ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 970A-G/3.1 - M.2 in BIOS?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

970A-G/3.1 - M.2 in BIOS?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Silver_Skeeter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Silver_Skeeter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 970A-G/3.1 - M.2 in BIOS?
    Posted: 10 Dec 2016 at 9:57pm
Hey there.

So I installed a M.2 SSD to the Motherboard but I just can't find it in the BIOS.
I thought the M.2 slot would be listed under Advanced > Storage Configuration where
all the SATA slots are listed as well but it isn't.
I have nothing in the PCIE4 slot either so that shouldn't be the problem.

Thanks in advance.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Dec 2016 at 10:33pm
Originally posted by Silver_Skeeter Silver_Skeeter wrote:

Hey there.

So I installed a M.2 SSD to the Motherboard but I just can't find it in the BIOS.
I thought the M.2 slot would be listed under Advanced > Storage Configuration where
all the SATA slots are listed as well but it isn't.
I have nothing in the PCIE4 slot either so that shouldn't be the problem.

Thanks in advance.


That's normal. You don't see an entry in Storage Configuration for the M.2 slot, correct? The SATA ports are all listed, if they are being used or not.

While ASRock was able to add a functional M.2 slot to your board, the 970 chipset was designed before PCIe M.2 SSDs existed. Only the latest Intel chipset boards are able to include an M.2 slot entry in the Storage Configuration screen.

Some ASRock boards with M.2 slots have an entry in the Advanced screen, called NVMe Configuration. That is where NVMe PCIe SSDs are listed. I don't see that screen shown in your board's manual.

In the UEFI/BIOS, Tools screen, run the System Browser feature. Move the mouse pointer over the M.2 slot area, and your M.2 SSD should be shown.

Which M.2 SSD are you using? There are a few SATA M.2 SSDs, but they are not compatible with your board. Only PCIe M.2 SSDs are compatible.
Back to Top
Torakk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Nov 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 55
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Torakk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2016 at 12:48am
Having a sorta similar issue tho upon first booting up I went to disk management and it was there wanting to be setup so I did so, all seemed fine loaded a game onto it no problems , started up and ran said game with no issue, Shutdown comp for the nite ....next morning the drive is just gone, looked in system browser in uefi and slot says empty........it maybe the drive itself but not sure, I say that cuz I had installed the same drive into my 990fx xt6 via a pcie AiC and a similar thing happened tho in that case I never *setup* the drive in disk management, but it too was gone after a shutdown.
This setup is
FX8320 / 970A-G3.1
2x 8g pny 1866 ddr3
evga gtx 1070 sc
corsair cx750m
the drive in question is the ocz rd400
970A-G/3.1 FX8320e EVGA GTX1070SC 2x8g pny 1866 ddr3 Corsair CX750M Carbide series spec01
R7 1700x, X370 Taichi, EVGA GTX 1070 Hybrid,16g Corair 3200 vengeance LPX , Corsair 750w psu , TT view 27
Back to Top
TrojanWarrior54 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TrojanWarrior54 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2018 at 9:19am
I recently purchased a 128 gb adata su800 ssd for my gaming computer to put a large game on that I want to run fast. My computer is a new build (link here https://pcpartpicker.com/user/TrojanWarrior54/saved/xr3f7P). So far everything has been working great except for the ssd. Until finding this forum I could find very little information on m.2 ssds let alone for an asrock board. Through a process of about 50 googles I stumbled upon this forum and the problem was exactly the same as mine. This being said once I located the area in the bios that showed whether or not the slot was occupied it said that it was not. I am a first time pc builder and shortly after posting this I will probably take out the ssd and try to reinstall it but in case that doesn't work I am open to more suggestions. Thanks all and even if you can't help me the previous posts have already helped alot.

**After unplugging my computer, removing the graphics card (for accessibility), and then removing the ssd I checked that it's orientation was correct and then reinstalled it. After booting again the bios and windows both still do not recognize the ssd.

Edited by TrojanWarrior54 - 24 Jan 2018 at 9:37am
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2018 at 9:35am
TrojanWarrior54, please open a new thread and post your specifications in your signature as I have.  Without looking at PICKER, I am suspicious of your power supply.  When I see what all you have I will suggest, but in general the PICKER recommends too weak power supplies and older models without the proper cables.  Please tell us what socket you have plugged the SSD into and where your other drives are plugged.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
TrojanWarrior54 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Jan 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TrojanWarrior54 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jan 2018 at 9:56am
My appologies I am also new to forums. I've recently taken an interest in the tech industries and have stsrted exploring but that is beside the point. I have done what you suggested and moved my questions to here http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=7418&PID=43788ꬌ thanks for the help
FX-8350 4.0GHz, ASRock 970A-G/3.1, Ripjaws 8GB (1 x 8GB) DDR3-1866, ADATA SU800 128GB M.2-2280 Ssd, Toshiba P300 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Hdd, PowerColor Radeon RX 550 2GB, and Corsair CX (2017) 550W Psu
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.109 seconds.