ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 2950x + Asrock x399 Fatal1ty Gaming - no boot :(
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

2950x + Asrock x399 Fatal1ty Gaming - no boot :(

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 2950x + Asrock x399 Fatal1ty Gaming - no boot :(
    Posted: 02 Feb 2019 at 6:42am
Well, a rare occasion where the bad part was not from ASRock! Color me surprised.

Anyhow, thanks for posting back the update!

Enjoy your new build!
Back to Top
Andy_Geo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andy_Geo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Feb 2019 at 3:18am
After all that effort, I have finally solved it. It was the video card. A MSI 2080 X Trio 8gb, which I have received dead from the factory. It has been resent to service, and they managed to fix it, somehow. I'd preferred they changed it for a new one. But still, I am happy to be having a fully functioning computer. Thanks for all your help!
Back to Top
Andy_Geo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andy_Geo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Dec 2018 at 12:02am
Thanks for the ideas, maybe I'll try that, but first, I think I'll check each component, individually, just to be sure of a potential certain RMA.
Thanks
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22928
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2018 at 11:11pm
Originally posted by xhue xhue wrote:

Now I dwell these hallows trying to guide other poor souls. Sorry for the offtopic.


Much appreciated xhue, we have a great community here
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2018 at 11:05pm
Yes, ASRock's beta BIOS are often better (new features, BUG FIXES, more stable, etc.) than their 'stable' ones. Makes sense, right?

Remember - always clear CMOS, reboot and then flash the new BIOS. Then reboot and clear CMOS again.

I've had my fair share of 1st hand experience before I dumped my X370 Taichi. It was a monster of a board but I had it with their BIOS releases. Almost 2 years with 0 progress where it matters. Now I dwell these hallows trying to guide other poor souls. Sorry for the offtopic.
Back to Top
Andy_Geo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andy_Geo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2018 at 10:04pm
Hm, it's what I'm thinking, as well. It's probably the motherboard.
I've flashed the BIOS, to the latest stable BIOS release. There is a slightly newer BIOS update, but it is only BETA (for extreme performance bla bla). Not really sure if I should try putting on a BETA BIOS.
Do you have any experience with any BETA BIOS?
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2018 at 8:53pm
Sad, indeed. After so much poking around and swap of so many components, I think it is the mobo after all.

Before you ship the mobo back for RMA, can you try BIOS recovery flash with the latest version, being it even a beta? Check both JZ's site and ASRock's for the most recent version, then check your manual for the exact steps.
Back to Top
Andy_Geo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andy_Geo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2018 at 7:46pm
Thanks for the reply.
1. I already tried it with only 1 stick of ram. Did not change anything. But when I did manage to enter the UEFI, for a short period of time, I could see all my 4 ram sticks detected properly, so I don't think the RAM is the problem, right?
2. I tried 2 GPUs (out of which the older, I know FOR SURE is working, because it's the one I'm using on the older setup, while writing this very second), in 3 out of the 4 PCI Express Slots (the 4th one is too low, and thick GPUs don't fit there, because of the power supply shroud)
3. I checked the pins, they look alright. I reseated the CPU 5-6 times already, and got no change.
4. Unfortunately, I have no other PSU (this powerful, anyway), at the moment, but the computer fans are spinning and the RGB lights are turning on, so some power is definitely being delivered to the setup..
Any other ideas?
I'm thinking that, considering that I did see the CPU for a short while (until I changed boot settings in UEFI), the CPU does function. Also, I saw all 4 sticks of RAM, and managed to enable XMP2.0, to get the RAM to 3200Mhz, and they ran at that speed, so I guess the RAM is also good?. So, I'm trying to isolate the problem, and right now, I am thinking that the motherboard may be problem?
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2018 at 9:29am
Don't be disappointed with you! TR and X399 platform is not a novice friendly. I've seen experienced guys cry over similar issues.

1. Leave only 1 stick of RAM. Double-check if it is seated right. DDR4 are tricky! Try booting with just 1 stick - if nothing changes, change the stick and/or RAM slot.

2. 2 GPUs dead in a row? Tough chance. Try another PCIe slot.

3. Always worth it to re-check the CPU seating and the socket pins.

4. Try another PSU or cabling if possible.

Best of luck!
Back to Top
Andy_Geo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andy_Geo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2018 at 5:09am
Here is an extract from the Asrock motherboard manual:

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.172 seconds.