ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Dual GPU not working on x399 Taichi
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Dual GPU not working on x399 Taichi

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2017 at 7:19am
noktek, seen this?
https://forums.evga.com/EVGA-780-SC-UEFI-post-error-m2503436.aspx
May be out of date, but please check it out.
Driver release notes: https://us.download.nvidia.com/Windows/388.31/388.31-win10-win8-win7-desktop-release-notes.pdf
VGA BIOS UEFI: https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/139391/evga-gtx780-3072-130514
It says "UEFI Supported: Yes".

When all else fails, open a support ticket with the Vendor.  I suspect you have a vBIOS and Driver compatibility problem.  Have you modified the CSM or IOMMU settings?  Your user manual will tell you how many lanes each socket supports.  Also try GPU-Z - here: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/
For Asus Strix 1080Ti, ASUS shows a different driver: https://www.asus.com/us/Graphics-Cards/ROG-STRIX-GTX1080TI-O11G-GAMING/HelpDesk_Download/
Have fun, John.


Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
noktek View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote noktek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2017 at 7:03am
Originally posted by happyferret happyferret wrote:

Hi noktek,


I was having the exact same issue (except with 2x 1080Ti) last Friday, and spent more than 8 hours fighting with it until uncovering your post: you are not alone.

I am running linux, but have the exact same problem of the second GPU being detected, but in my case not being usable by CUDA. I have a "beefier" power supply (1200W gold Seasonic), and have had a very strange reactions to switching power cables around in the computer:

- I usually cannot use both cards (more than 99% of the time).
- However, sometimes, after I stop the machine, and switch cables around inside, I can get ONE boot where both cards are detected and can be used by CUDA. This does not last until the next reboot, and has worked oince when both cables were plugged with two cables each (and therefore no PSU power to the motherboard), and ONCE when the motherboard was plugged to the PSU (and therefore one of the GPU was connected to only one power cable (in this case, the detected card was under-powered in a way, but was detected and usable). I am sorry if this is confusing, I can elaborate: TL;DR: I can SOMETIMES get both cards to work, but it seems completely random, is very rare, and does not last after a reboot.

I am extremely confused. I have updated the BIOS to the latest patch (November 7), but this did not help. I suspect that it is not a power problem, but cannot find what seems to have any effect on this problem.

Thanks to anyone with new ideas, I would love to have the two GPUs actually work together :-)


well you're already one step ahead it seems :) what models are your gpus ?
Threadripper 1950, Asrock Taichi x399, Noctua 14s, Vengeance LPX 64gb 3066, Asus Strix 1080Ti, EVGA 780 SC, Corsair Hx1200, Samsung 960pro 512, evo 1gb, Barracuda 3gb, win10 64, bios 1.8
Back to Top
noktek View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote noktek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2017 at 6:41am
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

An HX 1200i should be enough for a TR system and two video cards. This PSU's +12V rail is capable of 100A output. If the PC is drawing over 100A from the +12V rail just booting and at idle, so much for power efficiency of TR:

http://www.corsair.com/en-us/hxi-series-hx1200i-high-performance-atx-power-supply-1200-watt-80-plus-platinum-certified-psu

Switching to single rail will skip the need to balance the power on the +12V rails, but just starting and running the PC should not cause that much of a power draw. 40A on a rail might be a limitation for the CPU, which could interfere with the PCIe lanes, just a thought. But the CPU here has multiple power sources/connections.

I would start over by clearing the CMOS/UEFI, connect all the PSU cables to the board as required, and use one video card. Possibly starting with the 780 alone in the board. Once one card is working normally, add the other. If you've never tried the 780 by itself, that's what I would try now.

I'm wondering if the VBIOS in the 780 SC is UEFI/GOP compatible. It should be if it is an EVGA video card, EVGA went to UEFI compatible VBIOS starting with the 700 series. The 1080Ti will have a UEFI/GOP compatible VBIOS. Since you use a 960 Pro NVMe SSD as the OS drive, the Windows 10 installation should be UEFI booting by default. Windows 10 installed via a USB flash drive?

 "You lost me on "If i remove uninstall the 780 it then shows up as VGA adapter displaying no errors." That's the Device Manager entry, correct? I assume that is before you restarted the PC? Or does that ghost entry remain after a restart?"

I wonder if this issue is related to the early Window 10 RS1 versions and the IOMMU option being enabled, not being compatible. Obviously the Windows 10 installation boots, so you are either using a Windows 10 RS2 version, or have IOMMU disabled.

So the driver version is identical for both video cards? During the installation, are you prompted to select which card is the target of the installation? Or do both cards just get the driver installed? No errors from the installer during or after the driver installation process?

What happens if you run the NVIDIA Control Panel software with both cards in the PC? Can you check how many PCIe lanes are being used by the 780 with that or other software? If you've used two different video cards like this in the past, is there anything you've had to do to get them working?

Usually two video cards don't have a problem with the amount of memory Windows needs to deal with both cards. The UEFI option to change that is usually called Top Of Lower Usable Dram, or TOLUD, setting it to Dynamic. If and where that option is in your board's UEFI, I'm not sure, usually in the Chipset Configuration screen, but could be elsewhere with X399.

Try to keep an open mind about the mother board being the problem. We see that being blamed for issues all the time, and when a new board fixes nothing, which we also see all too often, it's more than just a waste of time.

hi and thanks for your throrough answer!
PSU wise i am not worried, 1200W should really be enough for 3 GPUS actually!
The GPU is also not the issue in my opinion, as i have tried it on another machine and it works just perfectly fine. Have also updated the VBIOS today to a later version to no avail.
I have indeed flashed multiple times the UEFI and reset the CMOS. also recabled everything.
there is no way to make the 780 work on the x399 even if its the first and only card installed: upon nvidia drivers, black screen and no output, or in case its booting, image stops at the loading wheel (kinda last step of the "pre-windows" area) instead of proceeding to the login screen.

regarding the question if the 780 is uefi compatible i honestly dont really understand what you mean, in the sense that im a newbie :) anyhow as i said i did update the vbios of the card on my other maching and then moving it over but didnt change much

yes, i did install windows 10 through download from ms website and put it on a usb stick


cit: You lost me on "If i remove uninstall the 780 it then shows up as VGA adapter displaying no errors." That's the Device Manager entry, correct? I assume that is before you restarted the PC? Or does that ghost entry remain after a restart?
 
with that i meant that basically when both the cards are in and i have the screen connected through the 1080 and i remove drivers, the 780 sometime sits there as generic driver adapter without the triangle. later on though it had happened that even as a generic driver adapter it maintained the triangle. go tell!

i am using the latest history and from what i can recall iommu is disabled by default and i have not enabled it not being sure what it is anyway

the driver version is supposedly the latest for both cards, i think 388.13 at this point in time, and gives no error whatsoever for the 1080. the 780 is simply ignored and does not figure in the nvidia control panel, no question is asked. no errors either

i have never installed myself 2 cards like this in the past but i have been using and updating them at work, it was never difficult, also because one was a quadro and the other one a gtx so it was a bit easier.

How would i go about checking what PCIE lanes are used and all that? I have tried looking for the settings you mentioned in the UEFI but theres nothing that looks similar to what you mentioned or that can be set to "Dynamic"

this picture https://i.imgur.com/NH6nHqL.jpg shows that gpuz can detect the presence of the hardware partially, but not nvidia control panel




Edited by noktek - 20 Nov 2017 at 6:59am
Threadripper 1950, Asrock Taichi x399, Noctua 14s, Vengeance LPX 64gb 3066, Asus Strix 1080Ti, EVGA 780 SC, Corsair Hx1200, Samsung 960pro 512, evo 1gb, Barracuda 3gb, win10 64, bios 1.8
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2017 at 4:59am
happyferret, is there any chance you would be willing to try W10?  Please flesh out your specifications with drives, memory, SSDs and anything else.  I suspect you you are well aware of how to run W10, but will be glad to give you some pointers if needed.  Thanks and enjoy, John.

EDIT:  Fun User ID!


Edited by MisterJ - 20 Nov 2017 at 5:00am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
happyferret View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Nov 2017
Location: Pittsburgh
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote happyferret Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Nov 2017 at 4:34am
Hi noktek,


I was having the exact same issue (except with 2x 1080Ti) last Friday, and spent more than 8 hours fighting with it until uncovering your post: you are not alone.

I am running linux, but have the exact same problem of the second GPU being detected, but in my case not being usable by CUDA. I have a "beefier" power supply (1200W gold Seasonic), and have had a very strange reactions to switching power cables around in the computer:

- I usually cannot use both cards (more than 99% of the time).
- However, sometimes, after I stop the machine, and switch cables around inside, I can get ONE boot where both cards are detected and can be used by CUDA. This does not last until the next reboot, and has worked oince when both cables were plugged with two cables each (and therefore no PSU power to the motherboard), and ONCE when the motherboard was plugged to the PSU (and therefore one of the GPU was connected to only one power cable (in this case, the detected card was under-powered in a way, but was detected and usable). I am sorry if this is confusing, I can elaborate: TL;DR: I can SOMETIMES get both cards to work, but it seems completely random, is very rare, and does not last after a reboot.

I am extremely confused. I have updated the BIOS to the latest patch (November 7), but this did not help. I suspect that it is not a power problem, but cannot find what seems to have any effect on this problem.

Thanks to anyone with new ideas, I would love to have the two GPUs actually work together :-)
ASRock X399 Taichi, AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950x, 2x NVIDIA 1080Ti, Seasonic 1200W Gold PSU
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2017 at 9:29am
An HX 1200i should be enough for a TR system and two video cards. This PSU's +12V rail is capable of 100A output. If the PC is drawing over 100A from the +12V rail just booting and at idle, so much for power efficiency of TR:

http://www.corsair.com/en-us/hxi-series-hx1200i-high-performance-atx-power-supply-1200-watt-80-plus-platinum-certified-psu

Switching to single rail will skip the need to balance the power on the +12V rails, but just starting and running the PC should not cause that much of a power draw. 40A on a rail might be a limitation for the CPU, which could interfere with the PCIe lanes, just a thought. But the CPU here has multiple power sources/connections.

I would start over by clearing the CMOS/UEFI, connect all the PSU cables to the board as required, and use one video card. Possibly starting with the 780 alone in the board. Once one card is working normally, add the other. If you've never tried the 780 by itself, that's what I would try now.

I'm wondering if the VBIOS in the 780 SC is UEFI/GOP compatible. It should be if it is an EVGA video card, EVGA went to UEFI compatible VBIOS starting with the 700 series. The 1080Ti will have a UEFI/GOP compatible VBIOS. Since you use a 960 Pro NVMe SSD as the OS drive, the Windows 10 installation should be UEFI booting by default. Windows 10 installed via a USB flash drive?

You lost me on "If i remove uninstall the 780 it then shows up as VGA adapter displaying no errors." That's the Device Manager entry, correct? I assume that is before you restarted the PC? Or does that ghost entry remain after a restart?

I wonder if this issue is related to the early Window 10 RS1 versions and the IOMMU option being enabled, not being compatible. Obviously the Windows 10 installation boots, so you are either using a Windows 10 RS2 version, or have IOMMU disabled.

So the driver version is identical for both video cards? During the installation, are you prompted to select which card is the target of the installation? Or do both cards just get the driver installed? No errors from the installer during or after the driver installation process?

What happens if you run the NVIDIA Control Panel software with both cards in the PC? Can you check how many PCIe lanes are being used by the 780 with that or other software? If you've used two different video cards like this in the past, is there anything you've had to do to get them working?

Usually two video cards don't have a problem with the amount of memory Windows needs to deal with both cards. The UEFI option to change that is usually called Top Of Lower Usable Dram, or TOLUD, setting it to Dynamic. If and where that option is in your board's UEFI, I'm not sure, usually in the Chipset Configuration screen, but could be elsewhere with X399.

Try to keep an open mind about the mother board being the problem. We see that being blamed for issues all the time, and when a new board fixes nothing, which we also see all too often, it's more than just a waste of time.
Back to Top
JUANNY View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 50
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JUANNY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2017 at 6:51am
figured ill put in my 2 cents here-for my theadripper 1950x that i just put together yesterday I use the corsair 1500i to power 2 evga 1080 ti in sli. When doing a stress test from aida 64 extreme I was pulling bout 800 watts so my particular build required a beefy power supply
Asrock X399 Fatality Pro Gaming Bios 2.0 Threadripper 1950X Cpu cooler Enermax 360 mm TR4 GSkill 64 GB F4-2933C14Q-64GFX Windows 10 X64 PRO Version 1709 Build 16299.19 2X EVGA 1080 TI in SLI mode
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1097
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2017 at 5:38am
noktek, I think you need more power, perhaps 1000 Watts.  Hopefully others will comment.  I have 850 W with one video card and a lot less storage.  The CPU can use close to 200 W under load.  I assume drives are TB (Terra Bytes).  Can you borrow a heftier power supply to try or return yours for credit?  If you test with more power and still have problems, then perhaps you have a MB problem and need to talk to ASRock.  I get drivers from only the vendor who makes the product, not other sites.  Have you looked here: http://www.nvidia.com/Download/Find.aspx
Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
noktek View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote noktek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2017 at 2:51am
and yes it is possible to use multiple cards not in sli, they wont work "synergically" for games but it will be beneficial for CUDA rendering as cuda cores do sum up and are used as calculus power, which is basically why im doing all this
Threadripper 1950, Asrock Taichi x399, Noctua 14s, Vengeance LPX 64gb 3066, Asus Strix 1080Ti, EVGA 780 SC, Corsair Hx1200, Samsung 960pro 512, evo 1gb, Barracuda 3gb, win10 64, bios 1.8
Back to Top
noktek View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote noktek Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2017 at 2:49am
hi guys thanks for all the suggestions, it was a hard day of trial and error and nothing accomplished:
So today i have:
- tested again the 780 alone on my other system and it works perfectly
-tried the card on each slot of the x399 and none worked, it gave me the same dynamic
-disconnected and reconnected all cables making sure i have cpu/pcie cables used properly
-tried to switch my PSU from single to multiple ("Toggle single +12V rail or multi +12V rail mode. In the ?úSINGLE??position, the full output capability of the power supply?ôs +12V rail is available to any and all connectors, while in the ?úMULTIPLE??position, each individual connector has Over-Current Protection so no more than 40A of current can be delivered on any given cable.")
-tried to install drivers in safe mode, and it named the device correctly and did not display errors (but upon launching blender it said i dont have proper hardware)
-tried to copy said installed drivers from safe mode over to normal mode with an installer, and black screen happens again
-uninstalled everything with DDU and tried multiple other older drivers starting from the one provided in the EVGA CDrom back in 2014

now i ran out of time for the day, what i have not tried so far:

-BIOS reset on the GPU. I guess id have to do that on the older machine? 
I tried looking on techpowerup and i found 4 BIOS that seem to match the P/N of the 780SC (03G-P4-2784-KR). although from what i can read they dont seem to differ much (besides the latest one having 100% max fan speed) and i dont know how to proceed and/or if it makes sense?
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/139391/evga-gtx780-3072-130514
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/141919/evga-gtx780-3072-130531-2
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/142776/evga-gtx780-3072-130702
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/145636/evga-gtx780-3072-130704

are these all official? should i just pick the latest?
Threadripper 1950, Asrock Taichi x399, Noctua 14s, Vengeance LPX 64gb 3066, Asus Strix 1080Ti, EVGA 780 SC, Corsair Hx1200, Samsung 960pro 512, evo 1gb, Barracuda 3gb, win10 64, bios 1.8
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.