ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z170 Extreme6+ 6700K Hyper Threading OC

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote EdOz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z170 Extreme6+ 6700K Hyper Threading OC
    Posted: 23 Oct 2016 at 8:23pm
I'm new to OC'ing and I have been playing around with the options on the UEFI to ensure I get it setup according to my needs. 

I do quite a bit of gaming but I also do some video editing on the side. I bumped the CPU to 4.4 (won't post up at 4.6 since I got the new BIOS for some reason but that's another issue altogether I think) and noticed that once I did that, the UEFI no longer gives me the option to enable "Multi Core Enhancement", in fact the whole thing disappears. 

Now, because I couldn't find any mention of it anywhere, I'm assuming 'Multi Core Enhancement' is another name for Hyper Threading, is that right? Also, since it disappears when I use even their stock OC option, does this meant Hyper Threading is ALWAYS on or NEVER ON? 

I'm seriously hoping it is not a case of either OC or HT as that would really suck... Hope Intel didn't that to what it is supposed to be it's top of the line Skylake CPU!

If anyone can shed some light on this I would really appreciate!
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Oct 2016 at 10:03pm