ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X399M doesn't see a Kingston M.2 SSD
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X399M doesn't see a Kingston M.2 SSD

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
PCProbs View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 90
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PCProbs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X399M doesn't see a Kingston M.2 SSD
    Posted: 30 Jul 2023 at 4:45pm
Hi czfz,

That's a lateral thinking solution - very nice.
Back to Top
czfz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jan 2023
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote czfz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 2023 at 12:04am
Hello, PCProbs!
Today I finally managed to get this thing running
I bought an adapter (M.2 NVMe -> PCIe) and used it with my only free PCIe slot - and it solved the problem. The adapter itself is dirt-cheap, so I'm satisfied with that.
The only issue I'm having with this SSD now is the temperature (52 °C idle) but I guess I'll just find a low-profile radiator so that I can squeeze it right in there without touching my graphic card (those two PCIe slots are way too close to each other, but it's a mATX MoBo, what else to expect...).
Back to Top
PCProbs View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 90
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PCProbs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2023 at 1:31am
That seems like a logical next step.

Let me know how you get on?
Back to Top
czfz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jan 2023
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote czfz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2023 at 1:22am
PCProbs,
I don't use U.2 connector so it doesn't seem to be the cause...
Also, today I dropped my SSD to a local PC repair shop - it turned out that it's in perfect working condition. Should I try unplugging one (or more) of my other devices (SATA?) and check if it solves the problem?
Back to Top
PCProbs View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jul 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 90
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PCProbs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jul 2023 at 12:57am
Hello.

I looked at the specs (https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/X399M%20Taichi/index.asp#Specification) for your X399M motherboard and noticed this:

**If M2_1 is plugged, U.2 Connector will be disabled.

Might be worth looking at what ports are in use.
Back to Top
czfz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Jan 2023
Location: Russia
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote czfz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jul 2023 at 1:28am
Hello everyone!
First of all, I truly appreciate the support I got from this forum with my previous issue (last year, considering 128 Gb of RAM on X399M MoBo).
I really hope to find the solution for another problem that I'm having. So, I've just got a brand new M.2 SSD Kingston NV2 4 Tb (JSDSSDNV2M2-4T) as a replacement for my older HDDs for a very good price. I equipped it with a Snowman radiator and installed into M2_1 slot on my MoBo. But neither BIOS nor Windows (obviously) cannot detect this guy...
I'm at a loss here. I have LOTS of devices (2 HDDs, 2 M.2 SSDs, 1 BD-RW, Sound BlasterX AE-9 sound card) - can they cause this issue? Or maybe it's just a defective SSD? Or a CMOS battery which is unfortunately almost dead (replacement's on its way)?
I've checked the official supported M.2 SSD list but I suppose it includes bare minimum (100% supported models, any other may or may not work). If the worst is confirmed - could you please share your own experience with 4 Tb M.2 SSDs on a X399M? I have a limited choice (price-wise also) but I'll do my best to track down a compatible one.
BTW, I'm running Threadripper 1920X (if it's important).
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.185 seconds.