ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 970a g/3.1 hyperx 1866 ram
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

970a g/3.1 hyperx 1866 ram

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
WKjun View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Aug 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 56
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote WKjun Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 970a g/3.1 hyperx 1866 ram
    Posted: 14 Jul 2016 at 12:33am
You really are serious about that OC thing, Tader!? Tongue
 
Once more, there is practically no reason for OC'ing the CPU-NB (>2200MHz) or Hyper-Transport (>2400MHz). Especially on that board, where you reported a too hot VRM heatsink yourself some time ago. To test if it is a hardware fault, why don't you reset your BIOS to default? It is very likely that your 400MHz OC of the CPU-NB crashes the games.
 
And for the modules, to know which are compatible, it is simple. Just read the QVL (Qualified Vendor List) of each mainboard before you buy them.
PC1: FX-9590@def|290 |16GB@2133|Sabertooth 990FX R2.0
PC2: FX-8320@4.5|290 |16GB@2133| "
PC3: FX-9590@def|280X|16GB@2133| "
PC4: FX-9370@def|280X|16GB@2133| "
PC5: FX-6300@4.6|7950|16GB@1866|990FX-UD3
Back to Top
Tader View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2016
Location: Lithuania
Status: Offline
Points: 47
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tader Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 2016 at 11:33pm
i oced my northbridge to 2600mhz and 1.4v 1866 speed works, but couple games crashes is it ram fault? i tested memtest 10 hours no errors, memory HX316C10FWK2/16

Edited by Tader - 01 Jul 2016 at 11:36pm
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 2016 at 11:17pm
Originally posted by Tader Tader wrote:

is this ram compatible with this mb? i have 2 sticks 8gb kingston hyperx 1866 ram


Sorry but just Kingston HyperX 1866 memory is not enough information to give you an answer. There are many models of Kingston memory that is HyperX 1866.

We need the full model number to check. For example, this is one HyperX 1866 model number from your boards memory support list:

KHX16C9P1K2/16

http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/970A-G3.1/?cat=Memory

Any memory speed above 1333 is considered an over clock on this board, so cannot be guaranteed to work. If the memory is compatible, it will at least work at a lower speed.
Back to Top
Tader View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2016
Location: Lithuania
Status: Offline
Points: 47
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tader Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 2016 at 11:02pm
is this ram compatible with this mb? i have 2 sticks 8gb kingston hyperx 1866 ram
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.