ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 5800X3D + AsRock X370 Killer SLI Dual Channel Issu
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

5800X3D + AsRock X370 Killer SLI Dual Channel Issu

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
7PCGamer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 128
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 7PCGamer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 5800X3D + AsRock X370 Killer SLI Dual Channel Issu
    Posted: 15 Aug 2023 at 2:37am
now that you mention it.. the problem was actually triggered by cmos battery failure. i forgot to mention that, i had to actually replace the battery before i began troubleshooting. the bios on my board doesnt have non volatile memory because i can clear cmos by removing the battery, what must have happened is that the bios lost old ram settings and is unable to re-train the memory
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 3995
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2023 at 2:05am
That DRAM voltage is indeed too low for DDR4. Even high-latency JEDEC DDR4 runs at 1.2V

What caught my eyes was the fact that the computer was running fine for 8 months, in the configuration that suddenly stopped working. The fact that replaced 5800X3D CPU does the same, and the fact that an older CPU works fine, hints at hardware actually being fine.

My best guess here is that the CMOS setting is broken.
I'm guessing your board is pretty old, since it's X370. 6 years or so?
When was the last time you replaced the CMOS battery?

Even though the BIOS settings are stored in non-volatile memory these days, CMOS battery is still important. Case in point, one of my X470 board started having problems, although it would work after restoring BIOS settings and a couple of reboots (each time I wanted to use it!). I replaced the CMOS battery and it's been happy again since.

So I suggest you check on the CMOS battery, and replace it if in doubt.
And then, I'd do full CMOS clear and set everything up from scratch.
Back to Top
7PCGamer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 128
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 7PCGamer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2023 at 12:54am
thanks

whats the lowest i can go for a 5800X3D.. though i find it really strange that 1700 has no issues booting up with all 4 ram slots occupied..

here are some parameters reported by the bios.. does that look ok, also ignore the dram voltage i had deliberately set it to 1.1V to check the signal integrity, if its able to boot at 1.1V the signal cant be that bad.. ram's rated at 1.2V

https://imgur.com/a/xkhAmp0
Back to Top
cx5 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 2383
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cx5 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Aug 2023 at 9:46am
Hi @7PCGamer

Some bios version have boot loop problem, change to other bios version. Lower it for now until another higher version appears.
x370taichi@3.50gen4
AX750 Optane900P SN770
3800x PosdonZro4 BarrowPWM-17w>420x140x28
XFX SWFT319 6900XT
MSI RX560 LP to get Fluid Motion BlueskyFRC 75hz
Back to Top
7PCGamer View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 128
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 7PCGamer Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Aug 2023 at 1:21pm
I am having trouble booting the above configuration. The computer goes in a boot loop and fails to load the BIOS screen

Configuration:
- RAM: CT8G4DFRA266 Crucial 8GB 2666 MHz CL19
- BIOS: 7.30 (latest version)

Background:
Computer was running fine in dual channel mode (8 months) till one day it failed to POST. No change to configuration made during this time

Troubleshooting steps executed:
- Checked RAM sticks individually in all 4 DIMM slots. Computer boots without issue as long as its just 1 RAM stick, the DIMM slot doesnt matter. Did this test with both sticks in total 8 times
- Replaced 5800X3D with Ryzen 1700 and all 4 DIMM slots are being detected in dual channel mode (4X8GB configuration, same RAM SKU (CT8G4DFRA266) 2 sticks from this PC + 2 from another donor PC). PC boots without issue
- RMA'd the 5800X3D, got a new retail box as replacement. Issue still persists

What could be the probable cause for this issue. Any other troubleshooting strategy that might unravel the root cause?
Thanks.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.188 seconds.