ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Frequent HARD FREEZES  after 1-2 hours of usage
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Frequent HARD FREEZES after 1-2 hours of usage

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Masardo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Masardo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Frequent HARD FREEZES after 1-2 hours of usage
    Posted: 08 Jan 2018 at 1:30am
So I solved the problem, I have no freezes unless I run the computer for about 24 hours or so.

What I did was lower my DRAM voltage to 1.1v at 2133 MHz, and also increase the VDDP to 1.15. Both of these can be changed in 'OC tweaker' in the BIOS.

The DRAM voltage does seem low, but it has basically solved my problem as freezes are no longer a major issue. If 1.1v is unstable or you want a higher speed, you can probably try increasing the VDDP along with the DRAM voltage.

Since the problem was fixed by messing around with RAM voltages, the problem probably lies somewhere with the RAM and/or the PSU. 
Back to Top
php42 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 23
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote php42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2018 at 3:44am
well yes, chips perform worse (and thus need more voltage) when they're hot.
once the computer has been running for a while and heated up, the stock voltage may suddenly not be enough.
increasing the voltage a bit can help keep it stable even with the increased temperature.

of course i'm just speculating, it could also be the memory controller, you could try raising SoC to 1.1v.
but i had a similar problem with a RAM overclock becoming unstable with increased ambient temps.
Back to Top
Mr Bungle View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mr Bungle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2018 at 3:23am
I've taken out each stick of RAM and have had the computer freeze with just one stick plugged in. And why would the RAM work fine for two hours and then suddenly freeze the computer regardless of what programs I'm using? 

Doesn't the 1-2 hour countdown to freeze indicate it has to be some type of temperature related issue? The computer freezes much faster if I immediately reboot after a freeze. 
Back to Top
php42 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 23
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote php42 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Jan 2018 at 3:00am
Originally posted by Mr Bungle Mr Bungle wrote:

I?�ve seen some of you suggesting adjustments to voltage... how do I do that safely?

i wouldn't go over 1.35v vcore, 1.1v SoC, or 1.4v DRAM voltage.

it sounds like a ram issue IMO, i had similar issues while i was figuring out my overclock. ryzen sometimes has problems with ram even at stock settings.

if you're running stock, DRAM voltage should be 1.20v by default, try bumping it to 1.30v ~ 1.35v.
don't touch anything else, shouldn't need it if you're not overclocking.

it's possible you may need to adjust ram timings, i don't know if that kit has an XMP profile, but XMP settings usually are not well optimized for ryzen. i would expect it to be fine at stock though, so save that as a last resort.

it's also possible you just got bad ram. if you have any other ram laying around that you can swap it out for just to help narrow down the problem, that might be a good idea.
Back to Top
Mr Bungle View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mr Bungle Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jan 2018 at 8:56am
Plugged my own computer?s PSU into the freezing computer and it froze again.

Uggghhhh... temps look good... not sure what to do. CPU or MOBO issues???

I?ve seen some of you suggesting adjustments to voltage... how do I do that safely?
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Dec 2017 at 5:36am
Originally posted by dane76 dane76 wrote:

Instead of trying all kinds of trickery to get the board stable og go through a taxing RMA process I decided to take matters into my own clumpsy hands LOL A litttle shocked that I managed to break it so easy though Ermm
A new MSI B350M Gaming Pro has been ordered. Not a huge selection of M-ATX boards at my local dealer.


Attaboy! Clap

I usually use my 12ga shotgun for skeet shooting bad electronics/stuff I hate. LOL No kidding. Someone behind me throws it in the air and I shoot it. Feeling is priceless!

Hope you have more luck with the MSI as they are not particularly known for great products. Please do come back and do tell us how it went with the new mobo.


Edited by zlobster - 29 Dec 2017 at 5:37am
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
dane76 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dane76 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Dec 2017 at 11:57pm
Instead of trying all kinds of trickery to get the board stable og go through a taxing RMA process I decided to take matters into my own clumpsy hands LOL A litttle shocked that I managed to break it so easy though Ermm
A new MSI B350M Gaming Pro has been ordered. Not a huge selection of M-ATX boards at my local dealer.
Back to Top
zlobster View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 02 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 403
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote zlobster Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Dec 2017 at 10:45pm
OMG. That's bad, mkay!

TBH, these new PCIe retention mechanisms prove to be troublesome for many.

Now it's a chance to grab a Taichi! Thumbs Up
1700X ZP-B1 (stock); X370 Taichi (UEFI 3.10); 16GB F4-3200C14-8GFX XMP; 256GB 960 EVO; RX 580 NITRO+ 8GB
Back to Top
dane76 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dane76 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Dec 2017 at 10:02pm
Oh well. In the process of trying to remove my GPU to access the CMOS battery I tore of the PCI Express port. Damn you securing mechanism ! Thats a first for me Cry 

On to the online supplier to order a new motherboard.
Back to Top
dane76 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dane76 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Dec 2017 at 4:25pm
I also started swing hard freezes on my B350M Win10 build the last couple of weeks. What I have done so far:

Clocked down Ryzen 1200 to default
Update BIOS to 3.3 from 3.1
Update AMD chipset drivers and power plan
Set memory voldtage to 1.35
Set VDDP to 1.1

Next set of action is CMOS clear.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.