ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AsRock Extreme3 VS Corsair memory
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

AsRock Extreme3 VS Corsair memory

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
RauweZeebonk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RauweZeebonk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AsRock Extreme3 VS Corsair memory
    Posted: 29 Jul 2016 at 5:41pm
Hi guys,

I am stuck.

I have a AsRock extreme3 mobo and i want to upgrade my memory.

My buddie gave me a set of corsair vengeance lp mem bank capacity 16gb.

However when i look on the site i dont see them in the vendor list for corsair supported memory Banks.

Will this mean i cant use them?

The code for the memory Banks is CML16GX3M2A1600C9.

Hope some1 can help me.

Thanks in advance!
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 2016 at 9:00pm
Originally posted by RauweZeebonk RauweZeebonk wrote:

Hi guys,

I am stuck.

I have a AsRock extreme3 mobo and i want to upgrade my memory.

My buddie gave me a set of corsair vengeance lp mem bank capacity 16gb.

However when i look on the site i dont see them in the vendor list for corsair supported memory Banks.

Will this mean i cant use them?


The code for the memory Banks is CML16GX3M2A1600C9.

Hope some1 can help me.

Thanks in advance!


I assume your board is an ASRock AMD processor board. There are eight ASRock AMD "Extreme3" board models.

Which one do you have?

Also, what processor are you using?

The Corsair memory, is it a 2 x 8GB kit?

This memory will work with some AMD systems, but we need more information.
Back to Top
RauweZeebonk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RauweZeebonk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jul 2016 at 11:05pm
Hello parsec!

Thanks for the reply.

I have a asrock 970 extreme3 amd am3+ socket board with the fx8350 cpu processor.

The banks are 2 x 8gb.

Hope this helps!

Thanks!
Back to Top
RauweZeebonk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RauweZeebonk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jul 2016 at 2:54am
Never mind i took a chance
....it worked
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jul 2016 at 5:22am
This particular 1600(9-9-9-24@1.5v) should've worked. Even if it's not on Corsairs own compatible list.
http://www.corsair.com/en-us/memory-finder

Can we assume that Corsair is what you referenced when you said "it worked"?
Back to Top
RauweZeebonk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Jul 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote RauweZeebonk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Jul 2016 at 11:06pm
Yeah thats what i meant indeed.

My baby is running fast and sweet again!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.188 seconds.