ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - x370 taichi WiFi issue
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

x370 taichi WiFi issue

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 225
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: x370 taichi WiFi issue
    Posted: 13 Jul 2017 at 5:01am
wardog,

My son shamed me into testing more Wi-Fi alternatives here is the latest:

Moved the Taichi system to my work bench right under the Hawking Access Point - ~35' from TP-Link 1200 Router.

The system detected the Hawking and only the Hawking! The 5GHz band connection went away.

Tried to connect to the 2.4GHz band and Windows went through all the motions and then said it could not connect!

Moved the system back to the table next to the TP-Link 1200.

The system detected the 2.4GHz and 5Ghz bands.

Connected OK again to the 5GHz band.

"Forgot" the 5GHz band and tried to connect to the 2.4GHz band.

Windows went through all the motions and then said it could not connect!!

Based on the comments made on Amazon by someone who had the Intel 3160 Wi-Fi Adapter in his Laptop it looks like he was right saying the Adapter is very weak.

A little more information - by some unknown magic I turned on the system and there was a very weak 2.4GHz connection! The icon showing signal strength was minimal - one or two bars. I shut the system down and turned the case around so that Wi-Fi Antenna(s) is facing toward the Wi-Fi Router and now the signal strength jumps between 2 bars and full strength. I don't know if the variation has something to do with the Router Radio or the Wi-Fi Adapter on the M/B. The distance between the Router and the Intel Wi-Fi Antenna(s) is not more that 10 feet. I cleared the Windows Log files so that I could see exactly what errors were being generated when I booted and connected to the 2.4GHz band. No errors were generated! So...it appears the Wi-Fi Adapter on "MY" Taichi M/B works but has severe limitations.

I changed the positioning of the Antenna(s) on the Taichi case so they are pointing out away from the case at a 45 degree angle. Now it gets full strength all the time as long as the Antenna(s) are facing the Router. Turned the case around and the signal was back to 1 or 2 bars!      

Edited by Ken429 - 13 Jul 2017 at 5:43pm
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2017 at 7:18pm
Originally posted by Ken429 Ken429 wrote:

[URL=][/URL]I guess you guys gave up on my Taichi Wi-Fi issue.

However, wardog you were correct!


I hadn't "give up' per se. Only that I had run out of ideas and or suggestions to offer for help.

Congrats on the working now, and greater range.
Back to Top
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 225
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Jul 2017 at 5:18pm
I guess you guys gave up on my Taichi Wi-Fi issue.

However, wardog you were correct! I bought a TP-Link C1200 Router and magic occurred. The Taichi is connected to the TP-Link Wi-Fi Router at 5 GHz and works as advertised! Sure would like to understand why all my other devices worked on the "very old" SMC Router and the X370 Taichi went nuts trying to connect. It looks like whatever the Taichi wants is not available on any of the other Routers in the neighborhood including the Hawking Access Point in my Den since it only sees the TP-Link Router?!

One other benefit I got from the new Router is the range of the 2.4 GHz band. The other Wi-Fi devices show the TP-Link signal at full strength through out the house where as the SMC signal strength was weak. The Router and Taichi computer are located in the basement and all the other devices are used upstairs. At this point if I did not want to connect to the an Ethernet network I would not need the Hawking Access Point device - but I still prefer a hardwired Ethernet connection where ever possible. The Hawking does a nice job of that.



Edited by Ken429 - 10 Jul 2017 at 6:17pm
Back to Top
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 225
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 5:01pm
wardog,

Don't worry, I am not going away. I really do appreciate the help. Even though I'll probably not use the Taichi onboard wireless I would like to know what is broke, the M/B, the BIOS, Intel Driver or all of my and my neighbors Routers. Or...is there something with my network (SMC Router) that is causing the Taichi wireless chip to become irrational?

Edited by Ken429 - 10 Jul 2017 at 6:18pm
Back to Top
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 225
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 4:50pm
Reinvented,

Like I have said several times above, everything else I use or that other people use that visit their wireless devices work with no issues on the network. Most of them connect to the Hawking Access Point but I have used the SMC for various Laptops and a Cannon MX870 Printer that is connected all the time.

The Hawking Access Point is relatively new so it should have all the unknow magic you refer to.

So I have one system the Taichi that will not connect to the SMC Router and it does NOT see any other networks in my house (Hawking) or any of my neighbors Routers.

I have two Amazon Kindle Fire Tablets, a Samsung Smart Phone, a brand new Netgear AC1200 USB3.0 Adapter and various IPhones, IPads and IPods that all work on the existing network and all see the various Routers available in the neighborhood!

But...maybe you're right and the Taichi needs some magic that is contained in some yet unnamed Router to make it come to life and see the Wireless world around it. Like I said above, I tend to run all the computers in my home network on Gigabit Ethernet so even though the Taichi is causing me heartburn when trying to use the onboard wireless chip it is happy running on the Ethernet configuration. Even if it is possibly a M/B defect I'll probably not replace it unless I get the urge for pain on some rainy day!
Back to Top
Reinvented View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 113
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Reinvented Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Jun 2017 at 6:09am
Possibly defective wifi module =/= defective motherboard.  Let's just get that out of the way right now.

If you cannot connect, you need to make sure that you have enough IP addresses to be able to assign to the adapter as well.  

You also have to be prepared and understand that not everything is compatible with older hardware.  It may require you get a new router as certain protocols might not work properly with the newer adapter.  IE older wireless N that either supports 20 or 40 Hz channel width vs newer wireless AC which supports 80 Hz.  It's also a possibility that your wireless AP is broadcasting on a channel that the adapter doesn't work with either.  

These are all things to keep in mind, before blaming the motherboard.  And I highly doubt your wireless module is defective at this point still.  Find another cheaper router to use that's updated, and see if that fixes your problem.  I can guarantee that it's the culprit. 
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2017 at 9:17pm
Originally posted by Ken429 Ken429 wrote:

Maybe some rainy day I'll go buy a $300 Router and see if the Taichi M/B radio will act like all the other devices that work on the current WiFi hardware.


That makes sense ........... NOT Tongue

Hold yer horses back some and know knowing the models you have give me some time to look into them, 'k?
Back to Top
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 225
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2017 at 5:16pm
Originally posted by wardog,<br />I asked of complexity, yet are these two, the Netgear and Hawking, on the same subnet? Too, the latest Netgear driver(s) being used for the adapter? And installed correctly? Some req drivers be installed <strong>first</strong> before plugging the adapter in for the first time.<br /><br />Pardon me for the seemingly stupid questions. Yet they need ask/answered so that I, here, have the best and through understanding. I'd rathe diagnose an OC over the internet than these types of issues. I trust you understand.<br /><br />What's the model # of the Netgear adapter and Hawking extender?<br /><br />Latest FW installed on the Hawking also?<br />[/QUOTE wardog,
I asked of complexity, yet are these two, the Netgear and Hawking, on the same subnet? Too, the latest Netgear driver(s) being used for the adapter? And installed correctly? Some req drivers be installed first before plugging the adapter in for the first time.

Pardon me for the seemingly stupid questions. Yet they need ask/answered so that I, here, have the best and through understanding. I'd rathe diagnose an OC over the internet than these types of issues. I trust you understand.

What's the model # of the Netgear adapter and Hawking extender?

Latest FW installed on the Hawking also?
[/QUOTE wrote:




I am not into networking details - all I know is when I initially set up the Cable Modem, SMC Router and Hawking Access Point everything worked and I have left it alone for several years. The only change I have made is the WPA to WPA2 for added security at your suggestion.

Anyway, the Hawing is Model HWABN2 Hi-Grain Wireless 300N Access Point/Bridge Pro.

It is connected to a TL-Link TL-SG1016 16-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch.

The Netgear Toggle is a Netgear Ac1200 (A6210) WiFi USB Adapter 802.11 ac Dual Band USB3.0. I used the Drivers for the Netgear from the install disk. The install disk was labeled Resource


I am not into networking details - all I know is when I initially set up the Cable Modem, SMC Router and Hawking Access Point everything worked and I have left it alone for several years. The only change I have made is the WPA to WPA2 for added security at your suggestion.

Anyway, the Hawing is Model HWABN2 Hi-Grain Wireless 300N Access Point/Bridge Pro.

It is connected to a TL-Link TL-SG1016 16-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch.

The Netgear Toggle is a Netgear Ac1200 (A6210) WiFi USB Adapter 802.11 ac Dual Band USB3.0. I used the Drivers for the Netgear from the install disk. The install disk was labeled Resource CD Version 1.4. I downloaded the latest drivers from Netgear but have not installed them since it works as it is.

As far as Subnets and Firmware Versions I don't have a clue. When it comes to the Networking stuff - I have gone with the old If It Ain't Broke...

I don't know if any of this information helps resolve the problem but I am back using Ethernet on the Taichi and probably will never use the built in Taichi WiFi. I did not realize the Taichi M/B had on-board WiFI when I bought it. It was a bonus I discovered when I was setting it up!

However, I'm beginning to think I have a defective M/B. Maybe some rainy day I'll go buy a $300 Router and see if the Taichi M/B radio will act like all the other devices that work on the current WiFi hardware.
Back to Top
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 225
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2017 at 4:33pm
Originally posted by Ken429 Ken429 wrote:


I downloaded and installed the Wan driver from the X370 Taichi Web Site and then let Windows Update to the latest driver which is: Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168 #2 Driver Intel 3/28/17 19.51.0.4.


That's what I did day one - my first post on this thread. It's good to know that the Wi-Fi built into the TaiChi M/B works for someone. I am almost beginning to think I have a defective M/B. Since every other device I or a visitor has used in this house shows a bunch of Routers in the neighborhood. The Taichi only shows the SMC Router!

What Brand and Model of Router are you using?
Back to Top
Reinvented View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 113
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reinvented Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Jun 2017 at 1:20pm
Hi,

I don't have any problems with my WiFi card, but then again I do have a newer router than you.

The included WiFi module is Intel(R) Dual Band Wireless-AC 3168.  The latest drivers can be found on Intel's website which is dated as 3/28/17 according to the driver properties.

Update to the latest drivers, and try again.  
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.313 seconds.