ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Taichi x399 and the LSI 9201-16i Problems
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Taichi x399 and the LSI 9201-16i Problems

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Taichi x399 and the LSI 9201-16i Problems
    Posted: 23 Aug 2018 at 3:44am
Originally posted by Jerky_san Jerky_san wrote:

Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

Well, not much left for me to add. It appears you've tried all possible options.

One last thing from me - try https://asrock.com/support/index.asp?cat=RMA

Some guys say they have better responses/support from ASRock when they are reached via the aforementioned procedure. After all, if the LSI board is working, then it's ASRock RMA time. Who knows, maybe they will listen.


I just wish I could get something out of their tech support. If they are open only "business days" then this would be the third day in a row with literally no response. It's a $300+ board so you would think it would get attention as there are probably many like me.


Nah, mate. It's ASRock. They just rinse and repeat. My x370 Taichi cost me nearly $400 back in the day (cheapest option around here) but what I bought for this price is beta test subscription instead. I learned my lesson the hard way. Cry

There is a reason why ASUS boards still hold near-launch prices, while ASRock ones tanked as rocks (pun intended). This speaks for itself.

Basically, this forum is an anonymous asrock haters group. Select few were helped with some trivial issues, rest only have each other.

Best of luck and ...swap it already.
Back to Top
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2018 at 3:29am
Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

Well, not much left for me to add. It appears you've tried all possible options.

One last thing from me - try https://asrock.com/support/index.asp?cat=RMA

Some guys say they have better responses/support from ASRock when they are reached via the aforementioned procedure. After all, if the LSI board is working, then it's ASRock RMA time. Who knows, maybe they will listen.


I just wish I could get something out of their tech support. If they are open only "business days" then this would be the third day in a row with literally no response. It's a $300+ board so you would think it would get attention as there are probably many like me.
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2018 at 3:16am
Well, not much left for me to add. It appears you've tried all possible options.

One last thing from me - try https://asrock.com/support/index.asp?cat=RMA

Some guys say they have better responses/support from ASRock when they are reached via the aforementioned procedure. After all, if the LSI board is working, then it's ASRock RMA time. Who knows, maybe they will listen.
Back to Top
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2018 at 3:00am
Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

Hmm, odd. So, to summarize my understandings on the issue - one should flash the latest LSi FW, then flash the LSi BootROM, then tune the mobo options for UEFI-only (no CSM) and finally, the boot options.

I gather you've done this already, as I didn't quite get some of the stuff you said.


Well depends on what you want. I started with the FW/BootRom but some suggest simply leaving the BootRom off as it is only required if you wish to actually boot from a drive that resides on the card. I originally was trying to make it work like it has in every system I've ever owned with FW/Bootrom so after having it lock on me a few times I turned Bootrom to UEFI and it skipped it and booted the OS. I assumed it was just a minor hiccup with a UEFI bios and an older standard bootrom. But then the OS had issues as well so flashed just the FW and tried that way since some people have said on other boards for intel and xeons that fixed "oddness" and perhaps was "just a bad flash" though this card has been working just fine all these years. That still did not fix it in the OS. Just bypasses the card being accessed in the beginning and thus masked it.
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2018 at 2:37am
Hmm, odd. So, to summarize my understandings on the issue - one should flash the latest LSi FW, then flash the LSi BootROM, then tune the mobo options for UEFI-only (no CSM) and finally, the boot options.

I gather you've done this already, as I didn't quite get some of the stuff you said.
Back to Top
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2018 at 2:27am
Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

I believe you've see this already: https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/boot-issue-with-lsi-9201-16i.21255/

You maybe have participated in this discussion, even. There is very valuable info! Give it a try if you haven't.




Yeah that's one of the links in my first post. I'm fairly certain that one is one of the two from the reddit posts but I am unsure.
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2018 at 2:09am
I believe you've see this already: https://forums.servethehome.com/index.php?threads/boot-issue-with-lsi-9201-16i.21255/

You maybe have participated in this discussion, even. There is very valuable info! Give it a try if you haven't.


Back to Top
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2018 at 2:03am
Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

Originally posted by Jerky_san Jerky_san wrote:

Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

Hmm, could it be CSM?

Can you try booting up with and without CSM?I don't know the X399 UEFI layout, though. You'll have to navigate to it yourself.


When I flashed just the firmware it bypasses all the bios optrom crap but it's basically masking the problem. Basically if you bypass the card from accessing the disks at boot and let it get to the OS. Once the OS accesses the disk and attempts to read/write anything the card goes offline.


Well, if that is the case, I'm afraid you'll need a radical solution, i.e. miracle (or mobo swap). Ouch


That or "hopefully" they respond to my tech support request with a tweak on the bios. It has to be something kind of simple since other x399 boards do it properly and so does my two xeons, old i5, and ryzen 7 board. I'm guessing its something simple. Maybe even a simple bios setting but the problem is I've tried the ones that I know what they do. There are others that I don't but they don't have any actual documentation either for them. It literally just repeats what it says on the screen in the manual which isn't helpful at all.
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2018 at 1:55am
Originally posted by Jerky_san Jerky_san wrote:

Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

Hmm, could it be CSM?

Can you try booting up with and without CSM?I don't know the X399 UEFI layout, though. You'll have to navigate to it yourself.


When I flashed just the firmware it bypasses all the bios optrom crap but it's basically masking the problem. Basically if you bypass the card from accessing the disks at boot and let it get to the OS. Once the OS accesses the disk and attempts to read/write anything the card goes offline.


Well, if that is the case, I'm afraid you'll need a radical solution, i.e. miracle (or mobo swap). Ouch
Back to Top
Jerky_san View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Jerky_san Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Aug 2018 at 11:01pm
Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

Hmm, could it be CSM?

Can you try booting up with and without CSM?I don't know the X399 UEFI layout, though. You'll have to navigate to it yourself.


When I flashed just the firmware it bypasses all the bios optrom crap but it's basically masking the problem. Basically if you bypass the card from accessing the disks at boot and let it get to the OS. Once the OS accesses the disk and attempts to read/write anything the card goes offline.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.125 seconds.