ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - [RESOLVED, by TSD]1950x will not boot media comp.
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

[RESOLVED, by TSD]1950x will not boot media comp.

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: [RESOLVED, by TSD]1950x will not boot media comp.
    Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 2:30am
I just completed my latest build which follows:
Fatal1ty X399 Professional Gaming, Threadripper 1950X, 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-2400CL16D-16GFXR, Windows 10 x64 Pro, Enermax Platimax 850, Enermax Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 1.5

I tried adding this to my signature and far exceeded the 200 character limit.  The memory is a single borrowed stick from my R7.
The machine powered up and booted immediately to a message saying no OS found.  I plugged in a USB stick with WinPE.  It appears to boot displaying the windows logo but then just sits there.  I made sure Secure Boot was disabled and it was.  I tried a Windows install DVD and it does the same thing.  Everything looks normal in the BIOS.  I used Instant Flash to update to P1.50, microcode stayed at 800F11/800129.  I am starting my research and would appreciate anything anyone has to offer.

A RANT!  I am using borrowed memory because G.Skill says the TR BIOS (AGESA) will not support 3600 MHz.  I will open a ticket on ASRock and AMD on the down level AGESA (1.0.0.3 in BIOS P1.50).  I hope anyone interested in TR will do the same.
Thanks and enjoy, John.


Edited by MisterJ - 23 Sep 2017 at 11:35pm
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 2:40am
may i suggest
using just one 960
and try to boot from a usb formated fat 32 and using the media creation usb installer direct from windows
select install uefi when pc first starts to post

now as for the ram
theres plenty of people using gskill 3600 tridentz on x370 boards
most can get it to run at 3200
some can get it to run at 3600

despite it not saying so

first things first let try to get a operating system on the new build first
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 2:42am
https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

2 nd option down

create usb/dvd installion device
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 2:47am
oooohhhhhhh

you can update bios on that baord without even a cpu or ram installed Cool
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 2:52am
Thanks, datonyb.  I have been doing my W10 (W7 before) installs for a long time by booting WinPE (built using ADK).  I then start a flat install (disk drive), so one of SSDs contains my install files.  The other two are new with nothing on them.  I saw the FlashBack feature, but did not want to be a pioneer.  G.Skill has some neat FlareX coming and they should (X399 TR only) be on the qualified list.  Thanks much and enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 4:53am
I removed all SSDs and the USB stick and disconnected all in back that I did not have to have.  I booted the W10 DVD and it started accessing it for maybe a minute, then just quit.  Thinking time.  Ideas?   Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 5:27am
Two things come to mind..........

Only one SSD, connected to M2_1

Catch that this board has three power connections? 4-pin, 8-pin, and 24-pin?

Consider your wim used is now outdated? For TR I'd consider using the latest official 10 build released. Not one of the Preview ones.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 5:29am
BTW

"Fatal1ty X399 Professional Gaming, Threadripper 1950X"



You suck! Cry
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 5:48am
Thanks, wardog.  I am nowhere close to the .wim file and I created it last week - a little down level but still W10.1703.15063.540.  I think your second comment may be the closest!  I tried enabling compatibility and could not even boot into BIOS.  I did a clear CMOS, then booted an old W7 install disk.  It went to the first install window with no problem.  Only trouble is my mouse and KB are wireless and W7 has no drivers.  If you will read my last post, I have removed everything except Monitor and power.  W10 install DVD won't boot but W7 does.  The W10 install disk boots just fine on this machine (R7).  I will quit for today but may move this optical drive to my TR machine tomorow.  Thanks and enjoy, John.

Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group


Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 5:55am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.313 seconds.