ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Taichi - trouble with RAM settings
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Taichi - trouble with RAM settings

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message
Onox View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Onox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 2:05am
Hi, I tried again and with the "safe" settings recommended by Ryzen Calculator for 2666 MHz, it does not work, even with Command Rate = 2T. It entered a boot loop... by the way, what should you do in this case? I pressed the power button on the front of the case, which turned the computer off, and then I??pressed it again, another loop, I pressed the power button again, but this time it didn't seem to turn the computer off. However, a short while after that, it reverted to the default settings and completed POST. This scared me a little. What is the right thing to do here?

I then tried enabling the XMP profile, changing the frequency to 2666 MHz (instead of 3200), and then I set the SOC and DRAM voltages again, without touching the timings, and so far it works, but I??haven't tested any intensive program yet.

I have three questions :

1. Recommended thing to do in case of a boot loop?
2. I notice that the BIOS always seems to add a slight amount of voltage to the values I set there. Like, with a DRAM voltage of 1.330 in the BIOS, I see 1.344-1.352 in HW Monitor on Windows. I set it to 1.300, and now I see 1.312-1.320 in HW Monitor. Why?
3. With BIOS v5.10, my CPU seems to have a higher boost clock. But besides turning on the XMP profile, changing the RAM frequency, SOC voltage (1.01875) and DRAM voltage, I left everything else on Auto. A few cores even went up to 4016 MHz briefly. Is this not worrisome?
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 2:38am
1.) Boot loop: Too much dependencies! Use correct settings or what do you expect to read?
As i posted, the calculater save settings may be not save enough.
Generate save settings and use them with a lower clock in the bios.
What you did with the profile for 3200 and freq change to 2666 has this effect too (good idea).

2.) Use different tools like HWInfo, Aida, CPU-Z and compare. A little difference between Bios and tools under Windows are often seen.

3.) That is a normal behavior since a lot of processes/threads are running in the system. And the boost clock system of the CPU is very fast.


Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
Onox View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Onox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 3:49am
Originally posted by Ray62 Ray62 wrote:

1.) Boot loop: Too much dependencies! Use correct settings or what do you expect to read?
As i posted, the calculater save settings may be not save enough.
Generate save settings and use them with a lower clock in the bios.
What you did with the profile for 3200 and freq change to 2666 has this effect too (good idea).
...


Thank you! Yes, I understand what you say and I remember you said that the Calculator settings may not be safe enough My first question here was not asking which settings to use, but what should I do in case a PC enters a boot loop like this? Was it a good idea to press the power button? And when do you do a clear CMOS? I have never done this before at all
Back to Top
Onox View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Onox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 5:24pm
Originally posted by Ray62 Ray62 wrote:

1.) Boot loop: Too much dependencies! Use correct settings or what do you expect to read?
As i posted, the calculater save settings may be not save enough.
Generate save settings and use them with a lower clock in the bios.
What you did with the profile for 3200 and freq change to 2666 has this effect too (good idea).


Actually, I probably badly explained my question! Sorry about that.

Here's what I meant : I know that the pc will reboot because of the memory training if the settings are too tight, but what I experienced yesterday seemed a little different : when I wrote that it was at first stuck in the loop, it actually did not reboot. The fans were just spinning at full speed, the screen was black, and the system just stayed in that state until I pressed the power button. This is what I really wanted to ask about. Is this a normal/expected thing, and what should I do if that happens again? (I'm going to leave the settings as they are now, but for future reference? )

Thank you again!
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 6:26pm
Since bios 5.1 my board also most time gets stuck on startup with debug code 40. I press the reset button and then the board starts. Power button also works.
This is a cold boot issue and i totally forgot that.
I have the board and power supply on the desk without housing and use the buttons on the Mainbard. Switching supply on, after 3-5 seconds reset and 10 seconds later the OS login is there...

So my AM4 platform is still a test setup.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
Onox View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Onox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2019 at 6:32pm
Originally posted by Ray62 Ray62 wrote:

Since bios 5.1 my board also most time gets stuck on startup with debug code 40. I press the reset button and then the board starts. Power button also works.
This is a cold boot issue and i totally forgot that.
I have the board and power supply on the desk without housing and use the buttons on the Mainbard. Switching supply on, after 3-5 seconds reset and 10 seconds later the OS login is there...

So my AM4 platform is still a test setup.


Oh, problem related to memory. Not good :( I hope that you can solve it. My mainboard is in the case (which doesn't have a window), and I didn't think of looking at the debug code when I was stuck. This morning, my cold boot went fine
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2019 at 3:01am
I solved the problem with the startup.
It was the activated "Fast Start" option on windows 10 shutdown!
I set it to deactive and the problem is gone.

I think, a windows update happend shortly before or after the bios update, changed the setting or the implementation of this stuff.
I cannot remember that i touched this windows option before.

So my memory settings still are stable.
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
Onox View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Onox Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jun 2019 at 10:13pm
Originally posted by Ray62 Ray62 wrote:

I solved the problem with the startup.
It was the activated "Fast Start" option on windows 10 shutdown!
I set it to deactive and the problem is gone.

I think, a windows update happend shortly before or after the bios update, changed the setting or the implementation of this stuff.
I cannot remember that i touched this windows option before.

So my memory settings still are stable.


Hi I am glad to hear that you have solved it ! Hm, I don't know whether I have "Fast Start" enabled... I'll have to check when I'm back on Windows

Given that we have almost exactly the same RAM (you are missing a D in your signature, don't you ? F4-3200C14D. I think the only difference is that I got those sticks in a kit, and the blacK White (KW) version), your settings would probably work for me too, but I'm not sure that I want to try them. What voltage are you using for the DRAM ? This is not shown on the images you posted on the previous page

Currently, I am using the XMP timings, DDR4-2666 for the frequency, and I lowered the DRAM voltage to 1.300 (although on Windows, HW Monitor shows 1.312-1.320). I have not tried to lower this voltage further. And I have 1.01875 V for the SOC voltage.

I was thinking that the tRFC value given by Ryzen Calculator for 2666 may be too low ? That could be why they did not work for me
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2019 at 3:09am
[URL=http://www.kernel42.de/rtc/G.Skill_F4-3200C14-16GTZ.html]My G-Skill 2xF4-3200C14-16GTZ data read with THAIPHOON BURNER:[/URL]

I use 1.37V for DRAM and 1.05V for the SOC.

And i suggest reading
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/AMD/Ryzen_Memory_Tweaking_Overclocking_Guide

Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
Ray62 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Jul 2018
Location: Germany, Berlin
Status: Offline
Points: 706
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ray62 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Jun 2019 at 3:10am
I just played with this "insert a link" option...
Here again a simple text:
http://www.kernel42.de/rtc/G.Skill_F4-3200C14-16GTZ.html
Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Professional Gaming Offline
Under test:
MSI X570_MEG_ACE | AMD Ryzen 9 3900X | Scythe Mugen5 | 2x16GB F4-3200C14D-32GTZ@3466 | ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.158 seconds.