ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - A620 w 7900 Need 5200 DRAM Profile Setting
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

A620 w 7900 Need 5200 DRAM Profile Setting

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
FiatDemise View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 125
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FiatDemise Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: A620 w 7900 Need 5200 DRAM Profile Setting
    Posted: 29 Feb 2024 at 6:30am
Hi, I updated my bios to latest non beta version 2.02. I am using this ram:

G.SKILL Flare X5 Series (AMD Expo) DDR5 RAM 32GB (2x16GB) 6000MT/s CL30-38-38-96 1.35V

I have found out that the max ram speed supported by my processor is 5200.
https://www.amd.com/en/products/apu/amd-ryzen-9-7900

In BIOS, I only see two DRAM Profile Settings, one for 4800, and 6000.

Is there something I can do to get a DRAM Profile Setting for 5200 to appear?
Back to Top
FiatDemise View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 125
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FiatDemise Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Feb 2024 at 10:40am
Forgot to mention I have the ASRock 620I LIGHTNING WIFI motherboard. Is there a way to edit your post on this forum?
Back to Top
Katana1074 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1310
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Katana1074 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Feb 2024 at 4:35pm
Hi There..

Amd state the maximum official speed supported is ddr5 5200mt, However the sweet spot for amd is ddr5 6000mt, just load the Amd expo profile for ddr5 6000mt...
CPU: RYZEN 7950x | Motherboard: ASROCK X670E TAICHI | GPU: MSI RTX4090 LIQUID X 24GB | RAM: FURY X DDR5 C40 | Hard Drive: INTEL OPTANE 900P 480GB,1 x SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB,2 X ADATA S8200X 2TB
Back to Top
FiatDemise View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 125
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FiatDemise Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Feb 2024 at 9:44pm
I tried that, but got worse performance. I suspect the 6000mt performance being worse than 4800mt performance was due to the 6000mt speed not being officially supported.

I use XMRig to mine Monero. With ram at 4800 and AGESA default settings, I get a hashrate of 10k-13k. At Expo 6000 AGESA default I get like 6k-11k. At Expo 6000 Aggressive I get like 5k-10k.
Back to Top
Katana1074 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1310
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Katana1074 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Mar 2024 at 3:48am
Hi there...

There's something else going on then you get less performance at 6000mt, have you set your infinity fabric speed ? start at UCLK:MEMCLK 1:1 and FCLK 2033....
CPU: RYZEN 7950x | Motherboard: ASROCK X670E TAICHI | GPU: MSI RTX4090 LIQUID X 24GB | RAM: FURY X DDR5 C40 | Hard Drive: INTEL OPTANE 900P 480GB,1 x SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB,2 X ADATA S8200X 2TB
Back to Top
FiatDemise View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 125
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FiatDemise Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Mar 2024 at 11:00am
Is there a way to upload an image in this forum? Would be much faster if I could share pictures of my bios settings.

Anyway, for UCLK DIV1 MODE I have UCLK = MEMCLK
and for Infinity Fabric Frequency I have 2000 MHz.

Is FCLK = Infinity Fabric Frequency? And I should try setting that to 2033?

Back to Top
FiatDemise View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 125
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FiatDemise Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Mar 2024 at 12:16pm
Tried the Infinity Fabric Frequency at 2033, with Expo 6000 Aggressive, got 6k-12k. That's an improvement, but still not as good as 4800 performance.
Back to Top
Katana1074 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1310
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Katana1074 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Mar 2024 at 4:41pm
Don't think you can upload pictures to the forum, If you change infinity fabric speeds, you will need to adjust your voltages, I would keep testing, but it can be very long winded, I run ddr5 6400mt, with 2133 fclk (it gives me the most consistent results)...
CPU: RYZEN 7950x | Motherboard: ASROCK X670E TAICHI | GPU: MSI RTX4090 LIQUID X 24GB | RAM: FURY X DDR5 C40 | Hard Drive: INTEL OPTANE 900P 480GB,1 x SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB,2 X ADATA S8200X 2TB
Back to Top
FiatDemise View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Feb 2024
Status: Offline
Points: 125
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote FiatDemise Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2024 at 10:03am
I got a suggestion to run a memory bandwidth test. I'm running Ubuntu, found this program called mbw.
https://unix.stackexchange.com/questions/32517/how-can-i-observe-memory-bandwidth

Running that showed much better results for 6000 vs 4800, values like 21k vs 17k. So, maybe I don't have a ram/mobo issue, but something more specific to xmrig.
Back to Top
Katana1074 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 31 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 1310
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Katana1074 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Mar 2024 at 7:18pm
Hi there...

It does seem pretty much specific to xmrig, maybe adjusting your config in xmrig would help, sorry I cant be of more help....
CPU: RYZEN 7950x | Motherboard: ASROCK X670E TAICHI | GPU: MSI RTX4090 LIQUID X 24GB | RAM: FURY X DDR5 C40 | Hard Drive: INTEL OPTANE 900P 480GB,1 x SAMSUNG 980 PRO 2TB,2 X ADATA S8200X 2TB
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.149 seconds.