ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Pro Gaming TestBetaBIOS 5.24 missing options
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search Search  Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Pro Gaming TestBetaBIOS 5.24 missing options

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
Tupeie View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Sep 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tupeie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Pro Gaming TestBetaBIOS 5.24 missing options
    Posted: 13 Sep 2019 at 9:34am
Most likely microsoft holding amd/asrock by the nut's to make everyone one hop on malware10
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 2:43am
OK, I know the following won't make you all happy but I feel like saying it anyway.

Most users will find it hard to believe, but it was the same story when Zen launched. It was exactly the same story when Zen+ launched, along with the 400-series chipsets. Guess what is different now?

Most of you don't know me on this forum, but let me tell you this - I've been there myself. I've raged more than the most of you combined. I learned 1 thing - patience.

You won't get flawwless BIOS, mobos, chipsets and CPU from day 1. The technical challenges for the engineers are enormous and the marketing push for early launch isn't helping either.

Bottm line is patience. You will get there sooner or later.
Back to Top
PinetreeRoad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PinetreeRoad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 12:47am
I finally got some free time to play with my BIOS this week. I am experiencing lots of issues with the latest 5.30 BIOS. I understand if AMD is removing options, but ASRock needs to take the initiative and better optimize BIOSes for their boards.

RAM overclocking has been gimped. BGS Alt was added but everything else relating to RAM OCing is now removed. Core/Thread enable has been gimped. Ie: 3+3, 4+0 core options don't exist. The list goes on. This BIOS update is a HUGE downgrade in general. It should have never been released as "stable" in this state. If AMD removed stuff, talk to them about adding it back. This is unacceptable. The release BIOS for this board had more functionality on day 1 of Ryzen 1st gen, than it does on release of Ryzen 3rd gen. I am updating my BIOS for security reasons, and I shouldn't be punished for keeping my system up-to date. It's 2019, updating firmware/software shouldn't be a big deal anymore.

There is a list of features that are listed on my boards Specs that are no longer available in BIOS. Basic features like "Hyper BCLK Engine II" are missing.

I updated to the 5.30 BIOS on Tuesday, and immediately after applying the BIOS update Windows could not boot due to "NTLDR is missing". I was eventually able to get Windows to boot, but SFC was still finding files it was unable to repair. After hours of troubleshooting I realized that I could not repair Windows and was forced to completely reinstall Windows yesterday. If this long post didn't make it clear, I'm still pretty mad about it.

This is supposed to be a high end board. With the release of the latest BIOS it might as well be a B350 board now. I don't know who you need to talk to about this, but somebody need to get on it. This is the last straw for me, this board has been nothing but a pain in my ass since I got it. While reinstalling Windows I came to the conclusion that I will never buy another ASRock product because this "high end" board still feels half baked. Isn't this board supposed to be one of your best products? If this is one of ASRock's best I can't imagine your worst. It's been years and this board is still filled with BIOS bugs. Like if you don't apply XMP then reboot before changing CPU multipliers the board will fail to boot. That is just one bug that has existed since day 1. Clear CMOS doesn't actually clear the CMOS anymore, it partially clears it. WTF is going on with this board?
Back to Top
sdtyler78 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Apr 2017
Location: Tx
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sdtyler78 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Jul 2019 at 6:57am
to bad none of the newer bioses since 2.30 support windows 7 , kinda funny all of a sudden from 2.40 windows 7 crashes alot of pci.sys error
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 976
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jul 2019 at 5:22pm
After checking, the reason is that AMD remove this option with Agesa code 1.0.0.1
ASRock does not remove it.
So, we cannot add it back due to this option does not exist in primitive AMD Agesa 1.0.0.1 code.
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 976
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2019 at 5:20pm
Let's see what's going on at AGESA 1001 with the "BIOS PSP Support".

Answer soon.
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
xhue View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 17 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 634
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xhue Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2019 at 3:10pm
PSP is a big issue. Their security through obscurity proved to be a disaster times and again.

I too would like to have a PSP toggle switch, but let me tell you why I will keep it ON.

Unless you are using an air-gapped machine with strict physical access, you need some sort of TPM. And here is the problem - you can either use an external TPM chip (which the mobo doesn't have a header for), or use AMD's fTPM (which is part of PSP).

Recently leaked NSA tools are already being used by people around the world to reverse-engineer the PSP and other low-level systems. Hopefully we will get a hardened, backdoor-free platforms soon enough.
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 976
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2019 at 3:02pm
It has little to do with ASRock, but the AGESA code comes from AMD and many features are indeed CPU Type switched.

We have BCLK in the standard "OC Tweaker"
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
PinetreeRoad View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 32
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote PinetreeRoad Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Jun 2019 at 8:43am
I was not expecting features to be removed.

BIOS PSP toggle is missing, which i think an important option to be exposed because of undiscovered hardware exploits. I have kept PSP disabled since Spectre/Meltdown. PSP can't be exploited if it's turned off, is the theory.

External BCLK generator is not available, this is a feature of the board listed on the product page. I would like to use it if it ever gets fixed properly.

There are also CBS options that are relevant to RAM overclocking that are no longer exposed in BIOS.
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 976
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2019 at 8:07pm
Many old features are no longer needed in AGESA 1001
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.207 seconds.