ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - UEFI Screen Corruption z170 Gaming k4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

UEFI Screen Corruption z170 Gaming k4

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
mshull View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mshull Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: UEFI Screen Corruption z170 Gaming k4
    Posted: 24 Oct 2015 at 1:40pm
I'm having a problem with a brand new z170 Gaming k4 with a 6700k installed. I'm unable to use UEFI because the screen is just garbage. Interestingly I'm able to boot into windows fine. Anyone have any ideas? Or is it RMA time?

Allen


Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22688
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2015 at 1:54pm
Welcome to the forums Smile

You can try clearing CMOS, I generally recommend this method to be sure it is cleared completely. If that does not resolve the issue you can check for a BIOS update for your board and see if that fixes it. Also, if you are using a discrete GPU you may want to try booting with the onboard graphics and seeing if the UEFI still looks corrupted. What GPU are you using with the system?

If these don't help then you may want to look into an RMA.


Edited by Xaltar - 24 Oct 2015 at 1:55pm
Back to Top
mshull View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mshull Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2015 at 1:58pm
Thanks for the quick reply! Unfortunately I've already tried your method of resetting the bios and had no luck. I also upgraded from 1.40 to 1.90 (the latest) and it seems to have actually made it worse! Under 1.40 I was at least able to see enough of the screen to change some settings, all I get is garbage now.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 22688
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2015 at 2:01pm
And your GPU? Are you using onboard or a discrete GPU? The reason I ask is that the GPU plays a role in the UEFI and can be responsible for corruption as you describe. All the intel iGPUs should not have this issue however so if you are using the iGPU then maybe you should RMA the board.
Back to Top
mshull View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mshull Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Oct 2015 at 2:04pm
Yup, I have a Radeon 280x but I haven't installed it yet. I've been using the on board until I could get the board working. I was afraid of that answer, thanks anyway!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.156 seconds.