ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Vengeance LPX compatible with Z270 Pro 4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Vengeance LPX compatible with Z270 Pro 4

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
polo567 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Mar 2017
Location: Russia, Moscow
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote polo567 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Mar 2017 at 7:32am
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:


In the DRAM Configuration screen, don't select the XMP profile. Instead, use the DRAM Tweaker feature on that screen. Just check every item in the 3200 list, including voltage. Then Save and Exit the UEFI/BIOS and see if it completes POST.

I have the same motherboard, but my memory CMK16GX4M2B3000.
I had the same problems with pass POST.
And this is the only solution that helped me!!!
VCCIO - Auto
VCCSA - Auto



Edited by polo567 - 25 Mar 2017 at 7:40am
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Mar 2017 at 12:08pm
Originally posted by Dustbag1969 Dustbag1969 wrote:

Hi All,
 
Tried two sticks in Single channel - Didn't work
Tried one stick in single channel - Didn't work
Tried DRAM Tweaker in UEFI and ticked all of the options for XMP 3200Mhz and clicked Apply not being very optimistic of success - System booted up Smile
 
Thank you Parsec for your suggestion as I was convinced this wouldn't work but very very happy to be proven wrong.
 
This is the 2nd set of memory I have tried on this new motherboard and I realise now that the first set was probably OK if I had done the same as I have done today.
 
Hopefully I finally have a stable system
 
Thanks again for excellent support on this forum Clap
 
 


Sorry, but I just noticed this post. Great, I'm glad that worked for you! Oh, ye of little faith... Wink

As I said, I've done that method myself, and it worked. The little secret about XMP is that using it can set things in the UEFI/BIOS that we don't notice, or cannot see at all.

The XMP profile might set something in the Secondary memory setting, down on the second or third page of the endless memory parameters. That does not happen using DRAM Tweaker, it just does the most basic timings from the XMP profile.

There are many unknown to us settings in the UEFI/BIOS, behind the scenes. Using the XMP profile can cause the UEFI to change some of those things. That again does not happen with DRAM Tweaker.

If you have more problems, please let us know.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Mar 2017 at 12:17pm
Originally posted by polo567 polo567 wrote:

Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:


In the DRAM Configuration screen, don't select the XMP profile. Instead, use the DRAM Tweaker feature on that screen. Just check every item in the 3200 list, including voltage. Then Save and Exit the UEFI/BIOS and see if it completes POST.

I have the same motherboard, but my memory CMK16GX4M2B3000.
I had the same problems with pass POST.
And this is the only solution that helped me!!!
VCCIO - Auto
VCCSA - Auto



Can you see what the VCCIO and VCCSA voltages are set to in the H/W Monitoring screen, when those settings are on Auto?

Auto for those setting is really standard, were they set to something else if you used the XMP profile, for example?

You said the only solution was using the Auto option for VCCIO and VCCSA, which implies to me that they were set to something else. Each to a specific voltage? That is the only other possibility.

I have found that the Auto setting for VCCIO and VCCSA results in voltages that are much higher than necessary. I've been always able to reduce both of those voltages from the value resulting from using Auto. That is with G.SKILL TridentZ memory, at 3200 and 3600.
Back to Top
polo567 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Mar 2017
Location: Russia, Moscow
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote polo567 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Mar 2017 at 7:40pm
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

Originally posted by polo567 polo567 wrote:

Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:


In the DRAM Configuration screen, don't select the XMP profile. Instead, use the DRAM Tweaker feature on that screen. Just check every item in the 3200 list, including voltage. Then Save and Exit the UEFI/BIOS and see if it completes POST.

I have the same motherboard, but my memory CMK16GX4M2B3000.
I had the same problems with pass POST.
And this is the only solution that helped me!!!
VCCIO - Auto
VCCSA - Auto



Can you see what the VCCIO and VCCSA voltages are set to in the H/W Monitoring screen, when those settings are on Auto?

Auto for those setting is really standard, were they set to something else if you used the XMP profile, for example?

You said the only solution was using the Auto option for VCCIO and VCCSA, which implies to me that they were set to something else. Each to a specific voltage? That is the only other possibility.

I have found that the Auto setting for VCCIO and VCCSA results in voltages that are much higher than necessary. I've been always able to reduce both of those voltages from the value resulting from using Auto. That is with G.SKILL TridentZ memory, at 3200 and 3600.

Probably I did not correctly speak,
Your solution to the problem has helped, with changing the parameters of RAM through the menu DRAM Tweaker.  Apply the settings for XMP via this menu. Not using profile 1 XMP.
Sorry for my english.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.