.
A and B indicate the channels, if you have RAM in A1 and B1 or A2 and B2 then you
are running in dual channel. 2 RAM modules installed does not mean you are running
in dual channel, they must be in the correct slots:

A2 and B2 (recommended) -> Dual channel
A1 and B1 => Dual channel
A1 and B2 => Single channel
A2 and B1 -> Single channel
A1 and A2 -> Single channel
B1 and B2 -> Single channel

The confusion is caused by how DDR5 works. As far as I understand it, DDR5 modules
function as if they are 2 modules in one (ie, Dual channel). If the information
I have been looking at is correct that means that dual channel is actually quad
channel with DDR5. This is irrelevant when it comes to performance however because
regardless of it being "dual channel" you are still losing half your bandwidth
with both modules in the A channel. Once 3rd party monitoring apps are updated
for the new standard properly it will stop being reported as dual channel with
a single module or both modules in a single channel.

The TLDR is that you should return your CPU if you are unable to get the RAM
to work properly in slots A2 and B2 or A1 and B1. That is a strong indication of
a weak or even bad memory controller on the CPU.

I hope this makes sense.
Back to Top
dancelikebutter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Jan 2024
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dancelikebutter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jan 2024 at 12:11pm
Been also dealing with this issue. Been having a lot of BSOD and Random Crashes. Tested everything out and it feels like my MB is really the culprit. Tried rolling back bios versions but didn't help and noticed there was a NEW* Bios version 12/27, but even after the updates the problems still persists. I am thinking of switching it out completely this month.

Current Build:
i9-13900k
G.SKill 6400Mhz/64GB (Dual Channel)
AsRock Steel Legend WiFi Z790
RTX 3070
Samsung 980 PRO 1tb

Please let me know if anyone solved this issue everyone is having.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.