ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Taichi - self bricked
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Topic ClosedX370 Taichi - self bricked

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2017 at 10:09am
Originally posted by vpz vpz wrote:

Okay.

With this Ryzen build I opted for AsRock instead of asus, that's the first time in a looong time I switch mb brands. 

Had the board running bios 2.20, so far so good, I was really enjying my system stability and memory at 3000MHz. 
Today I went to start my computer, connected the psu to the wall, hit the power button. The q-code reader cycled normally to q-code 99 but then the board self restarted. Okay, not the first time this board has pulled that. It went trough some q-codes again but then got stuck at q-code E4, and it could never get past it again.

So far I have tried:

- clear CMOS - No go
- clear CMOS, removing all ram sticks - No go
- clear CMOS, getting another brand of ram at slot A2 - No go
- Tried to find something that could help me in the manual - No go
- clear CMOS, remove battery, disconnecting EVERYTHING, GPu, PSU, RAM CPU, Pswitches, getting the board naked of any other components the same as it came to me and let it sitting with clear CMOS jumper in the clear position - No go
- Gettinghaving a USB stick fat 32 formatted with the bios file inside and connected to the boards USB port - No go


Then I tried to find on the internet on how to recover a bricked bios on this $ 200 AsRock made board...

My question is really simple:

There are any ways to recover this board from a bios that won't post ??? 




Did you ever see a different POST code besides E4 while trying to diagnose it?

The board won't POST without memory installed, just FYI.

The only thing I don't think you tried is a different PSU. I know it's a lot of work swapping the PSU, and I'm not suggesting you buy one if you don't have another to try.

Otherwise, it sounds like you have done everything possible to recover from whatever happened to your board. You seem to think it's a corrupted UEFI/BIOS, but a component failure on the board can easily cause a POST test to fail.

If you cannot return that board to your retailer, you can start the RMA process here:

http://www.asrock.com/support/index.asp?cat=RMA

Asus had some self-bricking AM4 board problems too? I know MSI had at least one BIOS version that was known to do that. Your post I believe is the first one I've seen in the forum about an X370 Taichi board having this problem.
Back to Top
vpz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2017 at 3:12pm
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

First, don't be plugging and unplugging the computer. That is very harmful to all electronics. Doing what you are doing now creates an unneeded surge(inrush) of electricity into and through your entire system. Possibly killing components each time. Certainly shortening their life spans/MTBF

Read this to learn why NOT to unplug from the wall - http://sound.whsites.net/articles/inrush.htm

Todays MBs are very very light in electrical usage when powered down via the OS and restarted via the cases power switch.



Secondly, try the below and post back the results please:
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=630&title=how-to-clear-cmos-via-battery-removal

Yes, because you came here saying hey, don't do this and don't do that but then the first thing the link you pointed is telling me to:

"Below I will outline a foolproof method to achieve a full CMOS clear.

1. Disconnect the system's power from the wall"Clap

I have an enermax Maxrevo 1500W PSU that happens to have a power switch button. Also if that's what you mean, I am not going to turn my computers off by pulling the power cord.LOL

My question is really simple, and requires a answer that is at best case 3 words short: 
Does this motherboard has ANY bios recovery features ?










[/QUOTE]


Edited by vpz - 16 May 2017 at 1:57am
Back to Top
vpz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2017 at 3:22pm
The q-code post goes trough all the checkings codes related to CPU and memory but I got stuck at E4. Yes, I have memory installed.Cool
Yes, I have tried a different PSU, Ram, GPU. Now the only thing I am missing of replacing is the CPU but still, it is not like I was doing dumb stuff, I have been here since the Slot A Athlons and you won't catch me trying to prove that latency > Frequency on Ryzen and DDR4 LOL


This board uses AMI Aptio V, by their status codes E4 is listed inside the "S3 Resume Progress" table of codes. 

Two posts before yours a guy related having the same problem. He also related that he fixed it by doing the steps I have already tried.

Anyways, I have the board resting without the battery with the jumper in clear cmos, striped of any everything for more than a day now. I will give it one last try and get back to you guys.


Edited by vpz - 11 May 2017 at 3:36pm
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2017 at 7:03pm
Originally posted by vpz vpz wrote:

Today I went to start my computer, connected the psu to the wall, hit the power button.


I type out all that concerning inrush and you somehow turn it around into a berating towards me. Then you take a poke at an old Sticky I wrote. Huh........

My answer is simple and two words, RMA it.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2017 at 7:04pm
Where do you send them off for RMA in your area?
Back to Top
Kevin A View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 May 2017
Location: East Coast USA
Status: Offline
Points: 94
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2017 at 7:25pm
[QUOTE=vpz]

My question is really simple, and requires a answer?that is at best case 3 words short:?
Does this motherboard has ANY bios recovery features ?




Hi vpz, you've appear to have covered more than just the 'basics' with your Taichi.

Also, numerous reviewers of the X370 Taichi & Fatality X370 Professional Gaming have all commented on being 'disappointed' that their isn't a 'Dual Bios' implementation on such 'premium' X370 boards. Disappointed as it would assist a user to recover from a corrupted/failed Bios or to at least assist in troubleshooting.

You mentioned you had "been around since the slot Athlon days", you may have had many electronic items and recognize the fact: they fail in the first 90 days... or last years until failure. Perhaps that is what has happened.

So, there is not any way to 'recover' from a corrupted/failed bios by accessing a secondary/backup bios as there is none. If all the efforts you have tried and that others have suggested(various CMOS clearing/flashing via F2 here: http://www.asrock.com/support/BIOSUI.asp?cat=DOS4 ...) then it may be an RMA or return to retailer(or e-tailer).
Back to Top
vpz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 May 2017 at 8:03pm
Really a shame, I was enjoying the board's virtues, the only thing missing is the dual bios or the likes of asus flashback. The AMI Aptio V allows for that kind of recovery with a corrupted bios, no dual bios needed, no bios post required, asus provides that by the name of flashback. You would just get the bios inside a USB stick, press a button for a few seconds and voilá, rom is good to go again.
Well, I have ordered another motherboard. Let it be.Thumbs Down


Edited by vpz - 11 May 2017 at 8:56pm
Back to Top
vpz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 2:17am
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

Originally posted by vpz vpz wrote:

Okay.

With this Ryzen build I opted for AsRock instead of asus, that's the first time in a looong time I switch mb brands. 

Had the board running bios 2.20, so far so good, I was really enjying my system stability and memory at 3000MHz. 
Today I went to start my computer, connected the psu to the wall, hit the power button. The q-code reader cycled normally to q-code 99 but then the board self restarted. Okay, not the first time this board has pulled that. It went trough some q-codes again but then got stuck at q-code E4, and it could never get past it again.

So far I have tried:

- clear CMOS - No go
- clear CMOS, removing all ram sticks - No go
- clear CMOS, getting another brand of ram at slot A2 - No go
- Tried to find something that could help me in the manual - No go
- clear CMOS, remove battery, disconnecting EVERYTHING, GPu, PSU, RAM CPU, Pswitches, getting the board naked of any other components the same as it came to me and let it sitting with clear CMOS jumper in the clear position - No go
- Gettinghaving a USB stick fat 32 formatted with the bios file inside and connected to the boards USB port - No go


Then I tried to find on the internet on how to recover a bricked bios on this $ 200 AsRock made board...

My question is really simple:

There are any ways to recover this board from a bios that won't post ??? 




Did you ever see a different POST code besides E4 while trying to diagnose it?

The board won't POST without memory installed, just FYI.

The only thing I don't think you tried is a different PSU. I know it's a lot of work swapping the PSU, and I'm not suggesting you buy one if you don't have another to try.

Otherwise, it sounds like you have done everything possible to recover from whatever happened to your board. You seem to think it's a corrupted UEFI/BIOS, but a component failure on the board can easily cause a POST test to fail.

If you cannot return that board to your retailer, you can start the RMA process here:

http://www.asrock.com/support/index.asp?cat=RMA

Asus had some self-bricking AM4 board problems too? I know MSI had at least one BIOS version that was known to do that. Your post I believe is the first one I've seen in the forum about an X370 Taichi board having this problem.

Yes, I had memory on board when I tried to boot again, also the PSU was connected too...Oh well, crasheless bios feature is within the specs of this mobo but then;

I tried to find info for the Crashless feature on manual- No go
Asked for directions here - No go
Looked at the web and there is nothing but the copy and paste crap stating that you must have the USB stick connected to a USB 2.0 port. Figures...-No go

If you click the DOS bios update info, you can clearly see that hte article is dating back to the windows millenium era... LOLED
http://www.asrock.com/support/BIOSIG.asp?cat=DOS8
Back to Top
vpz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 10 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 8:50am
An update on my case.

The board will self brick with BIOS 2.20 if:

- You have SMT OFF
- S3 States enabled

Do not get these mixed or you will need to deal with their REALLY BAD CUSTOMER SUPPORT, or here, dealing with the likes of wardog.

Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 May 2017 at 10:19am
Originally posted by vpz vpz wrote:

An update on my case.

The board will self brick with BIOS 2.20 if:

- You have SMT OFF
- S3 States enabled

Do not get these mixed or you will need to deal with their REALLY BAD CUSTOMER SUPPORT, or here, dealing with the likes of wardog.



vpz, I don't know what crawled up your shorts but I'll wake up tomorrow or sooner and decide if you get Banned or not for your continued unnecessary and unwelcome attitude.

So this may be your first / only / last warning.



Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.234 seconds.