ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock AB350 Pro4 - Update BIOS to 4.70
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock AB350 Pro4 - Update BIOS to 4.70

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
MinimalTech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Mar 2018
Location: Greece
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MinimalTech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASRock AB350 Pro4 - Update BIOS to 4.70
    Posted: 14 Mar 2018 at 7:56pm
Hi. I have the ASRock AB350 Pro4 motherboard paired with an AMD Ryzen 5 1600 CPU and G.Skill Flare X 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4-2400MHz RAM.

Before a month, when I firstly installed the motherboard to my PC case and turned it ON for the first time, the BIOS was at version 3.20. I updated it (via Instant Flash from inside the BIOS menu) to 3.40, as the notes said, because this is a "bridge BIOS". Then after successful update - restart - load defaults - restart again, I updated to the latest 4.60. All works good since this time with the 4.60.

Now, I want to update the BIOS to the latest, the 4.70. So, my question is:

Shall I update it straight to 4.70 via Instant Flash?

Or do I have to follow this procedure?:
1) downgrade BIOS from 4.60 to 3.40 (bridge BIOS)
2) then update the BIOS from 3.40 (bridge BIOS) to 4.70?

The notes are not so clear thus I can't understand the 100% correct procedure to update.
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 264
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2018 at 8:22pm
no need to go backwards, just straight to latest.
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50
R5 2600    Cryorig C7
EVGA GTX 950 75w
2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1803
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 Watt
Lian-li Q21B
Back to Top
MinimalTech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Mar 2018
Location: Greece
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MinimalTech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Mar 2018 at 8:38pm
Are you sure? Because ASRock says "* Before updating this BIOS, please update BIOS to P3.40 firstly.", even in the 4.70 version..!!

Have you done this before?!
Back to Top
MinimalTech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Mar 2018
Location: Greece
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MinimalTech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2018 at 2:40am
Any official reply from ASRock techs??

What should I do!

Please help!
Back to Top
stree View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Dec 2015
Location: Lincolnshire
Status: Offline
Points: 264
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote stree Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2018 at 2:44am
ASRock techs visits here are rare. This is a user forum.  If you need official reassurance then you must deal with ASRock directly.
Yes I have updated  both X370 itx and AB350 ITX  from vers 3.0 through to 4.50 within this last month.
Both of these MBs required that I installed the bridge BIOS before attempting to install later updates, once the bridge BIOS was installed I then had no further need to install it to install updated versions as I wished.
You only need to install the bridge version once.


Edited by stree - 15 Mar 2018 at 2:49am
ASRock X370-ITX BIOS 4.50
R5 2600    Cryorig C7
EVGA GTX 950 75w
2x8GB Ballistix Sport LT 2933
960Evo M.2 256GB, Firecuda 1TB
Win 10 Pro 64 1803
G-Unique Archdaemon 300 Watt
Lian-li Q21B
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 3642
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2018 at 4:35am
its very simple
if u have ANY 4.x already, then u can switch between ANY 4.x without bridge bios
bridge bios is needed only when u move from 3.x
same goes for older
going from 1.0 to lets says 3.50 is not possible
3.00 is needed (that is also bridge bios)

but feel free to use bridge bios, its just waste of time
that warning seems to be there to prevent bios brick


Edited by kerberos_20 - 15 Mar 2018 at 4:37am
Back to Top
MinimalTech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Mar 2018
Location: Greece
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MinimalTech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Mar 2018 at 9:50pm
Ok then, now I'm sure!!

Thank you very much both of you!  Wink
Back to Top
Cubito View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Cubito Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 2:20am
Originally posted by MinimalTech MinimalTech wrote:

Hi. I have the ASRock AB350 Pro4 motherboard paired with an AMD Ryzen 5 1600 CPU and G.Skill Flare X 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4-2400MHz RAM.

Before a month, when I firstly installed the motherboard to my PC case and turned it ON for the first time, the BIOS was at version 3.20. I updated it (via Instant Flash from inside the BIOS menu) to 3.40, as the notes said, because this is a "bridge BIOS". Then after successful update - restart - load defaults - restart again, I updated to the latest 4.60. All works good since this time with the 4.60.

Now, I want to update the BIOS to the latest, the 4.70. So, my question is:

Shall I update it straight to 4.70 via Instant Flash?

Or do I have to follow this procedure?:
1) downgrade BIOS from 4.60 to 3.40 (bridge BIOS)
2) then update the BIOS from 3.40 (bridge BIOS) to 4.70?

The notes are not so clear thus I can't understand the 100% correct procedure to update.



Originally posted by MinimalTech MinimalTech wrote:

Ok then, now I'm sure!!

Thank you very much both of you!? Wink


Hi there,

I am wondering if you finally updated your BIOS directly from 4.60 to 4.70 version without going to any Bridge BIOS version in between.

I am in a kind of loop here as I have a new 2400G APU and the 3.60 Brigde BIOS version for my mobo (Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac) do not support APUs. So we need to know for sure if going directly from 4.60 to 4.70 is a real option.

Any update in this kind of situations???

Note: The first BIOS update when the mobo was purchased was conduted by the vendor, I am not willing to take the entire system to the vendor anytime a new BIOS is released...


Back to Top
Reinvented View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 113
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Reinvented Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 2:30am
Originally posted by Cubito Cubito wrote:

Originally posted by MinimalTech MinimalTech wrote:

Hi. I have the ASRock AB350 Pro4 motherboard paired with an AMD Ryzen 5 1600 CPU and G.Skill Flare X 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4-2400MHz RAM.

Before a month, when I firstly installed the motherboard to my PC case and turned it ON for the first time, the BIOS was at version 3.20. I updated it (via Instant Flash from inside the BIOS menu) to 3.40, as the notes said, because this is a "bridge BIOS". Then after successful update - restart - load defaults - restart again, I updated to the latest 4.60. All works good since this time with the 4.60.

Now, I want to update the BIOS to the latest, the 4.70. So, my question is:

Shall I update it straight to 4.70 via Instant Flash?

Or do I have to follow this procedure?:
1) downgrade BIOS from 4.60 to 3.40 (bridge BIOS)
2) then update the BIOS from 3.40 (bridge BIOS) to 4.70?

The notes are not so clear thus I can't understand the 100% correct procedure to update.



Originally posted by MinimalTech MinimalTech wrote:

Ok then, now I'm sure!!

Thank you very much both of you!? Wink


Hi there,

I am wondering if you finally updated your BIOS directly from 4.60 to 4.70 version without going to any Bridge BIOS version in between.

I am in a kind of loop here as I have a new 2400G APU and the 3.60 Brigde BIOS version for my mobo (Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac) do not support APUs. So we need to know for sure if going directly from 4.60 to 4.70 is a real option.

Any update in this kind of situations???

Note: The first BIOS update when the mobo was purchased was conduted by the vendor, I am not willing to take the entire system to the vendor anytime a new BIOS is released...



Bridge BIOS are only for going from 3.xx to 4.xx.  If you are on a bridge BIOS or 4.xx, you can safely update to anything in the 4.xx range without needing to go back again. 
Back to Top
Booyacookies View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 21 Jul 2019
Location: Melbourne
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Booyacookies Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jul 2019 at 8:14pm
Hey There,
I have had a similar problem the only difference being that I cant update my BIOS from 3.40 to 4.70.
I need to update to 4.70 to install my new Ryzen 5 2600.

I just updated it from 2.50 to 3.40 but it seems to be stuck on 3.40

Any suggestions?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.