ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

B350 HDV won't spin up [SOLVED]

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Scara3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: B350 HDV won't spin up [SOLVED]
    Posted: 09 Sep 2017 at 10:22pm
Hello there,

I am very new to computer assembly and recently acquired parts for my first one.

I got the following equipment:
- ASRock B350 HDV motherboard
- AMD Ryzen 1600 CPU (with its own cooler from the box)
- DDR4 2133 MHz 8GB J&A RAM (2 pieces)
- ZOTAC GTX1060 6GB GPU
- WD Blue 1TB hard drive
- EVGA 500W power supply
- AeroCool LS-5200 chassis

Case is: whenever I turn on the power supply, the LED on the power button blinks blue and stays like that forever. No boot, no fan spin up, only the flashing LED I get.

I have installed the motherboard, plugged in all above components, plus wired the cables hanging out from the chassis front panel.
Wiring should be correct: fans connected to the CHS_FAN slots, USB's to USB slots, HDD connects through SATA, GPU gets the 6 pin cable, CPU gets the 4 pin cable, large ATX20+4 plugged in.

I have sent back the motherboard to the vendor, they concluded it has no problems. The PSU spins up when its green and earth wires are shorted.

What could be the problem? Any help is appreciated. :)
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 2:15am
Please check that you have connected the 4-Pin CPU Power located in the upper left of this motherboard.

This is #1 or #2 reason for what you describe, and is commonly overlooked. Even by me every now and then

My other thought is........ J&A Ram?
Scara3 View Drop Down