ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - [RESOLVED, by TSD]1950x will not boot media comp.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

[RESOLVED, by TSD]1950x will not boot media comp.

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: [RESOLVED, by TSD]1950x will not boot media comp.
    Posted: 23 Sep 2017 at 11:56pm
ASRock TSD responded to my ticket and informs me that TR supports W10 RS1 and RS2.  RS1 requires disabling IOMMU in the BIOS.  I see no mention of this restriction in the ASRock site on the X399.  When first told, I did not even know what RS1 and RS2 were.  Here is a good reference:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_10_version_history
RS1, Redstone 1, is W10.1607 and RS2 is W10.1703.  In my case the version of W10 I was installing was RS2, but I was using an older version of WinPE which obviously was not supported.  Building WinPE using the latest ADK (1703) solved my problem not the smaller size as I suspected.  I suspect this same restriction may be preventing the Server 2016 installing.  A wild guess is to try disabling IOMMU.  Here is am image sent me from an AMD document:

Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 10:15am
Wink Mmk
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 5:22am
Thanks, datonyb.

wardog, good grief!  I have said several times I have NO interest in W7.  How many times do I have to say I am sorry I even mentioned W7.  The SATA floopy (see the DL page for spelling) is for RAID use.  I have no RAID.  I also said I was not interested in chasing old problems. 
I have W10 x64 Professional installed on my TR.  All is well, I have no issues.  W10 installed without F6 floopy drivers.  All my special drivers are injected into the .wim files using DISM.  I have W10 x64 Pro installed.  I posted this in my first post:
Quote
Fatal1ty X399 Professional Gaming, Threadripper 1950X, 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-2400CL16D-16GFXR, Windows 10 x64 Pro, Enermax Platimax 850, Enermax Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 1.5

Thanks and enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 4:21am
Hmmmm, John,

To be clear, you do or do not have 10 installed? hehe 'cuz you keep interjecting 7, you last post left me confused this time Embarrassed

If 10 is not, have you tried as I suggested and used F6 on install using the SATA Floppy Image drivers available on the MBs download page(s)? It contains both flavors of controller drivers.



Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 3:58am
[RESOLVED] !!!!!!!!!!

John, not for a minute can I believe a very recent from the ground up platform would not have 48-bit LBA. That would go down as a World Class blunder if this was true.

Let me read that link you provided. And go back to your original to see the components used again.





Edited by wardog - 15 Sep 2017 at 3:58am
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 3:55am
and only on the last reply did i notice the thread was started by john

im not used to you having a problem

good luck with the new build mate
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 3:32am
                                                                 RESOLVED!
First, I want to apologize for even mentioning booting the W7 install DVD.  I never wanted to install W7, just see if it was possible to boot anything on this machine.  I certainly did not need old bugs to chase.  The fact that it did boot gave me a way forward.  I made a WinPE CD ROM and it booted fine.  Then I made a WinPE USB stick with no extra files like were on the old one.  It booted fine also.  I then used the USB stick to do a flat install from one one of the SSDs and all went fine.  The system is running fine.  I suspect I have a similar problem to this thread:
http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=5860&KW=2016&PN=1&title=x399-taichi-with-tr-wont-install-server-2016
I also suspect this is a BIOS problem.  Since, at least for me, it seems to be boot device size dependent, I suspect that the BIOS is using a 32 bit variable for addressing data (>4GB) on the device.  I do not know if this is an ASRock or an AMD problem, so I will open a ticket on both.  The fact that the BIOS and AGESA are so down level on Threadripper should be a shame to both.  I hope it is fixed soon.  Thanks and enjoy, John.


Edited by MisterJ - 15 Sep 2017 at 3:34am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 12:32pm
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

The hint here is the Windows 7 disk started normally, since the Windows 7 installation files do not support UEFI without a modification.


Bumping my post count..........

Doesn't 7 choke on correct updated USB drivers missing? Isn't that all the Patcher remedies?
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 12:22pm
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

It sounds like the optical drive you are using on the X399 board does not support UEFI, while the one on your Ryzen 7 PC does. Not all optical drives support UEFI.


Lord, I haven't used an ODD to install an OS for years and years.

parsec, it seems to me it should have "installed' regardless of UEFI: <ODD> or not.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 11:12am
It sounds like the optical drive you are using on the X399 board does not support UEFI, while the one on your Ryzen 7 PC does. Not all optical drives support UEFI.

Did you check what is shown in the boot order for the optical drive in the X399 board, when you have the Windows 10 installation disk in it? Does it have the prefix "UEFI:" and then the optical drive name? It's also possible that the boot order entry on the X399 system will have the "UEFI:" prefix, but if the optical drive does not support UEFI, it won't work correctly.

The hint here is the Windows 7 disk started normally, since the Windows 7 installation files do not support UEFI without a modification. It's entry in the boot order would not have the "UEFI:" prefix. Windows 10 installation media will normally default to the "UEFI:" prefix. Windows 7 also does not have an NVMe driver, so would fail when trying to install to an NVMe SSD.

Did you use the same technique, booting WinPE, on your Ryzen 7 PC?


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.281 seconds.