ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Intel Management Engine Issue INTEL-SA-00086 Fix
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Intel Management Engine Issue INTEL-SA-00086 Fix

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 13>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Milkman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2018
Location: Norcal
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Milkman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Mar 2018 at 3:36am
Thank you for that. 

My 7800x idles at 23-29c, and when I (factory) OC a tad (from base 3.5 to 4.1), I idle at almost identical numbers. 25-30c. 

Under full load (I crunch for SETI using BOINC every night), this CPU hits around 49-50c. Under full load WITH OC to 4.1, it hits about 65c. 

Is the x299e-itx/ac board using the same microcode as the base x299 chipset? ie my x299 TaiChi will receive the same base code as your x299? Do you happen to know? I still have not flashed to 2.00, and am still sitting on the fence about RMA'ing this board for one without the 4k BluRay playback limitation. 


Back to Top
jclausius View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 02 Jan 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 37
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jclausius Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 10:42pm
Originally posted by Milkman Milkman wrote:

I've noticed the new (2.00) firmware is posted in the BIOS section for the x299 boards.
Has anyone.... done any testing on this code? Is there any feedback from bench testing?
The x299e-itx/ac had BIOS 1.50 released on Mar 2nd.

I flashed as it contained fixes for Skylake CPU. I've done zero benchmarking, so I can't give you any hard numbers, but if there's been a performance drop off, I haven't noticed.

Also, my system was stable before... No reboots or crashes.

This microcode for skylake CPUs lowered their VCore settings. My idle temps on the CPU were in the 42-46C range, and VCore was at 1.126V. Much too hot for my liking. I was even considering a repaste last weekend. After the flash, idling at 32-34C with 1.066VCore on the CPU

What a difference a flash makes!
x299e-itx/ac | i7-7820X@3.60GHz | 32GB - 4x8GB Quad Channel@3000MHz GSkill DDR4 | nVidia GTX 1060M w/ 6GB GDDR5 | Samsung 960 Pro 512GB | Samsung 960 Pro 1TB | 160GB Seagate Momentus | Panasonic UJ265
Back to Top
Milkman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2018
Location: Norcal
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Milkman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 8:47am
lol, I dunno. Old network guy, sysadmin here. I tend to have 15 tabs, a chat or 2, some PMs, some emails going at any given time. My VMs are also rolling. Got to have lots of infrastructure for all that, ermm, management of DRM features and bugs. Im a researcher, Wardog. =P 
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 8:35am
Originally posted by Milkman Milkman wrote:

Hey @Wardog, I can no longer reply to your PMs. System says I've exceeded my hourly limit of 5 msgs. Stern Smile



hahahaha

Try seeing that from my side when I have 2-3 PM sessions going a night.
Back to Top
Milkman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2018
Location: Norcal
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Milkman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 8:30am
Hey @Wardog, I can no longer reply to your PMs. System says I've exceeded my hourly limit of 5 msgs. Stern Smile
Back to Top
Milkman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2018
Location: Norcal
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Milkman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 8:28am
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6447
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 8:17am
Meltdown and Spectre BIOS fix?
Back to Top
Milkman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2018
Location: Norcal
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Milkman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2018 at 8:15am
I've noticed the new (2.00) firmware is posted in the BIOS section for the x299 boards. 

Has anyone.... done any testing on this code? Is there any feedback from bench testing? I am feeling very low-confidence about all this, and I don't plan on installing mitigation firmware that potentially contains more issues, or more support for more DRM issues...
Back to Top
Milkman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2018
Location: Norcal
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Milkman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 1:01pm
Sorry - should have said that despite installing the above ME, my CPU/chipset are still vulnerable to the SA-00086 thing. 
Back to Top
Milkman View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2018
Location: Norcal
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Milkman Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Feb 2018 at 12:57pm
I used the update found in that link, and that actually got my Intel ME up to a more recent version. I was using the one found on the ASrock downloads page, and it wouldnt update me beyond the version that was dated 6/2017. Now my ME driver version is dated 1/2018, so that's good. 

However intel just got back to me and said they wont be supporting SGX on the x299 chipset, so none of this matters for me. RMA time. I wont be saddled with a board and CPU that can only do 50% of what I built them to do, and it isn't my fault that a burdensome, mostly broken type of DRM was added to the chipset AFTER IT LEFT THE PRODUCTION LINE. That is a "gotcha" situation that I will not be dealing with. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 13>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.