ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 4 gb available ram (3.46 usable)
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

4 gb available ram (3.46 usable)

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
asrocka58vg3r2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote asrocka58vg3r2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 4 gb available ram (3.46 usable)
    Posted: 24 Aug 2016 at 11:02pm
Is this normal? i look into the mem support list but theres no 4gb on crucial. is my ram size not supported by the mobo? and what does the memory module mean? do i need to get the exact module that is on the list? if yes, how can i identify those modules? for additional info about the mobo http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/FM2A58M-VG3+%20R2.0/?cat=Memory


os- win 7 64 bit
cpu- amd a6 6400k
mem- crucial ballistix 4 gb x1
mobo- asrock a58 fm2 vg3+ r2.0


Edited by asrocka58vg3r2 - 25 Aug 2016 at 6:38am
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 9793
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Aug 2016 at 11:52pm
This is due to the shared memory with the iGPU on the APU. It is perfectly normal.
Back to Top
asrocka58vg3r2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 19 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote asrocka58vg3r2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2016 at 6:39am
will it not decrease my pc's performance?
Back to Top
clubfoot View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Mar 2016
Location: Canada
Status: Offline
Points: 246
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote clubfoot Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Aug 2016 at 8:49am
Your motherboard is dual channel DDR3,...you should have a matching pair or dual channel kit of ram installed,... 8G would be nice as it would have enough for the APU and OS.

Either use ASRock's recommended memory list http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/FM2A58M-VG3+%20R2.0/?cat=Memory
Or if you like a particular manufacturer search for your motherboard on the memory page for a compatible dual channel kit.

os- win 7 64 bit
cpu- amd a6 6400k
mem- crucial ballistix 4 gb x1
mobo- asrock a58 fm2 vg3+ r2.0


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.