ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Fatal1ty Gaming X concerns
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Fatal1ty Gaming X concerns

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2017 at 2:33am
im really quiet sure

your bios as with all am4 bios has the am4 boot training option

heres bios screenshot of my taichi yours should be in same place

[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2017 at 2:35am
Originally posted by Tanner208 Tanner208 wrote:

So I have a [ASRock X370 Fatal1ty Gaming X board] paired with the Ryzen 1600 and [G.Skill RipJaws V Series 16GB (2x8GB) 3200mhz] 

F4-3200C16D-16GVGB


The CPU is overclocked to 3.9Ghz @ 1.3v

I am trying to get my PC to run stable @ 3200mhz on the ram to maximize my CPUs performance. However, I am only able to reach 3066 using the XMP profile which sets it at 16-18-18-38 @ 1.35v and I leave everything else on auto. I've tried messing with the timings but I have had no success. 

It looks like my ram is not listed on the manufacturer's [QVL](https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%20X370%20Gaming%20X/index.asp#Memory) 
but yet I was able to OC to 3066 so I dont know if its because of the CPU chip or the mobo. What do you recommend I do? take back the board, the ram, or both?

The reason I want to OC the ram to 3200 is because I've heard reports of people seeing like a 10% increase @ 3200mhz with Ryzen chips.


try overclocking the ram with the cpu set to stock for testing
also bump the soc volts to 1.1
and the ram volts to 1.375
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
Tanner208 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tanner208 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2017 at 3:14am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

im really quiet sure

your bios as with all am4 bios has the am4 boot training option

heres bios screenshot of my taichi yours should be in same place


Yea my BIOS does not have that option. My BIOS is up to date as well (3.2.0)

When I get home, I will try putting CPU back to default settings and increasing the SOC Volts and RAM Volts and report back later.

thanks for your help
Back to Top
nangu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 120
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nangu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Nov 2017 at 11:33am
Originally posted by Tanner208 Tanner208 wrote:

So I have a [ASRock X370 Fatal1ty Gaming X board] paired with the Ryzen 1600 and [G.Skill RipJaws V Series 16GB (2x8GB) 3200mhz] 

F4-3200C16D-16GVGB


The CPU is overclocked to 3.9Ghz @ 1.3v

I am trying to get my PC to run stable @ 3200mhz on the ram to maximize my CPUs performance. However, I am only able to reach 3066 using the XMP profile which sets it at 16-18-18-38 @ 1.35v and I leave everything else on auto. I've tried messing with the timings but I have had no success. 

It looks like my ram is not listed on the manufacturer's [QVL](https://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/Fatal1ty%20X370%20Gaming%20X/index.asp#Memory) 
but yet I was able to OC to 3066 so I dont know if its because of the CPU chip or the mobo. What do you recommend I do? take back the board, the ram, or both?

The reason I want to OC the ram to 3200 is because I've heard reports of people seeing like a 10% increase @ 3200mhz with Ryzen chips.

I'm 99.99% sure that Gskill kit have Hynix MFR single rank chips in the sticks.

You will need more than good luck to get them @3200. You are lucky even to get @3066 stable. My kit is running @2933 as best.

If you want 3200 on Ryzen, you need to buy kits with Samsung B-die chips, and even these are not guaranteed, because the IMC quality on the CPU is an important factor too for memory overclock, and then you have the motherboard also into the equation.

The Gskill FlareX kits are the best bet for 3200 stable and low latencies, but you will need to fiddle with them too.

There is a new AMD Agesa microcode update on the way, may be before the end of the year, which can improve (or not??) memory compatibility for Hynix users, so may be you can wait a little before to buy the expensive FlareX.

Cheers.
R7 1700 @3.90 1.25v - GSkill TridentZ 3200c16 Hynix MFR @2933 14-16-16-32 - Fatal1ty Gaming X370 K4 - Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 - WD 256 Black M2 Nvme as Windows 10 boot drive - EVGA Gold 650W
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2017 at 1:41am
G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 MHz CL16 F4-3200C16D-16GVGB 4Gb Samsung E-Die Dual Double


dual rank double sided samsung e dies

so better than hynix (just) but made worse by using 4gb ic's and then becoming double sided compared to hynix chips which may well have been single sided


anyways

you can try 1usmus ryzen ram calculator , its been very succesful at picking out the ideal settings for ram based off the jedec/xmp table
there has been a lot of desperate hynix ram owners that became happy after using the settings from it

follow the instructions and i advise selecting the safe settings for stability and only then try one by one the fast settings

http://www.overclock.net/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram

[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
Tanner208 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 07 Nov 2017
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tanner208 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Nov 2017 at 6:01am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 MHz CL16 F4-3200C16D-16GVGB 4Gb Samsung E-Die Dual Double


dual rank double sided samsung e dies

so better than hynix (just) but made worse by using 4gb ic's and then becoming double sided compared to hynix chips which may well have been single sided


anyways

you can try 1usmus ryzen ram calculator , its been very succesful at picking out the ideal settings for ram based off the jedec/xmp table
there has been a lot of desperate hynix ram owners that became happy after using the settings from it

follow the instructions and i advise selecting the safe settings for stability and only then try one by one the fast settings

http://www.overclock.net/t/1640919/ryzen-dram-calculator-overclocking-dram


Awesome thanks for this.

So just so i understand this better. My ram is using Samsung b-dies but because its 4GB on each side and not 8GB on one side its actually made worse? I thought dual rank/dual channel was the best setup according to the sticky thread here.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.