ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Short-circuit in B550M Steel Legend£
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Short-circuit in B550M Steel Legend£

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 3995
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Short-circuit in B550M Steel Legend£
    Posted: 14 Oct 2023 at 7:33am
My guess.
There was some sort of shorting at some point.
Repeated shock damaged CPU.
Considering you're getting multiple errors on the same thread, I'd say you should get a new CPU. Seeing as there's no way to know for sure if the CPU was bad from the get go, start a warranty process with AMD and see where it goes.
Back to Top
a13antichrist View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Points: 136
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote a13antichrist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2023 at 7:14am
It just flash-reset again, literally while doing nothing but reading over my post above.
R9 5950x | Asrock B550M Steel Legend | 64Gb 3600Mhz | RTX 3090 FE
R3 2200G | ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX

Dell Latitude 7470 | QNAP @58Tb | Mikrotik routers/wifi
Back to Top
a13antichrist View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Points: 136
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote a13antichrist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2023 at 5:32am
So I did a bit more playing around.. ripped everything out.. re-seated a few MB standoffs.. not sure that did much.. but I can't seem to crash it now with the USB stick, that's a good sign heh.

I started running OCCT and Memory, GPU, GPU Mem all passed.. then I tried CPU. THis is what I got:

00:00:00 - Info - Test schedule started at 2023-10-13 22:50:42
00:00:00 - Info - CPU - Started (Duration : 01:00:00)
00:22:25 - Error - CPU - 1 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
00:22:26 - Error - CPU - 4 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
00:22:27 - Error - CPU - 4 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
00:22:28 - Error - CPU - 4 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
00:22:29 - Error - CPU - 4 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
00:22:30 - Error - CPU - 5 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
00:22:31 - Error - CPU - 3 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
00:22:32 - Error - CPU - 4 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
00:22:33 - Error - CPU - 4 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
....
....
....
00:26:34 - Error - CPU - 4 error(s) found on physical core #13 - logical core #26
00:26:34 - Info - CPU - Test stopped


So.. that looks.. informative. Can I draw anything from that? Or maybe bad test? Am new to OCCT so not sure if this is conclusive...
R9 5950x | Asrock B550M Steel Legend | 64Gb 3600Mhz | RTX 3090 FE
R3 2200G | ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX

Dell Latitude 7470 | QNAP @58Tb | Mikrotik routers/wifi
Back to Top
Skybuck View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 18 Apr 2023
Status: Offline
Points: 740
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Skybuck Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Oct 2023 at 2:57am
I believe this may be some windows 11 related error and might also require some kind of bios update... not sure... I think MSI motherboards had this issue... strange to see it on asrock as well ?

There might also be a windows 11 update/fix for this...
Back to Top
a13antichrist View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Points: 136
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote a13antichrist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Sep 2023 at 7:14am
Originally posted by eccential eccential wrote:

Well, all that says is there was an uncorrectable hardware error.

If you disable "Automatically restart" in the "Start up and Recovery" setting, you might actually see it the BSOD, not that it would help you.


I see the BSOD, at least did before the SSD assassination. It says WHEA_Uncorrectable_Error ;) You're right, nothing helpful heh.

But every crash seems to be followed by this same Processor error. And I do see 'power reporting' wayward figures. So that seems correlated.

On the other hand a 'live' line on the MB to the case that resets the machine if I touch the USB stick to it.. that could literally manifest as any issue at all.

Originally posted by eccential eccential wrote:


Even after just a quick online search, I see all kind of different things can cause the MCE, and therefore, fix is also as diverse. One guy fixed it with a new power supply. Others replaced different parts.


Many things could lead to an MCE. But how many things can lead to an MCE *and* a live case?


Originally posted by eccential eccential wrote:


One of the reasons why all my PC builds use ECC memory is to eliminate unknowns, if only just one.


I usually keep spare parts of everything on hand to check/test with. Saves the fluffing around. But I'm trying to go minimal now, I'm even getting rid of my stock of RGB :D
R9 5950x | Asrock B550M Steel Legend | 64Gb 3600Mhz | RTX 3090 FE
R3 2200G | ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX

Dell Latitude 7470 | QNAP @58Tb | Mikrotik routers/wifi
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 3995
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2023 at 4:15am
Well, all that says is there was an uncorrectable hardware error.

If you disable "Automatically restart" in the "Start up and Recovery" setting, you might actually see it the BSOD, not that it would help you.

And if you have it dump memory, somebody might be able to help pinpoint the actual error. But even that might be useless if you're getting different and unrelated error each time.

Even after just a quick online search, I see all kind of different things can cause the MCE, and therefore, fix is also as diverse. One guy fixed it with a new power supply. Others replaced different parts.

Even re-seating things (CPU, PCIe cards) might help. I've personally fixed a system by cleaning the motherboard socket once. I flooded the empty socket with CRC Electronics cleaner and wiggled the lever around to make sure all the wires get touched by the cleaner. But this was an obvious situation, as someone (not me) let thermal paste fall into the socket.

Anyway, almost anything and everything can cause MCE. So I don't think a random nobody like me can really help guide you here.

One of the reasons why all my PC builds use ECC memory is to eliminate unknowns, if only just one.
Back to Top
a13antichrist View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Points: 136
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote a13antichrist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Sep 2023 at 2:53am
Originally posted by eccential eccential wrote:

You can always try down-clocking (urr, normal-clocking) the RAM.


Quote
BUt I have also run the RAM at 2666 just to be sure and the reset still happens.




My RAM is Crucial Ballistix 16-18-18-38. I do notice it says 1.35V while I seem to recall seeing 1.2 in BIOS. Will check this further.

One thing I found today though after another random reset entirely while the computer was idle:


EventID 18: WHEA Error Logger.

A fatal hardware error has occurred.

Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor APIC ID: 0

The details view of this entry contains further information.

This might align with the Power Reporting imbalances I mentioned above.
R9 5950x | Asrock B550M Steel Legend | 64Gb 3600Mhz | RTX 3090 FE
R3 2200G | ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX

Dell Latitude 7470 | QNAP @58Tb | Mikrotik routers/wifi
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 3995
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2023 at 4:13am
You can always try down-clocking (urr, normal-clocking) the RAM.
No need to disassemble anything, since it's just a BIOS setting.

*OFFICIALLY*, the max supported speed for 4 DIMMs is 2667MT/s, unless all 4 DIMMs are single-rank. Then, 2933MT/s is officially supported.

Most latest 16GB DIMMs are single-rank, because DRAM density has gone up over the years. If the vendor doesn't give you good spec, the rule of thumb is, if it has DRAM chips on both sizes, it's dual-rank. There should be 16 DRAM chips total (2Rx8), or 18 chips if ECC.

If DRAM chips are only on one side, it's likely single-rank (1Rx8).

Technically, 2Rx16 (8 DRAM chips, each at 16-bits wide) might be possible, but I've never seen such a monstrosity. 1Rx16 DIMMs are horrible for performance.
Back to Top
a13antichrist View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 May 2018
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Status: Offline
Points: 136
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote a13antichrist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Sep 2023 at 1:55am
I've been leaning towards a rebuilt but I have three fans on a tower CPU cooler and it was *really* a b*tch to get it all mounted so I'm trying to avoid a full disassembly heh.
4 DIMMs @3600 could be a problem you reckon? You know I did suspect memory initially.. just because an immediate power-off usually ties to memory fault. But the thing with the USB drive.. that *has* to be electrical.
The other thing is that, at least before my latest refresh (new OS), the main time it would hang is during high GPU load.. which correlates with high memory usage but also potentially the PSU, since the card is demanding at high power.
So many variables and no way to really test any of them. :/ Or is it possible to disable memory banks in BIOS.. don't recall see the option.

R9 5950x | Asrock B550M Steel Legend | 64Gb 3600Mhz | RTX 3090 FE
R3 2200G | ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 ITX

Dell Latitude 7470 | QNAP @58Tb | Mikrotik routers/wifi
Back to Top
eccential View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 10 Oct 2022
Location: Nevada
Status: Offline
Points: 3995
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote eccential Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Sep 2023 at 7:49am
I'm not aware of any known issues with the board. I have one and it's been perfectly reliable, like all my AsRock (and one AsRockRack) systems. I built 9 of them.

The one with the B550M Steel Legend is my most powerful system, with 5800X3D, 64GB, four SSDs (two NVMe, two SATA), and two BD-RW drives. My GPU is just a RX-6600. All powered by a Seasonic Fanless Prime PX-500.

One thing I noticed is your RAM setup. You have four DIMMs at 3600. That's probably kind of hard on the memory controller. I only have two DIMMs (32+32), and they're 100% JEDEC-spec 3200MT/s ECC sticks. JEDEC-spec, so 22-22-22 timing. LOL

If you suspect shorting somewhere, I'd remove everything and rebuild, after inspecting each component as I re-seat them. Watch out for motherboard stand that shouldn't be there and what not.

I've had PCIe devices not working due to dirty contacts, but they just don't work at all, rather than intermittent issues. A wipe with alcohol fixes them.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.