ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Media&User's Review > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Taichi X370 Pstates
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Taichi X370 Pstates

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 225
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Taichi X370 Pstates
    Posted: 10 Dec 2017 at 7:19pm
I have been running my Taichi X370/1700X @3.9GHz @ 1.35V with the memory set to Profile 1 with no issues - rock solid running Handbrake to create MP4 files from Blu-ray discs. Recently I upped the memory speed to 3433 and all was well until Handbrake found a situation to hang the system. I lowered the CPU speed to 3.875Ghz and all was well again.

Then I got greedy and tried to change the Psates to increase the CPU voltage to 1.3675V (1e). The system rebooted to 3.0GHz and a voltage of 1.275V!

I can clear the BIOS and restore the 3.90GHZ settings and all is well. AND the system will let me lower the CPU to 3.875GHz. Handbrake does not hang at this setting. But...as soon as I change the Pstate CPU Voltage the system goes back to the 3.0GHz and the 1.275V.

Any idea on what is causing the BIOS to do what it's doing. Up until I started using the Flare X 3200-14 DRAM the BIOS acted rationally or at least I thought it did since I'd been using the 3.9GHz @1.35V settings for many months. Do I need to give up on Pstates and go back to OC Tweaker to OC?
X470 Taichi, 3800X (BIOS Defaults), BIOS v3.60, Sandisk Extreme Pro 240GB, 2 crucial MX500 1TB, G.Skill 2X 2X8 3200-14, EVGA 1660Ti SC, EVGA 750 G3, W10 1903

Back to Top
Pape View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 33
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pape Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Dec 2017 at 6:36am
Not sure if the information is accurate or not but I read that currently upstate does not support voltage change and you should use offset instead.


Edited by Pape - 11 Dec 2017 at 6:37am
Back to Top
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 225
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2017 at 5:31pm
I think you're correct. I vaguely remember reading that in a thread somewhere but did not think it applied to me - that is until I tried to change my OC settings!
X470 Taichi, 3800X (BIOS Defaults), BIOS v3.60, Sandisk Extreme Pro 240GB, 2 crucial MX500 1TB, G.Skill 2X 2X8 3200-14, EVGA 1660Ti SC, EVGA 750 G3, W10 1903

Back to Top
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 225
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Dec 2017 at 7:45pm
My 1700X has met it's match. I have one BluRay that causes Handbrake to crash or at least stop working about half way through the MP4 conversion when I have the OC set to 3900 and the memory running a 3333 (fast settings). Adding Vcore voltage has no effect! Lowering the OC to 3875MHz fixes the problem.

As an aside, when using OC Tweaker to Overclock versus PStates I run into a problem where if I don't have the Pstate0 set to Custom, Pstate1 set to Auto, Pstate2 set to Custom and all the rest of the Pstates set to Disable the system will not down clock. Also, every time I play with the Offset Vcore Voltage I have to reset the Pstates. I guess this is an improvement since changing the Vcore using just the Pstates to OC does not work!

One other issue I stumbled into, OC Tweaker on Manual automatically sets the CPU Voltage at 1.35000. As soon as I change the 1.35000 to say 1.36000 the system boots up at 3000 MHz! As long as I leave the setting at 1.35000 and change the Vcore via the Offset AND make sure the Pstates are set to Custom, Auto, Custom, Disabled all is well. Is this normal behavior for the X370 Taichi/1700X?

Would using the old method of Fixed Voltage resolve this issue? Would the system down clock the Vcore when idle assuming the Pstates were set up as above?

Edited by Ken429 - 15 Dec 2017 at 7:51pm
X470 Taichi, 3800X (BIOS Defaults), BIOS v3.60, Sandisk Extreme Pro 240GB, 2 crucial MX500 1TB, G.Skill 2X 2X8 3200-14, EVGA 1660Ti SC, EVGA 750 G3, W10 1903

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.115 seconds.