ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Media&User's Review > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Safe to use instant flash AM4?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Safe to use instant flash AM4?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Spooky View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Sep 2017
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Spooky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Safe to use instant flash AM4?
    Posted: 04 Sep 2017 at 12:24am
Hi.

I have a AB350M board with BIOS P1.20.  Is it safe to update the BIOS with instant flash?
 
I've heard some ASROCK AM4 boards do not like flashing with instant flash.

Thanks.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Sep 2017 at 9:37am
Originally posted by Spooky Spooky wrote:

Hi.

I have a AB350M board with BIOS P1.20.  Is it safe to update the BIOS with instant flash?
 
I've heard some ASROCK AM4 boards do not like flashing with instant flash.

Thanks.


Instant Flash is the safest UEFI/BIOS update method you can use. I have ten ASRock mother boards, including my X370 Killer SLI/ac AM4 board, and have updated the UEFI/BIOS on all of them with every version that is available. I have never had an Instant Flash failure, not even once. I personally would not use anything else but Instant Flash.

Users sometimes make mistakes when doing a UEFI update, the main one is turning the PC off if they have a problem of some kind during the update. That will cause a corrupted UEFI/BIOS with any of the update methods.
Back to Top
Spooky View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Sep 2017
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Spooky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2017 at 6:02am
It worked thanks.

I seem to have posted this in the wrong section oops.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2017 at 10:14am
Originally posted by Spooky Spooky wrote:

It worked thanks.

I seem to have posted this in the wrong section oops.


Great, it should have worked. No problem about the wrong forum.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.039 seconds.