ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

Ryzen build won't post, possibly bad mobo

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote _Llama Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Ryzen build won't post, possibly bad mobo
    Posted: 27 May 2017 at 7:01am
So I was trying to get a build to post and came to the conclusion that my motherboard is defective. Before I RMA, I want to be absolutely sure that's the case. I'll try to explain in detail what happened. Keep in mind that this is my first build but I did do as much research as I could to ensure compatibility and learn the steps to actually put the system together. Part list:
https://pcpartpicker.com/user/_Llama_/saved/fDyP6h

First, I took out the psu, connected it to the wall, and tested it using the provided self-tester. I flipped the switch from O to I and the fan spun, which means it works, at least according to the manual. I then sorted out the cables I needed: 1 x 24pin mobo connector, 1 x cpu power connector (4+4), 2 x sata power cables, 2 x 6+2 pin vga connectors (gpu has both 6 pin and 8 pin ports). I decided to build out on the mobo box like most people recommended. I was doing a barebones test before plugging in fans and storage.