ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Gaming K4 does not post after install RGB sof
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Gaming K4 does not post after install RGB sof

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
btoledob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote btoledob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Gaming K4 does not post after install RGB sof
    Posted: 25 Nov 2017 at 8:18am
Hello.

Newly mounted computer. After installing Windows, I installed the drivers, including the ASRock ASRock RGB LED see: 1.0.29. An image on the screen appeared stating that it was updating the LED firmware. Installation completed normally. I tried restarting the PC, but it does not start any more. No LED on the motherboard lights except for the Ryzen cooler. I've tried clearing CMOS and it did not work, however, I'm not sure about the correct procedure. There is no POST code. Any idea?
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 3139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2017 at 9:22am
unplug the ol gal

remove bios battery for 10 mins

pull ram sticks and put one back in slot a2

try it again

[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
btoledob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote btoledob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2017 at 11:24am
What do you mean by ol gal?
Back to Top
lowdog View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 194
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lowdog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2017 at 4:46pm
Originally posted by btoledob btoledob wrote:

[URL=][/URL]What do you mean by ol gal?


He means the computer, unplug it from power and press the power button to drain the board of power and then clear the cmos.
X399 Fat Pro Gaming bios 3.10 - TR4 1900X - 64GB G-SKILL TridentZ F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ @ 3133MHz - Vega 64 AIO with EK block - WC Custom loop - 1500W Silverstone PSU - yay
Back to Top
btoledob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote btoledob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Nov 2017 at 1:31am
So,I remove all the power cables, remove the battery, change de CMOS jumper, wait for 10 minutes, press and hold the power button for a few seconds, change the jumper back, put the battery back, plug the power cable back, turn the PC on.

I'll try that tomorrow. Any other tips just in case this doesn't work? I've got just a few hours per day to resolve that.

Thank you.
Back to Top
btoledob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote btoledob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Nov 2017 at 4:17pm
That did not work. Please anyone help me here.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22958
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Nov 2017 at 4:40pm
Try this:

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=630&title=how-to-clear-cmos-via-battery-removal

If that does not work, contact ASRock Tech Support from the ASRock website, they will assist you further. 

If a full CMOS clear does not fix the issue then the problem is caused by a corrupted BIOS, in which case only ASRock can help you. I wouldn't worry too much however, ASRock is very good with helping users in cases like yours Wink
Back to Top
lowdog View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 194
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote lowdog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Nov 2017 at 4:42pm
....RMA time I guess.
X399 Fat Pro Gaming bios 3.10 - TR4 1900X - 64GB G-SKILL TridentZ F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ @ 3133MHz - Vega 64 AIO with EK block - WC Custom loop - 1500W Silverstone PSU - yay
Back to Top
btoledob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote btoledob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Nov 2017 at 4:46pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

Try this:

http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=630&title=how-to-clear-cmos-via-battery-removal

If that does not work, contact ASRock Tech Support from the ASRock website, they will assist you further. 

If a full CMOS clear does not fix the issue then the problem is caused by a corrupted BIOS, in which case only ASRock can help you. I wouldn't worry too much however, ASRock is very good with helping users in cases like yours Wink

Thank you very much.

I don't think it is a BIOS issue as I didn't update the BIOS. I just I stalled the LED control software downloaded from ASRock website. Before that everything was working perfectly.

I'm sure ASRock will assist me, but the situation is ridiculous. RMA means 30 days using a borrowed computer.

Besides that, when. I receive the new motherboard, I won't be 100% confident about ASRock product quality anymore.

I'll try that procedure.

Thank you very much.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22958
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Nov 2017 at 6:15pm
The firmware for the RGB controller is contained in the BIOS chip. When that was updated, if there was and error, it could have caused a corruption. 

More often than not, the method I linked for you is enough to resolve any corrupted values and restore the system to working. If not, your only choice is an RMA. As boards have gotten more complex the risks associated with flashing firmware (BIOS is firmware too btw) have also grown. This is why it is recommended to return your system to UEFI defaults prior to updated and to preferentially use the Instant Flash option after having downloaded the correct update file from the product page. I sorely miss socketed BIOS ROMs, that made life so much easier for the end user. Sadly they are a thing of the past.

I am hopeful that my suggestion will fix your issue. For what it's worth, I have owned over a dozen ASRock boards and not had a single one fail on me yet. Even my oldest ASRock board sporting an Athlon XP is still working. The measure of quality also extends to the standard of support, ASRock is usually pretty good. If you have any issues please contact me via PM.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.