ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - EP2C602-4L/D16 problem
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

EP2C602-4L/D16 problem

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
augustin22ro View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Nov 2021
Location: Piatra Neamt
Status: Offline
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote augustin22ro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: EP2C602-4L/D16 problem
    Posted: 30 Nov 2021 at 1:11am
I found how to make a new topic. It is called "AsRock Rack EP2C602 no post".
Back to Top
augustin22ro View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Nov 2021
Location: Piatra Neamt
Status: Offline
Points: 80
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote augustin22ro Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2021 at 10:05pm
Hello. I'm posting here my problem because I was not able to find a solution for starting a new topic.
So here is my problem!
I bought a new motherboard from a friend of mine. It is a AsRock Rack ep2c602. He bought it a few years ago but never used it. I tried to test it with a cpu e5-4620 v1 and a 8gb dimm of ram on it. The mobo start for a few seconds than stops and after that it start again for a few seconds and so on. I talked with AsRock support service and they were very nice people. They send me a Rom chip and a bios chip. I changed both chips and there is no change. Hope I'll find a solution here. I also have a little video with the mobo behaviour. I could't find a solution to upload it here. So i used wetransfer. This is the video link:https://we.tl/t-JkCxnubpdi
Thanks in advance.
Augustin
Back to Top
JohnEnglish View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Feb 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnEnglish Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Feb 2017 at 11:30pm
Originally posted by AtticusLake AtticusLake wrote:

Hi, just to add my experience to this:

I built a system with the same MB, two HyperX FURY 8 GB DDR3 1866 MHz, and a Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX 750Ti 2GB PCI-E GPU (just to get an HDMI port).

When I powered the system up, I got nothing at all except a green LED on the MB just below the power connector, and another flashing by the PCI slots -- no fans, nothing on either video out.

Removing the GPU made the MB power up normally, and I was able to run it via the VGA output.  I tried this several times while messing with the PCI settings in BIOS (e.g. changing the PCI version to 3, and back to 2), and it was totally consistent -- GPU in, dead as a doornail; GPU out, worked fine.

I rushed out to PC World and got an Asus GT710 GPU, and it works fine.  So I guess this MB isn't compatible with some GPUs.  Ouch.

My next problem was random crash / reboots, which was apparently due to Windows 10 -- it seems it's not compatible.  I'm now running Linux which is fine.  I've heard Windows 7 works fine too.

All the best!
I just want to say thank you for this post. I have been struggling to try and figure out why my computer wouldn't boot. I could get it to boot with one CPU but not two. And when it did boot on one CPU it took a long time. After reading this post I took out my Gigabyte GT740 card and it booted up perfectly and very quickly. Looks like I'll be swapping the Gigabyte card out for the Asus GT710 too.
Back to Top
AtticusLake View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Nov 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AtticusLake Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Nov 2016 at 6:05pm
Hi, just to add my experience to this:

I built a system with the same MB, two HyperX FURY 8 GB DDR3 1866 MHz, and a Gigabyte NVIDIA GTX 750Ti 2GB PCI-E GPU (just to get an HDMI port).

When I powered the system up, I got nothing at all except a green LED on the MB just below the power connector, and another flashing by the PCI slots -- no fans, nothing on either video out.

Removing the GPU made the MB power up normally, and I was able to run it via the VGA output.  I tried this several times while messing with the PCI settings in BIOS (e.g. changing the PCI version to 3, and back to 2), and it was totally consistent -- GPU in, dead as a doornail; GPU out, worked fine.

I rushed out to PC World and got an Asus GT710 GPU, and it works fine.  So I guess this MB isn't compatible with some GPUs.  Ouch.

My next problem was random crash / reboots, which was apparently due to Windows 10 -- it seems it's not compatible.  I'm now running Linux which is fine.  I've heard Windows 7 works fine too.

All the best!
Back to Top
jannekalle View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Sep 2016
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jannekalle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Sep 2016 at 3:45am
Now I have my build running 2xgtx980ti and 64GB RAM and it's smooooooth ;)

Thanks again to all of you!!!

You guys rock!!!
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Sep 2016 at 10:15pm
Originally posted by jannekalle jannekalle wrote:

My build won't start to BIOS (no video).
I've tried with two types of memory and monitor is plugged to the VGA output of Mobo... 

Here's a link to Dr. Debug https://youtu.be/onykSkCwdPg

I've got nothing connected besides 2 x CPU (Xeon-e5 2670 v1).

Could it be the Mobo or the PSU or have I just forgotten something important?! CryTongue


Thanks in advance!


EP2C602-4L/D16

2 x XEON e5 2670v1
Corsair RM1000x (PSU)
 



NM the two SLI'd GTX 980ti's LOLWink

Us Mods must get better at asking for system specs at time of troubleshooting/diagnosing.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Sep 2016 at 10:09pm
Note to self: Always troubleshoot with the bare minimum installed. Smile
Back to Top
jannekalle View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Sep 2016
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jannekalle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Sep 2016 at 9:00pm
Yes. Everything seems to be working perfectly now.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 14268
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Sep 2016 at 5:53pm
So one of the GPUs is dead?

So the system works with the other GPU installed?
Back to Top
jannekalle View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 24 Sep 2016
Location: Finland
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jannekalle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Sep 2016 at 4:30pm
Hi!
This sounds pretty weird but here's what happened.
I took my PC to service, the guy tried to get it work (no video thru onboard VGA)... When he was about give up he installed a graphics card (not mine) to a PCI-E slot he got POST.

I got home and installed my graphics cards (2xgtx980ti). The machine started to cry again.
Seems like the other GPU is broken. I don't know if it can affect the Mobo but when I only install that GPU and boot I hear bunch of beeps from the motherboard.

Booting after that using only onboard VGA nothing happens just error codes.

With the other GPU everything worked fine.

I hope you understood something that I wrote :D This case ws so weird. And we did not even touch the Memory (Kingston).

Thanks again guys for your help!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.112 seconds.