ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z690 Steel VRAM on Boot
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z690 Steel VRAM on Boot

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22988
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z690 Steel VRAM on Boot
    Posted: 18 Mar 2023 at 2:43am
DRAM or VGA? There is no VRAM light, VRAM is Video RAM. If it's the DRAM light then
make sure your RAM is properly seated in slots A2 and B2. The slots can be overly
tight when new. If that isn't the issue, try reinstalling your CPU, make sure there
are no bent pins in the socket and that pressure from the cooler is even but not
too tight. Snug is good, tight is bad.

Also be sure you have the correct 8pin CPU power cable connected to your CPU power
header. If it is not connected or not the correct cable the system will not boot.

Good luck.
Back to Top
antigravity19 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote antigravity19 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 10:17pm
I will say the BIOS reboot did give me a false happy moment. Turned off on that reboot but VRAM light came back on.
Back to Top
antigravity19 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Mar 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote antigravity19 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Mar 2023 at 10:16pm
Hi just finished a new build.

Mobo: z690 steel
CPU: 13600K
RAM: Corsair Vengence 3200C16 16x2
PSU: Corsair RM750x
AIO cooled.
All were NIB

Initial boot gave me a persistent VRAM light

Tried removing both RAM sticks and replugging in. Is there any value in trying the A1/B1 spot? Manual doesn't imply that's intended. I did try 1 stick at a time and neither worked.

Tried clearing the CMOS and updated the BIOS to the latest version via Flashback.

Loosened the cooler slightly to make sure the board wasn't stressed.

Don't have any spare parts to just try, any thoughts on additional steps to try?

Will probably look to run to Best buy grab a different ram stick on the supported listed. Maybe PSU. Feel a little bad about grabbing parts just to return used.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.