ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > OverClocking(OC) Zone > OC Technical Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Gskill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ Won't even  Post @ 3200
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Gskill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ Won't even Post @ 3200

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Edropian View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Location: Greece
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Edropian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Gskill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ Won't even Post @ 3200
    Posted: 28 Dec 2017 at 8:33pm
Hello Everybody!

Recently I decided to join the ASRock family for the first time in my life
And I bought the Fatality z370 Professional Gaming i7 to obviously host
my i7 8700k in it. 

So far so good ...! 

I must say that I like this MoBo and I went virtually through every single
video and article out there before that purchase and I came up with a number
of bottom lines like the fact that this MoBo is supposed to make your life easier
on pushing the limits on Both CPU Clockings and RAM OC.

Now to the meat and potatoes of my Issue!

On this mobo I have installed a Gskill F4-3200C14D-16GTZ kit.

which QVL Included but it won't post at 3200 as it should no matter what!

The XMP profile is recognized but when I set it I will get in return that
the bios failed to boot a number of times and I have my settings reset.

So What I did in my attempt to even get a Bios post with this kit @3200
is to go through every single option and combination I could with no luck.

1) Rasing DRAM Voltage up to 1.4V (Failed)
2) Loossening timings to the beyond (Failed)
3) Increase VCCIO and VCCSA up to 1.35 (Failed)  
4) Even Reach the Safe Maximums for Ring PLL System Agent PLL
Memory Controller PLL BOOT CPU PLL Eventual CPU PLL (Failed)

I also tested the behavior of this Kit with alternative Voltage states 
For my Vcore in a series of overclocked profiles but also in stock settings
and failed.

I also tested altering operating frequency of the KIT from 100 to 133 and go through all the previous steps again and again until I had every given combination examined and EVERY SINGLE ONE FAILED to even
deliver a a bios post!!!!!! 

This is insane! 

So I find myself in a position with my hands up scratching my head
thinking again and again about the 245 Euro  I paid for this kit without
knowing who to blame and what to expect or what to do next ...

Considering the fact that my CPU comes stable at 4800 on all cores at 1,248 Vcore
indicates that I am probably on the lucky spectrum cpu aside and that I have a good
piece on my hands (I can't go any further without delidding even if I use an AIO ... Thermals
are going of the roof and this is why I speculate for now).

That being said and taking into account that I have stretched the voltages
on every single aspect of the chip with no luck ... makes me feel that it is not a CPU
Issue that no matter what I do I won't post @3200 in any given combination
of voltages.

That leaves me with 2 things one of which is week bios setup or my KIT
is from LiDL an no Gskill...

The only stable states I was able to get this KIT to run up to was 2700 @1.2V with strict timings
and 3000 to post at 1.27V and I am currently searching for stability on this as this is the
bare maximum I can get this KIT to Post!!!!! 


Keep in mind that in my attempt to make this kit to post at 3200 the past 4
days I went through virtually every given combination of voltages etc and I am
currently 4 days later to my maximum point of frustration  not knowing what to do
next! 

I am pretty close to believe that this is a MoBo issue and not a KIT issue of some sort
but I would like to hear opinion from you guys ... and if Possible to get a response from
an ASRock Mod on that.

 The only thing that I have managed to achieve while I was stretching the
Voltages on step (3) and (4) was to get the bios to first give me the post screen
and immediately swap this to the Failed boot attempts screen which resets everything
and That indicated poor bios in a way .... and this is the only thing that keeps
my Hopes alive for now ....! 

Thanks for every reply that might come in advance and please try not to spam
the thread!   


Fatal1ty Z370 Professional Gaming i7 / i7 8700K / HX1000i / H100i / F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Back to Top
Edropian View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Dec 2017
Location: Greece
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Edropian Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Dec 2017 at 2:29am
UPDATE: 

Well ... as a technician ... I know pretty well that when something
does not go the way it should ... you should better make a step 
back relax and start verifying the fundamentals of what you do ... 

This time I chose to ignore that and I lost 4 days of my life trying
to do what is not meant to be done ... 


Problem is solved ... ... and what was bugging my set up was the 
stupidest thing of all! 

Coming from Gigabyte and Asus motherboards ... I was used until today 
to the pattern of using the sockets 1-3 or 1-3-6 (for DDR3) as the primary
channel ..... 

See? ... the enemy within is always at what you are used to do to the
point you might skip something so small but so important when you go
through a manual ........! 

At least now we know that if someone will want to go down the path 
I did .... and choose as his Primary channel 1-3 slots instead of 2-4 
(lets say for clearance reasons because of a huge CPU cooler
or anything similar) he or she is meant to come against a wall @3000
No matter what! 

Damn ... on one hand I want to laugh for everything being ok in the end
and on the other hand I want to punch my face and scream "WAKE UP!" 

... now lets see where we can take these Rams up to eventually :D 

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
================================================

PROBLEM SOLVED & STUPIDITY RESOLVED! 

have a nice day everyone! 
Fatal1ty Z370 Professional Gaming i7 / i7 8700K / HX1000i / H100i / F4-3200C14D-16GTZ
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.141 seconds.