ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Suddenly not booting with all cores enabled

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
wildfireheart View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wildfireheart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Suddenly not booting with all cores enabled
    Posted: 10 Jan 2017 at 4:34pm
As to my skills, I have masters degree in electrotechnics and my job is to program (and sometimes help design) embedded systems, but I'm mainly programmer and this is my first build in years, so I do not know how exactly some things on motherboard / in CPU work or what the "normal" state of components / values should be.

On the main page it says 3500 MHz. 
CPU Config page:
  • Target CPU / Cache / BCLK speed    3500 MHz / 3900 MHz / 100 MHz
  • Memory speed   2133 MHz
  • FCLK 800 MHz
  • everything else Auto, everything is default nonetheless
  • CPU Microcode revision: 506E3 74
As to the cooler, I think I'm not over tightening it - it doesn't have normal screws, only some plastic holders and I'm trying to fixate it there as gently as I can.

Edited by wildfireheart - 12 Jan 2017 at 5:42pm

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wildfireheart Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jan 2017 at 4:19pm
Here is a gallery of photos of CPU and temperatures of some components of VRM in Celsius (if I'm not measuring the right thing, please let me know):

CPU substrate is not bent (after I read some post, I was afraid it could be, but luckily it's not), nor there are any visible burnt or bent pins, or at least I don't see any yet. When I reinstalled everything, it's still the same, it only boots with max 3 cores enabled in BIOS.

Edited by wildfireheart - 10 Jan 2017 at 4:20pm
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group