ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - M.2 SSD in RAID configuration?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

M.2 SSD in RAID configuration?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
ortuksur View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ortuksur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: M.2 SSD in RAID configuration?
    Posted: 27 Dec 2022 at 7:22pm
You can use the NVME as a boot drive and install the OS. Add the SSD in Raid 0 and it will have a drive letter which you can use for storage roblox numbers SurveyZop applebees
Back to Top
ortuksur View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Dec 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ortuksur Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Dec 2022 at 7:17pm
This is a little shocking but with native NVMe support in motherboards now a days I guess this makes sense. Seems overclocking and running RAID has become a thing of the past. Great vid Tech!!
Back to Top
Xileades View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 45
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xileades Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2022 at 12:13am
Nevermind, i switched the HD to the M2_3 and it worked
Back to Top
Xileades View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 45
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xileades Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2022 at 11:01pm
I mean, both disks are detected each under Advanced\Storage configuration as

M2_1: WD Blue SN570 250GB
M2_2: WD Blue SN570 250GB

Yet i only get M2_X RST Pcie Storage Remapping for the 2
Back to Top
Xileades View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2022
Status: Offline
Points: 45
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xileades Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2022 at 10:55pm
After enabling RAID mode on Z590 Pro 4, I can't set up the M2_1, M2_2 shows up just fine and other 2 SATA drives show up and could be built into a RAID 1 unit but the other pair not
Back to Top
jegmadar View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 23 Apr 2021
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jegmadar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Apr 2021 at 2:51am
Dear All,

ASROCK H470 PHANTOM GAMING 4 support M.2 RAID with 2 x M.2 Samsung 980 PRO NVMe - 2TB - MZ-V8P2T0BW ?

Thanks in advance
Back to Top
BigUnlucky View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Dec 2020
Location: 76180
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BigUnlucky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Dec 2020 at 11:35am
Hello there, great response btw. Very thorough and easy to follow. So easy in fact that if you wouldn't mind explaining to me (first day here on the forum) what exactly is the benefit to having RST Premium enabled? And what does it do?


My specs:
ASRock B460M Pro4s/ac
Intel i7 10700F
Gigabyte GTX 1660 Super
1TB HDD, 550gb HDD
Windows 10 (broke/free) home edition
2 - 8gb XCG DDR4 3000Mhz RAM
2 - 8gb Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO DDR4 3200Mhz RAM. (It was only after I bought them that I learned about how you should match the same bran, model # etc etc when using multiple sticks of RAM).

Aside from my question, ive been having issues recently with the once a day blue screen, sometimes the code being CRITICAL_PROCESS_DIED and other times it's been Kernal something. I've ran every diagnostic tool, ive ran all the windows troubleshooting, ive watch every YT video on this subject and followed every step. And while I have made progress from blue screening a couple times every couple hours, down to once or twice a day now. I read one of failure logs today from a couple days ago,it said that my Intel Chipset driver failed to install? But since then, every day that's gone buy PC hasn't tried installing it since, so maybe that one has fixed itself? I'm just trying to give as much info as I can right now, but believe me I could go on and on for a while trying to explain the issues ive been facing. Also considering buying a new Mobo because intel makes no sense limiting the memory frequency that my mobo is capable of achieving sitting at a solid 2933mhz.. Lol like why would you want this when you could have one that allows overclocking and for half the price if you get a AMD or Ryzen? As far as that is concerned, any suggestions? Keep in mind these couple of important needs: Ability for OC'ing, SLI option as down the line ide like to get another 1660 super and run them together and see how that works out. Haven't seen that setup yet and I'm curious to know what kind of performance I could bet from that. The only other thing ide want from my new mobo would be 4 RAM slots and a couple PCIE slots for a NVME.

Thank you to whoever takes their time to read this, and thank you very very much to the wonderful person that can actually answer my many loaded questions. As I appreciate your patience for listening to the new guy. Have a wonderful day, and Merry Christmas!
"Bears, Beets, Battlestar Galactica".

-Dwight K. Schrute
Back to Top
MikeF74 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Nov 2020
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MikeF74 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2020 at 6:34am
I own a both Z490M-ITX/ac and a B460M Pro4. I was able to set up the former with NVMe-based Intel RST RAID, but on the latter I cannot. On the ASRock website and within their respective manuals I see no mention of a difference in level of Intel RST support. I have very expensive NVMe drives I wanted to put into this B460M Pro4 based on my positive experience with the Z490M-ITX/ac. This is beyond frustrating. Could you please expose the remapping feature for M2_2 based on a lack of clarity in your marketing material. Exposing M2_3 would also be nice (I repurposed the WiFi slot for a 3rd NVMe).
Back to Top
ASRock_TSD View Drop Down
ASRock_Official
ASRock_Official


Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 8037
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock_TSD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Aug 2020 at 2:19pm
Dear Arne,

Thanks for posting!

H370M Pro4 supports RAID with SATA ports only.
Building RAID with M.2 is not supported.

With thanks,
ASRock TSD

Edited by ASRock_TSD - 26 Aug 2020 at 2:20pm
Back to Top
Arne View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 20 Aug 2020
Location: Ohio
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Arne Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Aug 2020 at 9:10am
I have an h370m pro4 with two Samsung 970 plus nvmes that I would like to make a bootable raid 1 pair. I follow the above instructions but cannot find a place to set M2_2 RST PCIe storage remapping (M2_1 RST PCIe remapping shows up under storage settings). How do I make a bootable NVMe raid pair on this motherboard?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.061 seconds.