ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Overclock settings for 1950x and Gskill RAM

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kemijo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Overclock settings for 1950x and Gskill RAM
    Posted: 04 Dec 2017 at 12:23pm
Hey all, I have my first new build and I'm new to overclocking. I was wondering if someone could help me with a nice stable overclock mainly for VFX work...there's is so much data online to sift through and none seem to be easy to follow or specific to my build. Any help appreciated!

Parts list:

Asrock X399 Taichi
AMD Threadripper 1950x
G.Skill Tridentz 128GB 3200 CL14 (14-14-14-34)
MSI Duke 1080Ti
Corsair HX1000i
Enermax Liqtech TR4 360 as top exhaust
Crucial MX300 512 GB M.2
Samsung 960 Evo NVME 1TB M.2
Fractal Design Define S
Two Fractal Design Venturi High Pressure fans for intake, one stock case fan as exhaust

Current settings:

Asrock Bios 2.00
Windows 10 Pro
CPU settings in bios are default
Ryzen Master overclock settings - 3.9 all cores Ghz at 1.225 voltage. No change to RAM here.
XMP 2.0 is on in the bios but running at less than advertised speed. CPU-Z reports my ram as 2926.4 (1463.2 x 2) at 16-18-18-36.
CPU temp idles around 34.25C with Ryzen Master. It seems to fluctuate widely without it.
Stress test with Prime95 had a fairly consistent CPU temp of 55C, which sometimes peaked as high as 65C before coming back down. I don't think it was throttling but unsure.
Cinebench score is around 3148 after subsequent runs. It gets faster as the CPU temp rises.

Finally some questions:

I can't get the machine to post with 128 GB set to 3200 with XMP. Would it be possible to reach 3200 if I overclocked the CPU in the Bios? Is that how it works?