ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - SoC voltage 5800x3d on b550 taichi
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

SoC voltage 5800x3d on b550 taichi

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
bestsss View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Oct 2016
Location: Estonia
Status: Offline
Points: 25
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bestsss Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: SoC voltage 5800x3d on b550 taichi
    Posted: 24 May 2023 at 9:49pm
Modifying the SoC voltage does absolutely nothing for 5800x3d on b550 Taichi. It says 1.096 no matter the settings.

My understanding is that SoC voltage should be configurable, just not the vcore.

With the being said xmp profiles become a true nightmare to tune - as memory tuning is an option, just hoping the auto setting set enough voltage. It also leads to rare instability issues as load calibration is disabled as well.

Is there any solution? What's the expected behavior?
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 2383
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 2023 at 2:45pm
hello @bestsss

if soc voltage does not change, then ENABLE "UNCORE soc". Theres also somewhere else deeper than can change soc volts. Don't rely on the one outside alone.

regarding the good question of "whats the expected behaviour?" long story short, some bioses version does not contain enough library as well as enough rules to "AUTO setting" so many brands/parts ........

hence the solution is to understand XMP properly, and become smart-consumer-ship enough to see/find/identify which bios does not do what versus which bios will do what...

i.e.

version 1 bios - can fully load XMP, but voltage not auto correctly
version 2 bios - can't XMP, but voltages are correct fully,
version 3 bios - load primary XMP with secondaries but will auto calculate secondaries to different values, then half voltages correct, half voltages wrong.
version 4 bios - everything correct perfect.

trust me, I used x370-taichi bios 2.0, then 3.0 something, then start to log-book in details 4.6, 4.8, 5.1, 5.5, 5.53, 5.6, 5.61, 5.64, 5.66, 5.67, 5.8, 5.93, 5.95, 6.2, 6.2A, 6.4, 6.61, 6.62, after these I jump ship to x470 taichi 3.43, 3.46, 3.5, 3.6, 3.75, 3.78, 3.9, 3.92, 4.1, 4.2, 4.6, 4.62, 4.7, 4.73, 4.75, 4.76, 4.85, 4.8, 4.9, 8.01
trust me, most are type 3.

type 3 bios gives most convenience, most users can boot XMP into windows and use a few days, but later crash when heavy load either gaming, or crash when idling doing nothing....

regardless, solution for zen3, zen2, [not zen4], following recent default voltages below
soc 1.1v
cldo_vddp 1.0v
VDDG_IOD 1.1v
VDDG_CCD 1.1v
procODT 43.6 ohms

when I use these voltages, even OLD bios get 100% stable, why? because year 2017 first few batches of bios gives below voltages

soc 0.9v
cldo_vddp 0.7v
VDDG_IOD 0.9v zen2 start, zen1 don't have this
VDDG_CCD 0.9v zen2 start, zen1 don't have this
obviously many crashes when runing XMP.
These low voltages are for jedec 2133MT/s 1066Mhz.

for real user case see
https://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=24829

https://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=25034

and some bioses does not save settings after wall-plug-power-off, like x470-taichi beta 3.46 and 3.50 although I suspect flash too many bios, some codes left befind dirty ...... oh yes this happens ........

also loadline level 3 or higher gives better stability, less vdroop, less power savings.
x370taichi@3.50gen4
AX750 Optane900P SN770
3800x PosdonZro4 BarrowPWM-17w>420x140x28
XFX SWFT319 6900XT
MSI RX560 LP to get Fluid Motion BlueskyFRC 75hz
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3657
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2023 at 11:09pm
mine zen2 can handle 3333MHz ram with stock 0.9 soc voltage, its x370 mobo and officialy mobo supports ram up to 3200Mhz..so that low voltage still fits in
at 1.1v soc it can go up to 3733MHz, but then vddg iod needs to be raised aswell otherwise infinity fabric wont keep up with ram frequency

kinda odd that 500 chipset wont scale voltages up with frequency, those mobos are rated for 3600+

Edited by kerberos_20 - 02 Jun 2023 at 11:10pm
Back to Top
Cosminnn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jul 2023
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cosminnn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2023 at 8:09pm
What about VSOC? Voltage for Infinity Fabric with Ryzen 5800X3D?

Other OEM's have this setting available and it can be changed ... with a 5800X3D onboard.

Anyway in my specific case, I am looking to down-volt, so no danger on the CPU.

I have a Taichi X570 and as colleagued mentioned above, there is no vcore option in bios. Also Windows software A-Tunning does not have available an option for vsoc.
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3657
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2023 at 1:45am
use ryzen master app
https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/ryzen-master

if it cant be changed even there, then your bios has it locked
Back to Top
Cosminnn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jul 2023
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cosminnn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2023 at 7:20pm
Yeah, seems to be locked. Is there anyone from AsRock to support here? I mean for other motherboard OEM's this settings are enabled.
I do not see why it shouldn't work for AsRock mobo's.

Anyway I am looking to stabilize some ram OC and I will actually look to lower the vsoc, so no intended harm on my 5800x3d CPU.
Back to Top
Cosminnn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jul 2023
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cosminnn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2023 at 2:50pm
After opening a ticket with ASRock support, they suggested to user Ryzen Master to check for VSOC. At least for my rig ... it works, if I change "SoC/Uncore OC Voltage(VID)", the change is reflected in Ryzen Master.

Did not get the chance to check if the value actually change and it has impact on infinity fabric stability, rather than just reading a BIOS value but with no impact whatsoever.
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3657
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2023 at 3:14am
infonity fabric doesnt rely on vsoc/uncore voltage, its vddg iod voltage
Back to Top
Cosminnn View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Jul 2023
Location: Romania
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cosminnn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Jul 2023 at 3:44pm
I have WHEA 20 when trying to boot above 3800. I did a short google reading, looks like it is infinity fabric related.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.142 seconds.