ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

How do I know XMP is enabled?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thralni Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How do I know XMP is enabled?
    Posted: 09 Mar 2018 at 10:39pm
Hello all,

Just completed my first ever build. It boots, it installs Windows, and all seems fine overall. Now I wanted to do some OC'ing.

This is my first time ever doing this kind of thing, and besides some Youtube videos and reviews have no real idea about OC'ing, so decided to start with something simple: OC'ing the RAM. I've got two 8gb Corsair Vengeance LPX modules, rated to go up to 3200MHz. My motherbard is a Fatality K6 Z370.

For all I can see, the motherboard recognizes the right XMP profile to use, as it chooses a DDR4-3200 profile (it was set to Auto originally, but I selected Profile 1, which holds the DDR4-3200 profile). However, I'm confused as to whether it's actually applying it... In the list of RAM modules installed, for the A2 and B2 positions, it lists the 8GB modules, but as (DDR4-2133) rather than (DDR4-3200). So how do I know that the XMP profile is enabled and applied?

I realize this must be a terribly basic question, but the manual that came with the board doens't really give much instruction... Hoping somebody can give me a quick and easy answer :)

Thanks!
jclausius View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jclausius Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Mar 2018 at 12:53am
Originally posted by Thralni Thralni wrote:

However, I'm confused as to whether it's actually applying it... In the list of RAM modules installed, for the A2 and B2 positions, it lists the 8GB modules, but as (DDR4-2133) rather than (DDR4-3200). So how do I know that the XMP profile is enabled and applied?