ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 SLI Killer - System doesnt see one ram stick
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 SLI Killer - System doesnt see one ram stick

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 SLI Killer - System doesnt see one ram stick
    Posted: 10 Apr 2017 at 1:02am
You're in one of Ryzens Mhz holes at 3000. That's why the BIOS automatically downclocks it to 2933. It states as much in the manual and on this MB's product pages.

This DOES NOT explain your system only seeing 1 stick and in your last post you seem to be ignoring this. Again, with experience, if one single slot is acting up regardless of what stick you put in it that usually signifies a bent pin(s). It happens to the best of us. I'm known on rare occasion to still do it. It happens, and is easy to do.

You need to pull the processor. As I said it may be a pin issue, or, and this is just as believable, and much cheaper, the processor just needs re-seated.

But either on of those two is more believable that a defective mem slot.






Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2017 at 11:54pm
Originally posted by fiolin.fiolin fiolin.fiolin wrote:


Thats for real...? I have never heard that one ram slo not working properly could be due to one CPU pins being bend...?
Where did you get this...?

(also i was carefull to seat the CPU, even before seating gave the empty socket (and also the pins below the CPU) an air blow (by mouth) to make sure nothing was stuck there that could interfere with the connection...). But i cannot believe that even if one pin was bend that it could behave like this...? There would have to be some more special problems... not just one RAM slot possibly not working...? And everyhing else seems to work ok,


Every pin on a CPU has a purpose. IF one of the main memory data signal pins on the CPU for a memory slot was damaged or not connected, the memory stick cannot communicate with the memory controller perfectly. If all the connections between the CPU's memory controller and a memory slot are not perfect, how can it work right? That is just basic electronics for complicated things like a PC.

Can you cut one wire somewhere in a car, and the car won't start? Of course.

The idea of a bent pin on the CPU is just another reason why the memory slot MIGHT not be working. We don't know if that is the problem, just an example of what can happen. It is a real problem that has existed since the very first PCs. Search with Google on "bent CPU pins", I did and got 184,000 results.

A bent CPU pin does not mean the memory slot does not work. It would mean the connection between the memory controller and the memory stick is not perfect, so the memory stick cannot work as it normally would.

The way PC memory works is very complicated, and is affected by the memory chips on the memory sticks. The memory controller in a CPU has specifications about the memory chips it can work with. If the memory chip design does not match the specs of the memory controller, they cannot work together. No BIOS update can fix that hardware compatibility situation.

Why are there certain memory speeds like 2133, 2400, 2666, or 3000? Why not any number or speed? That is caused by very complicated things in the architecture of a CPU, that most of us do not understand.
Back to Top
fiolin.fiolin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fiolin.fiolin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2017 at 6:14pm
ok thank you...

Now regarding if i will be able to run my memory on its full potential (2933 MHz), my question:


But most memory modules, WILL work in future, just needing a bios update... There is nothing hardware wise or anything else, that is not fixable with bios (or other "software") updates... Correct?

Or is there a possibility that even countless updates in the future there will be a lot RAMs that wont work at ryzen (or wont work with ryzen on their native (higher) frequencies...?)

I have been told that bios updates should solve 95% of the issues... i just need to wait... correct?

Im asking because im still in the return date policy. In my country i have 14 days to return withotu reason goods bought over internet (which i did with this ram)...

Is there a big chance that it will NEVER be compatible with ryzen on its 2933 MHz? Should i return it...? (if yes, what to buy instead (cheap))?

Thank you
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2017 at 1:57pm
Originally posted by fiolin.fiolin fiolin.fiolin wrote:

Thats for real...? I have never heard that one ram slo not working properly could be due to one CPU pins being bend...?
Where did you get this...?


Yes. That's for real.


30+ years working with AMDs is where my knowledge and advice comes from. 17yrs owning my own computer shop doesn't come w/o seeing just about everything AMD can throw at me  Wink


Thanks Xaltar. After reading that post I quoted here all I will say is you went further than I planned on.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22238
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2017 at 5:23am
The memory controller (IMC) is located on the CPU die these days so yes, a bent pin can prevent slots from working or cause dual channel not to work etc. I have seen it numerous times, this isn't a guess, its a fact.

It may not be the case in your situation but it is certainly something worth ruling out. With intel CPUs bent pins are one of the most common causes of memory banks not working correctly/at all. AMD may be a little different but the IMC is still located on the CPU die so it is therefore still susceptible to the same issue.  

Before you lay blame on the physical memory slots you need to rule out a defective CPU, bent pins or improper seating of the CPU. The last thing you want is to return the wrong part and end up with the same issue.
Back to Top
fiolin.fiolin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fiolin.fiolin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2017 at 5:08am
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Originally posted by fiolin.fiolin fiolin.fiolin wrote:

My worry is now about the first ram slot (nearest the CPU) being broken/corrupted... What are the chances...?

snip

1) Now im worried the first slot if simply defective... What are the possibilities?


The possibilities are greater that you have a bent or missing pin on your processor.

Time to pull the processor, get a magnifying glass and light source, and inspect the pins.

The upside to doing that is sometimes, sometimes, the simple act of re-seating a good processor allows for one or more(?) of the pins that weren't making proper contact to do so and run fine afterwards.






Thats for real...? I have never heard that one ram slo not working properly could be due to one CPU pins being bend...?
Where did you get this...?

(also i was carefull to seat the CPU, even before seating gave the empty socket (and also the pins below the CPU) an air blow (by mouth) to make sure nothing was stuck there that could interfere with the connection...). But i cannot believe that even if one pin was bend that it could behave like this...? There would have to be some more special problems... not just one RAM slot possibly not working...? And everyhing else seems to work ok,
Back to Top
fiolin.fiolin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fiolin.fiolin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Apr 2017 at 5:04am

But most memory modules, WILL work in future, just needing a bios update... There is nothing hardware wise or anything else, that is not fixable with bios (or other "software") updates... Correct?

Or is there a possibility that even countless updates in the future there will be a lot RAMs that wont work at ryzen (or wont work with ryzen on their native (higher) frequencies...?)

I have been told that bios updates should solve 95% of the issues... i just need to wait... correct?
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2017 at 11:35pm
Originally posted by fiolin.fiolin fiolin.fiolin wrote:

My worry is now about the first ram slot (nearest the CPU) being broken/corrupted... What are the chances...?

snip

1) Now im worried the first slot if simply defective... What are the possibilities?


The possibilities are greater that you have a bent or missing pin on your processor.

Time to pull the processor, get a magnifying glass and light source, and inspect the pins.

The upside to doing that is sometimes, sometimes, the simple act of re-seating a good processor allows for one or more(?) of the pins that weren't making proper contact to do so and run fine afterwards.




Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2017 at 10:52pm
First, your Corsair memory, which as we can see on the Amazon page you posted, is designed for Intel X99 and 100 series chipset boards. That information is from Corsair.

Corsair would like us to believe that all of their DDR4 memory models are compatible with Ryzen systems, but as we know now, it's not that simple, or true.

The XMP profiles in your memory, designed for the memory controllers in Intel processors, don't work with the Ryzen memory controller. The Ryzen memory controller is different than Intel's. For example, Ryzen does not support a memory speed of 3000 and 3400. DDR4 3000 memory must be set manually to 2933.

Ryzen's memory controller, at any speed above 2133, needs a Command Rate (CR) of 1. I have used DDR4 memory with my X99, Z170, H110, and Z270 Intel systems, and all of the XMP profiles or default JEDEC SPD data has the CR set to 2.

Your board has the single locking latch style memory slots, which are more tricky to get the memory fully seated in the slot. The only way we could know if the memory was seated correctly is if we could see the board ourselves. So impossible for us to know if the A1 slot is bad, I would say it is not bad.

The default speed of your DDR4 memory is 2133, so it is normal for it to run at that speed until you set it to its higher speed. But as I said, you cannot use the XMP profile to do that, since it won't have the correct settings for a Ryzen system.

You plan on buying another set of that memory in two or more years? That means using two sets of unmatched memory together. Good luck with that, there are reasons why memory is sold in matched sets. Don't be surprised if they don't work together. Also, the greater the amount of memory being used, the more difficult it is to have it running at a higher speed. Check any board's memory support list for examples of that.

The Ryzen platform is still very new, and updates from AMD for memory compatibility are still being provided by AMD. Memory compatibility is the biggest issue Ryzen has now, and even DDR4 memory that was designed for Ryzen do not work perfectly yet.
Back to Top
fiolin.fiolin View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fiolin.fiolin Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2017 at 10:02pm
So i moved the mem to A2+B2 and it STILL saw only 1 memory stick...
THen i tried to move the memory to B1+B2 and voila... it saw both memory but was still single channel displayed (yeah wrong slots, but at least it saw both).. then  itried a lot of combination with only 1 stick at a time... (putting different piece of 1 ram to different slot) and it saw it ok... Then again after a longer time i tried toi put both ram sticks at one time (A2+B2) and voila... it worked... saw all two ram dimms (sticks) and correctly displayes mutlichannel...

Now the question is... did i for the first time (A1+B1) and for the second time (A2+B2) just by accident didnt push both rams down enough...? I would argue that for the first time they simply had to bee correctly placed since i pushed them down with enough force and then visualy controlled that they have the same height (e.g. are both pushed in fully), this was even before installing my large CPU cooler...

So it works now correctly... (still both are recognized only as 2133 MHz altough both are 3000 MHz, but i will play with that later)....

My worry is now about the first ram slot (nearest the CPU) being broken/corrupted... What are the chances...? I will be buying in the next 2-3 years deffinitelly more ram (additional 2*16 GB ram sticks) so i will need ALL my RAM slots being fully operational...

1) Now im worried the first slot if simply defective... What are the possibilities?

2) In the future in 2-3 years, will i be able to fuly run all 4 sticks of ram on their native frequencies? (3000 MHz)?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.